We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Kahala Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$335 (USD)
Ranked #3 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
West Sussex, UK
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed here for four nights, staff and service were exemplary. Restaurant meals were excellent and the overall experience was first class. Location in Kahala is quiet and far from the noisy Waikiki beach area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahalaResort, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send your positive comments following your recent stay at our resort. I was delighted to see that you had a good time and enjoyed our secluded location as well as our guest services and restaurants. It will be a pleasure to be of service to you again on many future occasions. Aloha and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,086
    291
    106
    52
    42
See reviews for
512
736
37
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel is a place that my family has gone to every Thanksgiving for the past several years. In addition, I went as a child thru my teens during Christmas vacation for ten years. Wonderful, for families, special secluded spots or weddings, and honeymoon couples. Fantastic lobby that is beautifully decorated for all the holidays. All the food is delicious! My favorite is the macadamia nut thin rolled pancakes. Looking forward to my next trip back to the Kahala.

Room Tip: Anyone can have an ocean view room...I prefer above the waterfall. I love the sound of the waterfall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahalaResort, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
It was thoughtful of you to send your wonderful comments about our resort, and it was a delight to hear from a loyal return guest. We always try to provide a comfortable and memorable resort experience, and we are so pleased that our services, facilities, and food quality and preparation have met your expectations for so many years. My staff and I look forward to welcoming you back during the holidays or any time you are able to plan another trip to Honolulu. Aloha and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel's location on the beach is fabulous. Hotel premises,however, have seen better days. Also, the staff at the reception desk was not that friendly or helpful. Pool is very small and also in need of an update. Don't think the resort warrants the high cost of their rooms. We will return to Maui for our next vacation.

Room Tip: We stayed at the ground floor but that required an upgrade and they charged extra 150.00 per night,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahalaResort, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for staying with us recently and for sending your candid comments. I appreciate receiving all feeedback from our guests, both positive and negative. We offer promotions and packages throughout the year which have excellent value, and I hope that there will be an opportunity for us to welcome you back to our resort on a future occasion. Aloha and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for our Honeymoon and it couldnt have been any better!
We got an upgrade to a suite, lei and champange on arrival and the staff were just so friendly!The room was gorgeous and spacious, we had 2 windows with different aspects so it really was gorgeous waking up everyday especially looking out and seeing the dolphins swimming and jumping around!
everything about the hotel was just perfect, the pool was nice and quiet, you only have to take a stroll onto the beach and the food was unreal!!
They operate a shuttle bus back and fro from waikiki, which is about 15 mins away, but it was fine as the bus was regular. The only thing was that it stopped pretty early in the evening, but you cant really fault them on that who would want to be driving around at all hours of the night! A taxi back to the hotel didnt cost that much so it really wasnt an issue.
I just cant say enough about thsi hotel, its by far the best hotel we have ever stayed in!
You didn't feel out of place there either like you can in some fancy hotels, you knew it was very high class but everyone was welcome!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahalaResort, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
I was delighted to read your wonderful comments following your recent stay, and thank you for selecting our resort to celebrate your honeymoon. It is gratifying to know that you were completely comfortable in your room and enjoyed our honeymoon amenities and other guest services. To watch the dolphins in our private lagoon from your window was no doubt a memorable event each morning. My staff and I are looking forward to welcoming you back to our resort when you are able to plan another trip to our beautiful island. Congratulations again and best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at the Kahala resort for only a couple of days, but they were magical. Had a room on the 9th floor with a spectacular view of the ocean. We could look down and see the dolphins at the dolphin quest enclosure swimming to their hearts content. Very spacious and well appointed room. The resort is a quiet refuge.. on the opposite side of Diamond Head from Waikiki beach. Very charming and sedate! Just what we were looking for. Staff was very accomodating and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean front with a balcony.. it's worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahalaResort, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Aloha and thank you for sending all of your wonderful comments following your recent stay with us. Nothing makes us happier than to learn that our secluded location, guestrooms, resident dolphins, and friendly staff have surpassed our guest's expectations. It was a pleasure having you with us, and we look forward to being of service to you again the next time you plan a trip to Honolulu.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Just gotten back from a stay at the Kahala Resort. We booked 2 rooms @ Mountain Lanai overlooking the lush Waialae Golf course. Ocean-view will cost a lot more. We had stayed here a few times in the past. In its glory days, it was an exclusive enclave built by the late Baron Hilton where the Rich and Famous and Holloywood set gravitated. There is an impressive photo-ops and words written by past famous guests lining a wall, including Kings and Queens. The latest movie guest staying here was George Clooney when he was filming the movie 'The Descendants'.

