We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most beautiful resort in the Waikiki area.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Kahala Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Whitehall
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“The most beautiful resort in the Waikiki area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

If you have the budget, you have to stay at this beachfront resort. Out of the hotels that my group stayed at, by far this was the nicest. When you step into the lobby, you can tell that the resort is unique. The lobby looks like a Pier 1 store on an elegant level. They have some shops and a nice long wall covered with photos of the celebrities that have stayed at the resort.

The most impressive part of the resort is the spa. No matter what spa treatment you pick, you have your own suite to enjoy with a tub where the water falls from the ceiling. I truly wished I could have experienced a treatment there.

The rooms are beautiful as well as the views. Each room decor is different and hand picked so each room is different. You walk into your room and light music is already playing. The balconies are huge as well as the bathroom. You feel more like you are staying at a friend's house than at a hotel.

There is a fun lagoon where dolphins live. You can swim with them (for a price) and you can watch them be trained and fed at your own leisure. The view of the ocean and the beach is out of this world. Just so beautiful. It is really calm.

I had breakfast at the breakfast buffet. It was delicious. They have the usual breakfast food, but they also have specialties. They have a bruschetta bar and mini maple pancakes that are so good. They also have fresh, all natural smoothies. I had one that had a least 6 fruits blended together and no diary.

Overall, I would love to get back to this resort and stay there longer. Not only is the place beautiful, but it is a unique resort where it cannot be compared. Thank you VIP Vacations for getting me a stay in this resort!

Room Tip: Oceanview or a view of Diamond Head
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Aloha Alison~ Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are so pleased to hear that we made you feel at home and that you noticed those fine details. We hope that you will get to experience our world class spa the next time you stay with us. We can't wait to welcome you back again! With many thanks and aloha from all of us at The Kahala Hotel & Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,158
    303
    112
    52
    47
See reviews for
533
784
38
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotel is located right in front of the beach, it is quiet and bautiful, service is Excellent, staff is nice and always looking after you. Since we arri e they treated us so well, they even upgraded Our Room, the room Was so confortable, bathroom Was huge two closets, tub and shower.

They have activities for the kids a nice spa and yoga clases in the morning. They have jogging trails maps available and a place for renting a car in the hotel, wich made things so easy.



The location is so nice, away from the crowds. Hotel also has a complementary shuttle to Waikiki and the mall.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Aloha Claudia! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm so glad you were happy with everything from our wonderful staff to our spacious bathrooms. We are so happy we were able to exceed your expectations and do look forward to welcoming you back again! With many thanks and aloha from all of us at The Kahala Hotel & Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed at The Kahala from 27 APR 2013 through 03 APR 2013. This was our first trip to Hawai'i for our 20th anniversary. I cannot say enough great things about The Kahala!

Even though I just mentioned the reason for our trip in passing during the reservation process, the nice lady on the other end of the phone took notice of this small detail. When we arrived, we had a bottle of champagne and a slice of cheesecake for two waiting for us in the room.

The valets were awesome and always on point. Always making sure we had directions to where we needed to go, make sure we had towels, maps and extra bottles of water if we needed them. The most impressive thing was when we went to check out. We were waiting for our car when we turned around to see it was already parked curbside with our bags (all eight of them) already neatly packed in the trunk!

The bellmen were constantly on top of every detail. From a great lei greeting to meeting every need. On our arrival to our room, our bellman showed us around the room and where to find whatever we needed.

Check-in was quick and smooth. The cool towel hit the spot after 16 hours on an airplane. Anytime we needed anything from the front desk, the response was quick and results were outstanding.

The restaurants -
The Plumeria Beach House has an awesome breakfast buffet. Be sure to get the breakfast package. Well worth it. Lunch and dinner also wonderful with great views of the semi-private beach.

Hoku's was an awesome experience. The Seafood Tower (which was ordered accidentally when the server misheard "seafood chowder") was wonderful. Our dinners were right on.

The Veranda is a nice cozy place to eat. I enjoyed the tables with the couches. Great live music from the piano at night.

Seaside Grill is a great place to grab lunch while swimming in the pool or snorkeling in the ocean.

The view from the room was great! We had an ocean-view lanai with a king bed. We were on the second floor and still had great views from Koko Head on the left to Diamond head on the right. The dolphin lagoon directly below our room was entertaining as well. A higher floor would have been nice, but we enjoyed where we were all the same!

The housekeeping service was also on point. Always with a smile and a warm Aloha. They took care of our room as if it was the room of the biggest VIP.

The best part of the room was the nightly turn down service. They would always leave a small surprise on the bed (orchid buds) and have soft Hawaiian music playing on the CD player. Two bottles of water would be left on the nightstands. They even replaced a small cup of water my wife had some flowers in with fresh water for the flowers. It's the attention to the small details that makes The Kahala so special!

The concierge always had directions and great suggestions at hand. Never without ideas for things to do and see and places to eat.

Every staff member seemed to remember us by name and was always ready with a warm, welcoming smile and a friendly Aloha. The Kahala and its staff made our first stay on Oahu very special and memories that will last forever.

We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ocean View Lanai offers great views of the ocean, the pool, the dolphin lagoon and both Koko Head Cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Congratulations on celebrating your 20th anniversary and for sharing such an important milestone with us! We are so pleased to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations and we certainly appreciate your wonderful words of praise about our bell staff, restaurant servers, and housekeeping services. As part of our daily communication I have shared your feedback with our teams as there is no better motivator then a job well done! We can't wait to welcome you back again! With many thanks and aloha from all of us at The Kahala Hotel & Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Late April 2013 was our 3rd trip to Kahala in the last 2.5 years, so obviously we love it there! It is truly one of my favorite places to be. The staff is outstanding, frequently calling us by name and always helpful and friendly. Breakfast buffet at Plumeria is a standout -- I wish I could eat there every morning! And the dolphins make the place even more special. I could sit and watch them for hours (and sometimes did!), plus the trainers are so personable and will happily answer any question. Perfect for a tranquil couples retreat. We really needed a relaxing break from everyday life/work and Kahala provided it many times over!

