We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Morning Dives” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Divers Hawaii

Island Divers Hawaii
377 Keahole Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96825
1-888-844-3483
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 355 Activities in Honolulu
Type: Water sports, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Island Divers is a 5 Star PADI IDC Facility with a marina based full service dive center in Hawaii Kai from which two of our four vessels depart. Two other shops are located on military installations with pool training facilities. We pride ourselves on having the best facilities and dive boats on the island with a friendly and professional staff.
Sugar Hill GA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Morning Dives”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The DMs on our morning dives were fun and did their best to help us find a lot of marine life. Unfortunately, the reefs were very bleached out so there wasn't any color but playing with an octopus during the day more than made up for that!!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    25
    7
    9
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Dive Shop In Hawaii”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I'm going to keep this short. Island Divers is the only company I will dive with in Hawaii. I was treated like a VIP the first phone call I made to book my dives until I was dropped off back at my hotel. Jeff set me up with everything I needed. Marc, our guide, was a true professional, giving thorough dive briefs and guiding us while still allowing us to explore on our own. The boat was HUGE and there was Hot Chocolate, Pineapple, and even hot mint towels at the end of the day. The Captain and crew were attentive and helped us plan other activities for our stay. I can't wait to go back. I'm already saving up and getting some friends together for the next trip. It was the highlight of my Hawaiian vacation.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Post Falls, Idaho
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Go with island divers if you enjoy the rape of the natural world.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Booked a dive with island divers, disorganized and crowded since they had 6 additional 'off duty staff' on board. Under the water one of their staff yanked an octopus off the reef and shook him around a bit until he released his ink, another kicked a turtle in the face while he was trying to swim past it through a tiny keyhole in the rocks and the third staff member sat inside the corsair cockpit and took his mask off, swinging it around like a cowboy. If you want a company who is organized and whose staff actually respects the majesty of the reef from which they make their living, go with Dive Oahu.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitimat, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Three tank Sunday dive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My first time diving in Hawaii was a three tank Sunday dive. Two deep wrecks and drift dive. The first was the YO-275, the second was Sea Tiger and finally a drift along Fantasy Reef.
The visibility was less than perfect, but no fault of the dive shop. They have a casual and friendly manner, but are as professional as any other shop I have dived with. That being said they gave the more advanced divers a chance to buddy up and dive to their full capabilities, and not be limited to the more novice if the group. Numerous times with other dives, I have had to come up when the more novice runs low on air, and still have well over half a tank. I am not dissing novice divers, as I was one also. But being able to fully use my air and bottom times made a world of difference and I did notice Matt or Max always around when we were exploring the wrecks.
I will dive with this shop again.
I didn't give it a five because of the lower than usual visibility.
Thanks to Matt for the photos, Max for the humor, and the boat captain Joe for a Sunday that was a pleasant, relaxed and fulfilling day

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly people. Great atmosphere on the boat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Went diving with divemasters Larry, Mark and Amy, and boat captain Kendal. We had good briefings from Larry before diving. Staff was helpful and friendly. We had fun! They accomodated us as we had our 4 month-old baby traveling with us (they let my husband and baby come onboard on my diving day). We had a great day. Would have appreciate to learn a little more about the way to use the provided computer before diving. I recommend this diveshop.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Divers Hawaii also viewed

 

Been to Island Divers Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Divers Hawaii, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.