We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet and elegant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Kahala Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“quiet and elegant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Quiet and elegant hotel away from the busy streets in Honolulu. Food is great and the service is the best. Very friendly and efficient staff. Only thing is if you're looking for night life and a bar to mix and mingle after dinner, you should grab a taxi into town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahalaResort, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our resort. I was pleased to see that you particularly enjoyed our quiet location and the services provided by our friendly staff. Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon. Aloha and best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,158
    303
    112
    52
    47
See reviews for
533
784
38
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zionsville, Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is a great resort -- the best in Honolulu because of the private secluded beach. You can't get a lounge chair on the beach anywhere else in Waikiki. The room was wonderful although I was initially put in an accessible room and I did not like the bathroom. I was moved to another room the last three nights of my stay and it was exceptional. The service is good but not Four Seasons standards. All of the food was exceptional and I dined at all the restaurants. The breakfast buffet

Room Tip: The hotel will not guarantee a room and I was put in an accessible room initially. Book away from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahalaResort, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send your comments following your recent stay at our resort. I was delighted to see that you had a good time and especially enjoyed our secluded location. I was also pleased to see that we found a more suitable room to meet your needs and that the food and service in our dining outlets exceeded your expectations. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back the next time you plan a visit to our beautiful island. Aloha and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent 7 days at the Kahala. We really enjoyed the quiet beach and grounds of the resort. Food and service was excellent from start to end. The only reason for a one point down grade was the lack of WiFi in our room. No issues with connection in other areas of the resort and we had wired connection in our room, so not really an issue. If you have a car there is a charge for parking $25 per day, but valet service was excellent and having a car to make the quick trip to Waikiki and others areas of the island worth it. The main attraction for us was that this resort is not in the crazy traffic and crowds of Waikiki. It was a very relaxing environment, with all the amenities you could want with 10 min drive (stay off the H1 if you can) into the restaurants and bars of Waikiki.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are proud of our beautiful secluded resort and I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed the property. I am also pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our dining experiences at our restaurants and nothing makes me happier than to hear that my staff delivered excellent service. I thank you once again for sharing your experiences with us and look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to the island. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We spent two nights and three gorgeous days here. It was a very busy time in Waikiki and we had a difficult time finding accommodations on short notice. Instead we ended up at The Kahala and had a fabulous stay. The location is gorgeous and the staff are all friendly and helpful. We had a mountain view room and enjoyed sitting and looking at the hills and homes on that side of the hotel. At other times we enjoyed sitting beachfront and looking at the ocean. Our room was super comfortable and beautifully decorated. The bed was great too. It was fun to see the children and guests being entertained by the dolphin experience which we watched. Ev ery time we called for our car it was there before we got downstairs. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences with us during your recent visit to Honolulu. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful secluded property with our wonderful views of the mountain, beach and dolphin lagoon. At The Kahala, we continuously strive to deliver exceptional service to every one of our guests and I was delighted to hear that you were pleased with our staff's services. My staff and I look forward to servicing you during your next visit to the island. Warm regards and Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We loved the Kahala Resort. The staff at the restaurants and on the property went out of their way to make us feel special. However, our room on the second floor was showing signs of needing new carpet. Stains and faded carpet have no place in a resort of this caliber. After experiencing the Waikiki Beach crowds and noise we were very glad we had chosen the quiet elegance of the Kahala... Sometimes you do get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Don't spend the extra for a premium room. The allure of the Kahala is it's location on a qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us during your recent stay. I was delighted to hear that you have enjoyed our beautiful secluded location. The Kahala Hotel and Resort strives to offer excellent service and I was pleased to hear that our staff has delivered a special experience to you. I regret to hear that the room was not up to our usual hotel standards. We take your feedback seriously and are taking measures to prevent these types of experiences. Thank you once again for your sharing your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again during your next visit to Honolulu. Best wishes and Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

After 3 perfect days on Hawaii big island we then had 7 great nights at the Kahala.
Having 2 teenagers we had a large room/suite with adjoining rooms which was sensational and very well appointed and beautiful views of the bay and pool area. It's located in a lovely quiet stylish location 10 minutes drive from the main hub in Waikiki and 20 mins from the fabulous Alo Moana Shopping "town" as its huge! They have a free shuttle which is great - just book your spot early.
We were also with a large group and the buffets and functions were very good for large numbers. Casual dining was also very good and well priced. The dolphin pool is a real treat - initially I was concerned about this but my son and I booked a session and it was really interesting and a great experience and realised those dolphins are bred into that environment, extremely well looked after and monitored and is a great insight into these wonderful animals. Having them swim around in such close proximity to the rooms must be unique to this hotel.
Pearl Harbour, Hiring a convertible Mustang for a day trip around the island to visit the stunning natural wonders of Northshore and the Windward side of Oahu are a must...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experiences with us. I am pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your seven day stay with us in our adjoining rooms with the beautiful view. It is among our highest priorities to take the greatest care for our dolphins, and I am happy to hear that you and your son enjoyed the dophin pool. The Kahala Hotel and Resort strives to provide exceptional service to all of our guests, and it was a pleasure to hear that we were able to accommodate your large group during your enjoyable dining experiences. Thank you once again for taking the time for your feedback and it would be our pleasure to service you again during your next visit to the island. Mahalo to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsw australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was our second stay at this resort.If you want total luxury and professional service then this is the place.The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated.We had breakfast each morning and there was the most magnificent selection of food and fresh juices.The service is first class and the staff cannot do enough to make your trip a most pleasant stay.
The resort a provides a free shuttle bus short bus to the busy waikiki district .It is so busy there it was just so lovely to go back to our quiet piece of paradise of an evening.
The resort has its own beach so there is no fighting with the crowds.
This is without any doubt the best place to stay in Honolulu.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Dolphin wing.A little more expensive but just wonderful sitting on the balcony with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Hotel, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again during your recent visit to our beautiful island. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It is such a delight to hear that you were pleased with our staff's services. I am also pleased to hear that you have enjoyed the rooms as well as our breakfast selections. Thank you once again for the wonderful comments and we look forward to welcoming you again during your next visit to the island. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kahala Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Address: 5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kahala Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kahala Hotel & Resort is Hawaii's reigning luxury resort, set on a secluded beach just ten minutes from the world class shopping and entertainment of Waikiki. This legendary hideaway resort in Honolulu's plush Kahala district is a favorite with presidents, international royalty and celebrities. From the moment you arrive, you will know that you are truly somewhere special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LHW, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Kahala Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kahala Hotel And Resort
The Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Kahala Resort Honolulu
Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Mandarin Oriental Oahu
Kahala Hotel & Resort
Kahala Mandarin Oriental
The Kahala Hotel & Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kahala Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.