Room Tip: We love the rooms facing the golf course. I enjoy sitting outside to read and lanais are in the shad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Aloha Elizabeth! Mahalo for sharing your wonderful compliments, we truly appreciate your loyalty, and we thank you for visiting us time and again. We are so pleased to hear that we are able to exceed your expectations and provide that tranquil retreat that you like. We look forward to welcoming you back again! With many thanks and aloha from all of us at The Kahala Hotel & Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Beautiful Hotel. Get away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki by moving just a bit down the beach to The Kahala. Family friendly, romantic hotel for couples, with activities for everyone young and old. Swimming with the Dolphins was a high point of my life. Great experience. The staff is "Hawaii" friendly, the food is delicious with out door Lani dinning. The rooms are lovely with nice beds and bedding. Good size bathrooms. The beach stretches all along the hotel and in front of private condo's but access is open to all the beach. Great stay. Will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Aloha Cynthia! Thank you for sharing your stay with us. We are so glad you were able to escape from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki and relax at the Kahala Hotel & Resort. Moreover, I am so glad you were able to experience swimming with the dolphins, it is truly an amazing experience. Thank you again for all the wonderful comments, we can't wait to welcome you back again! With many thanks and aloha from all of us at The Kahala Hotel & Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our family of 3 adults stayed at Kahala Resort in April 2013 and enjoyed the open air design, expanse, and old Hawaiian charm...felt like a high class resort from the past. The location is great for those (us) wanting to get away from all the tourist traffic, as it is about 15 minutes from Waikiki. (car necessary) The rooms were a good size, extremely comfortable beds (note: 2 beds = 2 doubles, not queens), and the bathrooms were very spacious...overall lovely. The staff were professional and pleasant; good service but nothing offered that was above and beyond. The grounds and beach are very nice, and the dolphin encounter must be their claim to fame (great for just watching ... probably a blast to participate). My criticisms were that they charge for parking (I find this tacky...like someone charging a house guest to park in the driveway), the website is misleading about the tennis courts (They belong to a club next door and it is $30+/hr pp to play!), and the biggest downer for me, the attention to room cleanliness. Although our room was lovely at first glance, it had soiled upholstery (a chaise lounge, which they did remove at my request), a tired carpet, and tile missing (only one) in the bathroom. These concerns would be not as big a deal if I were staying at a place where the price and reputation warranted it, but this place is expensive by Honolulu standards and has a high reputation. Overall we really did enjoy the resort and would recommend it...it's just that first impression when you walk into your room with high expectations and were a little let down. The concern was addressed, but nothing additional was ever offered. (Note: I had paid for 4 nights and only used 3 (my doing), but thought that because of that and the room issue that they would upgrade me to a better room...they didn't).

Room Tip: If they have any newly remodeled rooms, I'd ask for those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your appreciation for our open air design and classic old Hawaiian ambiance. We are sorry to hear that you were surprised by our parking fees, most hotels across America do charge parking fees ranging anywhere from $20 to $50 daily. We are pleased to hear that you found our staff professional and services to be good however; we are disappointed that our furnishings were not up to our usual luxury standard. We are so sorry for these incidents and so pleased that you brought them to our attention so that we may address this with management and ensure such atypical issues do not occur again in the future. Thank you again for expressing your concerns - we appreciate it - and we are truly sorry that you left disappointed. We so hope for the opportunity to deliver the true Kahala experience for which we are known sometime in the future. With kind regards and many thanks again, The Kahala Hotel & Resort Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Not far from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki the Kahala more than filled our expectations of a great vacation and greeted upon arrival with shell of nut leis. We were upgraded to a "partial ocean view" but the "partial" was more than adequate; also included was the sumptuous breakfast buffet. We ate almost every night here as the food was amazing, varietal, local and seasonal, which coming from the midwest is saying something in the winter. We were advised well by the concierge for activities-especially the tidbit of taking a taxi to/from Diamond Head-the parking there is so very limited, and to get there early.
We loved watching the Dolphin Experience, the fish, turtle and ray lagoons as well as having yoga in an outdoor setting, seeing beautiful flowers everywhere and anything you could possibly want at hand. Truly a beautiful although not inexpensive resort to enjoy your time in Hawaii.

Room Tip: Ocean view was lovely and yes, there is some construction so might be a bit noisy. Ours seemed very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Congratulations on celebrating your second honeymoon! Thank you for sharing your insider tip with other reviewers about taking a taxi to Diamond Head, as parking there can be frustrating due to limited amount of stalls. We are so glad to hear that you had a fabulous time and we greatly appreciate all of your kind compliments. We can't wait to welcome you back again! With many thanks and aloha from all of us at The Kahala Hotel & Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kahala Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Address: 5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kahala Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kahala Hotel & Resort is Hawaii's reigning luxury resort, set on a secluded beach just ten minutes from the world class shopping and entertainment of Waikiki. This legendary hideaway resort in Honolulu's plush Kahala district is a favorite with presidents, international royalty and celebrities. From the moment you arrive, you will know that you are truly somewhere special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LHW, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Kahala Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kahala Hotel And Resort
The Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Kahala Resort Honolulu
Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Mandarin Oriental Oahu
Kahala Hotel & Resort
Kahala Mandarin Oriental
The Kahala Hotel & Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kahala Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.