We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top luxury hotel for Honolulu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Kahala Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Top luxury hotel for Honolulu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012 via mobile

Top luxury hotel in secluded quiet location just a short ride to Honolulu private beach. Wonderful open air breakfast buffet. We stayed here twice it used to be a Mandarin Oriental. It changed management has slipped a little in service and wear but still very high quality. There are nicer resorts on other islands but if you have to stay on Oahu and want luxury stay here

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Resort, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Honolulu and for taking the time to send your comments. I was pleased to see that you had a good time and enjoyed our location and our guest services. My staff and I look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.
Aloha and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,133
    295
    110
    52
    44
See reviews for
519
769
38
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Heavy construction with all day jackhammering on veranda area weekdays and weekends with no sound barrier. No warning on web site. Heard rumor pool deck and pool itself next. Staff and food good as always but place seemed dingy and stingy; beautiful lobby flower arrangement gone, worn carpets with stains, stained lanai furniture with holes. Also pool heater not working entire 5 day visit! I was told they were "waiting for a part from the mainland"...Really? tried Fedex? So be ready for a 70* chilly dip. Also $25 fee to rent a beach umbrella and stingy measures like no welcoming chocolates or at turndowns, completely empty mini bar, and morning coffee service now ends at 7:30 am. I heard a guest ask at the breakfast buffet ($77.00 for 2) what happened to the macadamia nuts..I laughed.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Resort, Guest Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Aloha Seminar32678,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Kahala Hotel & Resort. While we were happy to hear you had a positive experience with our staff and dining outlets, it is with deep regret to hear your negative experience during the beautification of The Veranda. Rest assured, while we have recently upgraded the furniture by the pool, there is no pool renovation planned.
Should you wish to discuss your stay further, please reach out to me as your feedback is important to us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Warmest regards,
Flora Galla LaMontagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towaco
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

This hotel is in the perfect location. Picturesque. We watched the sunrise while eating breakfast & it was spectacular. The decor & service were fantastic. The bed was comfortable & uo to date. Very clean. I give this hotel 4.5 stars. Only disappointment was the recommendation from the concierge for dinner off property. Wasn't worth the trip.

Room Tip: Dolphin rooms are in perfect location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Resort, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send your comments following your recent stay at our resort. I was delighted to see that you had a good time and enjoyed our secluded location and guest services. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back sometime soon. Aloha and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchorage
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We have been coming here for years and have always thought that the Kahala set the bar for outstanding customer service. I dont know if it was new management or what, but the quality and service have really gone down hill.
My wife and I came over for an 8 day visit and ended up changing hotels because we were so disapointed with the spirit and service from the staff at the Kahala. we are really sorry to see this happen, we used to love to escape to the Kahala.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Resort, Guest Relations Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Aloha 012050,
Thank you for your continued patronage of The Kahala Hotel & Resort over the years and for taking the time to review your most recent stay. We sincerely regret to note your disappointment with your experience as we strive to offer all of our guests The Kahala Magic that we are known for. We hope to get in touch to discuss the details of your stay and look forward the opportunity to restore your faith in our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

My husband and I started going to the Kahala on our honeymoon and go back about once a year. We love the privacy, luxury, and slower place while still being so close to the action of Waikiki. I even went alone this year when just needing a week get away. Love their breakfast buffet near the beach. Wonderful food at all restaurants. Top of the line spa services as well. Can't say enough about how much we love the Kahala, but be prepared to pay a heavy price for the experience on average about 1k per night for a beachfront suite. But it's worth it and we will continue to go back for years to come.

Room Tip: Go for the beachfront lanai or a dolphin lagoon wing room. Dolphin lagoon rooms have less of a beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Resort, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
I was delighted to see how much you enjoyed your most recent stay with us. We always try to provide a pleasant and comfortable experience for our guests, and thank you for selecting our resort again. As you know, we offer many room categories, and our Beach Front Suite is very popular. Looking forward to welcoming you back on many future occasions. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

This is a most elegant and peaceful hotel. The customer service can't be beat. The rooms are clean and well organized. It's a tad bit seculde from Waikiki, but that's the point. You definitevely need a car. The Kahala mall is a 5 minute drive away. The hotel's private beach is fantastic. There are dolphins in the hotel and you can see a manta ray too. The breafast is superb! It's very expensive.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Resort, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Honolulu and for taking the time to send your feedback. It was a pleasure having you with us, and I was delighted to see that you had a good time and enjoyed our guest services. My staff and I look forward to welcoming you back to our resort sometime soon. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

It took us a long time to choose a hotel for our stay in Oahu as there are really not many 5 star hotels and hotels that are not overcrowded with families. We finally settled on the Kahala after reading many good reviews and we were so happy with our choice. It is understated elegance, quiet private beach, upscale restaurant(5 star) and excellent service. Our room was lovely and our whole experience was worth the long flight.

Room Tip: Top floor ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Kahala_Resort, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for sending your comments following your recent visit. I was delighted to see that you had a good time and enjoyed our services and our secluded beach. My staff and I look forward to welcoming you back to our resort the next time you visit Honolulu. Aloha and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kahala Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Address: 5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kahala Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kahala Hotel & Resort is Hawaii's reigning luxury resort, set on a secluded beach just ten minutes from the world class shopping and entertainment of Waikiki. This legendary hideaway resort in Honolulu's plush Kahala district is a favorite with presidents, international royalty and celebrities. From the moment you arrive, you will know that you are truly somewhere special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LHW, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Kahala Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kahala Hotel And Resort
The Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Kahala Resort Honolulu
Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Mandarin Oriental Oahu
Kahala Hotel & Resort
Kahala Mandarin Oriental
The Kahala Hotel & Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kahala Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.