We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding resort! UK honeymooners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Save Saved
You added The Kahala Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$85 off room rate
Ranked #6 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Chigwell, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding resort! UK honeymooners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Let me begin by telling you, this is my first trip advisor review. I would never normally write an online review, but following my stay at the amazing Kahala Hotel & Resort i feel compelled to give them the praise they rightly deserve!

Our honeymoon consisted of a few nights in vegas and LA sandwiched with 9 nights at the Kahala. I understand this is not everyone's idea of a good honeymoon, but for us we are very active and while we enjoy an idilic beach we like having the option of lively restaurants/bars and plentiful activities nearby. The Kahala proved to be the perfect balance for us.

Upon check in we were greeted with wonderful lei's, complimentary bottles of hawaiian mineral water and very friendly and helpful bell staff. As we made our way to the check in desk there was no que and a very helpful receptionist who explained the layout of the resort and informed us we had been given a complimentary room upgrade to the dolphin lagoon wing (i must admit, we had emailed the resort ahead and explained it was our honeymoon, and if they could do anything to make our experience even more memorable it would be much appreciated). Once we reached our room, we found a complimentary bottle of champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries! The room was a very nice size, with a huge bathroom (double sink, large waterfall type shower, large bath), a supremely comfortable queen bed and small sofa. Our room was also in a perfect position, at the end of the dolphin wing, which meant we were a short walk from the lobby, but a stones-throw from the beach. the room was overlooking the mountainside/golf course which was very nice. I have read other reviews complaining you get woken at 5:30am by the golf course being mowed, i heard it once and to be honest the only reason i heard it was i had woken early with jet lag - it was so insignificant i cant believe people actually commented on it! The complimentary resort wifi came in very handy for me and the wife making friends and family jealous with pictures and facetime calls!

The beach at the kahala is absolutely gorgeous, i don't think the pictures online do it justice. It is flanked either side by small rock peninsula's which provide awesome views of the bay/resort and the mountain side. The sun beads are free as are the towels/bed covers - its worth noting a lot of waikiki hotels charge for use of their sun loungers. The selection of beach activities are very good - while not being intrusive to other beach users, there are a selection of canoes/kayaks/surf boards but our favourite was the stand up paddle boards. There is also a small reef which protects the beach from the larger waves and provides ample snorkelling terrain.

We ate at the plumeria beach house for breakfast and the beachside bar and grill for lunch. The breakfast buffet was fantastic quality and vast, my favourite meal of the day! Another nice touch is the complimentary Kona coffee they serve untill 8am outside the plumeria beach house. The staff are all excellent - addressing you by name everyday.

Another nice touch is the complimentary shuttle service which takes you to the kahala mall, ala moana shopping centre or the centre of waikiki at regular intervals throughout the day and night....this is good as it saves you approx $20 a time in a taxi. It takes approx 15 mins into Waikiki and we used the service most evenings as we loved the dining options that waikiki offers. Yes it is built up, but not in a tacky way - international restaurants, hawaiian style restaurants and plenty of nice shops and bars to keep you entertained.

Ok, so my only gripes with the kahala were the spa pricing. We were both looking forward to having a nice massage/treatment upon arrival, but when we saw the price list there was no way we could justify the price. Im sure like everything at the Kahala, the massages/treatments would be outstanding but i would like to see them adjust their pricing to make them more accessible to all.

So in summary, i believe the Kahala is the best hotel i have ever stayed in. They helped to make our honeymoon absolutely perfect and i would love to return sometime soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahalaResort, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us following your memorable honeymoon stay at our resort. I was delighted to read your many positive comments about your room and amenities as well as our guest services and facilities. It is always great to know that we have left our guests wanting more of our magical brand of aloha. However, I noted your input regarding our spa treatment pricing and would like to highlight the fact that we do offer unique facilities along with highly qualified technicians. Each treatment room enjoys 550 sq. ft. of space with a personal relaxation area, changing area, a private shower, and a calming infinity tub. We believe there is great value in our product, and our prices are comparable to other upscale resort spas in Hawaii. Thank you for sending your positive comments and for also sharing your concerns. My staff and I will be happy to welcome you back the next time you plan a trip to our beautiful island. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,405 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    951
    265
    97
    50
    42
See reviews for
446
653
36
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I booked this hotel as part of a 2 week holiday. We stayed at the kahala for 7 nights, following a hectic few days in Los Angeles. We stayed here in 2009 as part of our honeymoon on a weeks holiday and decided to return . We wasnt disappointed,The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The staff were really attentive. Nothing was too much bother.

there is free wifi throughout the hotel.

The public areas are tastefully decorated and very spacious. We booked a garden room and this overlooked the golf course. The rooms were tastefully decorated in a lemon colour and spacious. The toiletries and bath towels were replenished every day. We had an evening turn down service. There was a large separate shower and bath.

There is a dolphin lagoon and ponds with various turtles and fish. it was beautiful to see the dolphins. We swam with the dolphins previously, this was excellent.

There is a large swimming pool, jacquzzi and child's swimming pool. There was plenty of room to get a sun bed at the ,various times of the days we went.

there are restaurants that overlook the beach. The beach is small and caters for mainly the guests of the hotel, but continue walking and you walk to residential areas
We booked breakfast at the hotel for one night and this was $35 per person without taxes and tip. this was a buffet breakfast and the food was exceptional and well with the money. Plenty of choice from fresh fruit, to continental, yoghurts, pastries, cooked food.

