We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, avoid the spa!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Save Saved
You added The Kahala Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Paris, France
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great stay, avoid the spa!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I had a great stay in the Kahala hotel, you are welcome with a necklace when you join and a free drinks, I was in the inside Lagoon with access to the Dolphin, the room were nice but pretty basic, sleep quality was good though.
Breakfast buffet was amazing, plenty of fruits with view on the beach, I really felt I was in heaven.
The spa is very poor, and the massage were for me very bad, my back felt worse after than before.
The hotel is away from the main beach but has it's own small beach.

Room Tip: A room with a view on the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are pleased to hear that you found everything from views to service to be exceptional. However, we are very sorry to hear that you left our spa feeling disappointed. Often times when people get massages, especially deep tissue massages, it is normal to feel some tenderness afterwards. We greatly appreciate you expressing your concerns, and we are truly sorry that you left disappointed. Mahalo again for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We do hope to welcome you back again! With Kindest Regards, The Kahala Hotel & Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,482 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,010
    279
    100
    51
    42
See reviews for
478
682
38
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Spent 4 nights at the Kahala and then 4 nights at the Halekalani, arguably the 2 best hotels in Oahu, this past June. It was an amazing time spent away. The Kahala was truly a fantastic hotel, from the reservation people in the back offices I spoke to when phone booking, to the bell hops who greeted us on arrival out the front, the pool waiters, the barstaff, the breakfast staff, the conceirge, to all the people who looked after us so brilliantly, the Kahala team could not have been more helpful or friendlier. And, I've got to say, to me, this is what a really great hotel experience is all about- people. The people working at the Kahala seemed genuinely happy to be working there, and it showed. To each and every one of them, thank you.
Loved the island style decor of the room at the Kahala, mountain view king bed number on a lower floor with a picturesque view of palms trees and greenery, and its size and layout. One small point, although I really liked the size/ layout of the bathroom and closet area, it was out-dated looking, a bit tired. Bed was super comfortable, and the room lovely to arrive back to with the turn down service done.
The whole experience of staying at the Kahala was a fantasticly memorable time and I can't wait to go back.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

First rate room with great amenities.
Comfortable bed and everything totally spotless.
Great atmosphere with music left playing in the background.
Fantastic options for breakfast (American and Japanese)
Outstanding view both in room and at breakfast
Top-notch service during check-in, check-out and in between.

This stay was a gift to us, so I cannot comment on the prices.

Overall, wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Kahala is a sophisticated, strikingly beautiful, serene, beachfront resort located at the end of the road..... Soft background Hawaiian music is heard as you enter the public areas. Our stay got better and better. Check in was oddly delayed by lots of keyboard clicking and repeated promises that room would be ready... soon..... Once we cleared that hurdle and made our own way to the room, we were pleased to see the pretty Tommy Bahama style room, with 2 double beds, a chaise lounge, desk, dresser and round table. Our balcony overlooked the golf course, with an ocean view. The bathroom was wonderful-his and her vanities, his and her closets, shower, tub, with hand held shower spray, lots of drawer and cupboard space, coffee bar counter, safe, and a separate toilet room. Tommy Bahama toiletries, chenille robes and wonderful big white towels completed the bath. WSJ delivered daily. Turndown service was provided nightly. Housekeeping staff was quiet and courteous. Parking is valet or self-park in the adjacent several story garage. For self-park, you will need a parking pass to exit the garage. Plumeria buffet breakfast was included with the room. The buffet included different specials each day, as well as Japanese options, and an omelet station. Try acai sorbet, guava juice, kahalasadas, rolled crepes, Japanese pickled vegetables over rice, Kahala coffee, and fresh papaya and pineapple! All excellent! For early coffee drinkers, visit the cart at the bottom of the staircase by the orchid wall. We booked our tours by phone with the hotel concierge prior to our arrival and all were ticketed and ready at check-in. We spent our afternoons at the Kahala beach and pool; chaircovers and towels are provided by the pool staff. Fascinated, we returned to watch the trained dolphins daily at the hotel's renowned Dolphin Quest. We often just stopped to sit for a moment on the rocking chairs on the porch to watch the dolphins play and the ocean spray! Resort was only 20 minutes from airport -maybe 35 at high traffic times.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The terrible rating is due to the WAY OVER-THE-TOP PRICES. Hotel was nice enough; bed did not lend itself to a good night's sleep. With the outlandish pricing, each room should have their own private chef and butler. At the least breakfast should be included in the price. COULD NOT BELIEVE the prices charged by the hotel restaurants. The hotel did offer a free shuttle into Waikiki, which we took advantage of to find places in town to eat.
The staff were very accommodating; Concierges Cameron and Frank were very helpful in reserving activities.
Would never stay again or recommend. So not worth the money; find a place for less and put the money saved towards your adventures.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are so sorry to hear that you left disappointed and feel that our prices are too high. That concerns us as we certainly don't wish for our guests to leave feeling that way. We do all we can to make the facilities and dining prices as affordable as possible for our guests, and we greatly value your feedback so that our management team can further access our policies and offerings. Thank you again for sharing this important feedback with us and for letting us know that other than the price point you had a very enjoyable stay. With kind regards and many thanks again, The Kahala Hotel & Resort .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesser
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Beautiful place with great people. We had a very nice time and were very pleased with everything from the concierge to the front desk staff to the cleaning staff. We will most definitely return! There was only one downside to our stay.......when we made reservations at one of the 3 restaurants at the hotel, no one mentioned that I needed to have long pants. My wife had told me she had read online that everything in Hawaii was casual so I never even packed any pants. It was no big deal and everyone was very nice about it. And, it was my own fault for not packing any pants. But it would have been nice to know ahead of time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Beautiful hotel, great choice, as it's far away from busy Waikiki. Best breakfast ever. Excellent housekeeping service, beautiful silent beach, good pool area. Hotel employees are super friendly and very efficient, from bellman to concierge. The recently opened Italian restaurant is too sophisticated to be Italian, and super expensive...There should be more choices of casual restaurants for dinner. The one at the beach is excellent, but only opens for lunch.

Room Tip: Rooms with garden view are very quiet. The ones the are facing the dolphin lagoon may be noisy at so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kahala Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Address: 5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kahala Hotel & Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kahala Hotel & Resort is Hawaii's reigning luxury resort, set on a secluded beach just ten minutes from the world class shopping and entertainment of Waikiki. This legendary hideaway resort in Honolulu's plush Kahala district is a favorite with presidents, international royalty and celebrities. From the moment you arrive, you will know that you are truly somewhere special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your The Kahala Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kahala Hotel Honolulu
The Kahala Hotel And Resort
Kahala Resort Honolulu
Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Mandarin Oriental Oahu
Kahala Hotel & Resort
Kahala Mandarin Oriental
The Kahala Hotel & Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kahala Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.