PRO:
* Subliminal beach setting
* Extremely private and relaxing. No cell phones heard at the beach.
* Friendly staff
* Staff Karen/Roger coordinated & arranged a seamless tennis day at the Waialae Country Club down the road.
* Great customer service from Dianah (sp ?) at the Business Center & Randy at Plumeria restaurant

Con:
* Rooms are older, no rain showers or up-to-date stuff like phones & TV's in bathrooms
* Better buffet spread and quality of towels and bed linen when the hotel was managed by Mandarin Oriental Hotel
* For value rendered, would not pay rack rates, but special deals like stay 4-and-pay-3 with breakfasts included are value for the money. Must stay at a lanai room inorder to fully enjoy the super views
* Free shuttle serive got booked up quickly when we were there. At high season, it would likely be hard to get by. On previous occasions, we rented a car or took taxi to Waikiki, Ala Moana and dinners.

SUMMARY
This is more like a place to kick off your shoes and totally relax. I would not compare Kahala Hotel to the 4-Seasons or Mandarin Orientals except perhaps to the Oriental in Bangkok for its imbued history. When in Honolulu, we stay at either the Halekulani or Kahala. They are different. You're buying a particular kind experience with each. 'No muss, no fuss' if you don't go looking for deficiencies at Kahala due to the age of the property.

Room Tip: Must book a room with lanai.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahalaResort, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for sharing your recent parking experience at our resort. Our new parking rules and rates have been posted for a few months, and it was unfortunate that you missed the "validation after at $25 purchase" information. While our parking rates are consistent with other upscale properties on Oahu, I understand your views and am sorry that you were not able to enjoy any of our popular guest attractions when you visited our secluded property. It would be a pleasure to welcome you to our resort, and I hope that you will be able to spend some time with us on a future occasion. Aloha and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We recently stayed at the Kahala for 9 nights. The room overlooking the dolphin pool and ocean was beautiful. Breakfast that was included daily with the room was incomparable with fresh fruits and juices and an enormous variety of foods. The staff was great. The only downside was the up-charge for an umbrella on the beach and for lack of flexibility for a late check-out. We requested a 4-hour extension of check-out time because of a late flight time and were offered a 2-hour extension for an $80 up charge.

Room Tip: choose a room with a balcony and a view of the dolphin pool. You also get both Diamond Head and Koko...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahalaResort, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Honolulu and for sending your comments. I was delighted to see how comfortable you were in your room and how you particularly enjoyed our breakfast buffet. However, I was sorry that we were not able to extend the late check out you requested. We do have to consider times for new arrivals and the room categories they booked as well as the time required for Housekeeping to clean and prepare the rooms needed, and we are not always able to be as flexible as we would like. Please accept my apology for any inconvenience caused in that regard. Again, thank you for sharing your comments, and be assured that we look forward to being of service to you on another occasion. Aloha and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kahala Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Address: 5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kahala Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kahala Hotel & Resort is Hawaii's reigning luxury resort, set on a secluded beach just ten minutes from the world class shopping and entertainment of Waikiki. This legendary hideaway resort in Honolulu's plush Kahala district is a favorite with presidents, international royalty and celebrities. From the moment you arrive, you will know that you are truly somewhere special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Loews Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, LHW, Amex, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Kahala Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kahala Hotel And Resort
The Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Kahala Resort Honolulu
Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Mandarin Oriental Oahu
Kahala Hotel & Resort
Kahala Mandarin Oriental
The Kahala Hotel & Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kahala Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.