The hotel has a complimentary shuttle to Waikiki, Alamano, and kahala mall. You will need to book the shuttle as it does get booked up quite quickly. The first bus starts 10.30 and the last picks up 8.45. This is a good service, but they could look at having a later shuttle back say 10pm. The hotel is about 10 mins in the shuttle. This hotel is in a good location, and away from the main waikiki.. We opted for a cab back to kahala a couple of nights but this was $25.


The views and location of the hotel are superb, and its nice to get away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki

Looking forward to returning again soon, as coming from UK it's a long flight

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahalaResort, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
It was a pleasure to have you with us again, and thank you for sending your positive feedback. I was delighted to see how much you enjoyed our secluded location and the comforts of your guestroom. Our buffet breakfast is very popular with guests and other visitors, and your candid comments are appreciated. Your feedback regarding the shopping shuttle was noted, and we will review the schedule as we consider changes in the future. Thank you for sharing your concerns in that regard. My staff and I are looking forward to welcoming you back the next time you can plan another trip to our beautiful island. Aloha and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte, California
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

It was some time ago that i stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend and his family at Christmas time , very fancy to say the least , i had never stayed at a hotel like this before , at night i remember returning to find our beds turned down and a little plumeriam on the pillows . the lobby was decortated for the holidays of course but with a Hawian twist , also there were all sorts of tropical plants all over the place and pools of salt water with friendly dolphins swimming around , being born in NJ i had never seen anything like this , it was like a fantasy !

Room Tip: i didn't have anything to do with the room arrangements but i suggest that the best rooms are fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahalaResort, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send your comments and share your experience at our resort. We do enjoy decorating our lobby, rooms, and other facilities during the holiday season each year, and I was delighted to see that you had such a good time. Also, the dolphins in our lagoon are a favorite for everyone who stays with us or visits our property. We look forward to welcoming you back to our corner in paradise the next time you plan a trip to our beautiful island. Aloha and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed at Kahala for three nights after landing in Honolulu before flying on to a different island. The staff was attentive, friendly, and very accommodating. The Kahala is perfectly located because it is so close to Waikiki and the airport but when you are on the hotel grounds it feels as if you are on a completely different island. I loved seeing the dolphins swimming around in the middle of the resort. Overall great stay and can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahalaResort, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
It was great to read your wonderful comments, and thank you for staying with us during the first leg of your trip to Hawaii. We always try to provide our guests with a pleasant and comfortable resort experience, and I was delighted to see how much you enjoyed our secluded location and had a great stay overall. It will be a pleasure to be of service to you again the next time you visit Honolulu. Aloha and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

dined with local friends on a Thursday night , service was OK did and said all the right things , bit mechanical , food was disappointing for a hotel with such a reputation style of presentation a bit dated and flavors not quite there, service could have been more smiles just seemed a bit flat that night. does have an old world charm about the restaurant , overall a disappointment for us .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahalaResort, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for sharing your recent dining experience with us. We sincerely apologize that you were not completely satisifed with the food and service on that occasion. We always intend to provide the best service and product, and is important for us to know when we fail to meet those expectations. Your comments were shared with our Director of Food & Beverage for his follow up, and we hope that you will give us another opportunity sometime soon to provide the great dining experience you expect and deserve. Aloha and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We absolutely loved our stay at the Kahala. We just returned from 4 magical nights. The hotel, the people, the location, the beautiful beach and the food were splendid. Our room was amazing! We loved it so much that we had a difficult time venturing out from the hotel. We had dinner at Hoku every night because the food and the atmosphere were fabulous, but also because the people; Dante, Danielle, Lisa, Giorgina, and Charlotte were pleasant, fun and interesting people. One afternoon when we did venture out, we rushed back because we could not wait to come back to paradise. We cannot wait to come back to the Kahala, we miss everyone there already.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahalaResort, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you so much for sending your very kind comments. Nothing makes us happier than to read that our guests found everything from our guestrooms, dining, and service to be exceptional. We appreciate that you took the time to write, and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back sometime soon. Aloha and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We loved our stay at Kahala, located a relaxing distance from nearby Waikiki for this 'mature couple'! This hotel has a grand old world luxurious feel; its long history of famous patrons is well documented in photos on display. The Piano bar and restaurants were great (although the margaritas were average, but they were everywhere on this island), the service exceptional as it was in all parts of the hotel. Our large upstairs room overlooked the lovely beach where we swam every morning. The bathroom was spacious too with 2 wash basins and ample storage space. Only odd thing was having to prepay for drinks, which were then delivered to the minibar, requiring exactly the sort of forethought that minibars are supposed to obviate! But overall, top marks.

Room Tip: Upstairs, facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahalaResort, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
I was delighted to read your gracious comments about our resort, and thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. I was also pleased to see that your ocean view room was very comfortable and you enjoyed a swim in the ocean every morning. I have noted your comments regarding ordering beverages for your minibar during the check in process. We prefer to provide items chosen by the guest so that the minibar is "personalized" with your favorite selections. Some guests prefer ordering items through our concierge before they arrive so that their minibar is filled with their favorites upon arrival. Again, thank you for sending your comments following your stay. My staff and I look forward to being of service to you again the next time you visit our corner in paradise. Aloha and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Kahala Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Address: 5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kahala Hotel & Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kahala Hotel & Resort is Hawaii's reigning luxury resort, set on a secluded beach just ten minutes from the world class shopping and entertainment of Waikiki. This legendary hideaway resort in Honolulu's plush Kahala district is a favorite with presidents, international royalty and celebrities. From the moment you arrive, you will know that you are truly somewhere special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Amex, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The Kahala Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kahala Hotel And Resort
The Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Kahala Resort Honolulu
Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Mandarin Oriental Oahu
Kahala Hotel & Resort
Kahala Mandarin Oriental
The Kahala Hotel & Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kahala Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.