We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Legendary Gay Bar with a Diamond Head View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hula's Bar & Lei Stand

Hula's Bar & Lei Stand
134 Kapahulu Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-4014 (Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis)
+1 808-923-0669
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #169 of 1,789 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
Philadelphia,PA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Legendary Gay Bar with a Diamond Head View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

While the Mai Tai's leave room for improvement, the price is right.
Pitchers of drinks go for less than others charge for pitchers of beer. Long happy hour - 11AM - 9PM. Friendly staff.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    39
    16
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Always a fun place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Sure, it's on the second floor of an older hotel, but what fantastic views it has to offer. Hula's is sort of an institution in Waikiki. The location is less then a block from the beach with stunning views of the park, Diamond Head and Waikiki Beach. When I went there the bar tender could not any friendlier to me and chatted a bit with me which I appreciated. I went there on Saturday afternoon around 3:30P thinking it would be dead, but it was quite busy. As the time passed the place got busy with boys coming in after the beach. Waiters were cute young twinks, but the crowd was mixed with younger guys, mature guys, tourist and a few women. I always have a good time there and would definitely go back. Drinks prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Hard to find”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were told about this bar by a couple of friends that travel to Hawaii each year. It took us quite a while to find the bar with the directions that we were given by our waiter at the Hard Rock. It's on the second level of a hotel FYI. We did go on a Wednesday night, so I can understand the 6 people who were there and not being very busy. It's got great decor, however the really off putting thing was the barman. They had a special up with said Kettle One Wells 5 Dollars. When we asked him what a kettle one well was his answer was "ummm a kettle one well", even when he asked him for more information he treated us like we should have known. After all that Kettle One is a type of Vodka and well means similar to house vodka. I just wish we could have gone on a Friday or a Saturday night as this may have been a completely different review.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“a treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Super friendly staff and the best mai tais around. Various drink specials each day at a great value. I will miss my nightly bar visit almost as much as the beach itself! I highly reccommend stopping here.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great view, great drinks, fun gays:)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

went for some amazing and very reasonably priced drinks. Justin was a great bartender and super friendly. Worth i

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hula's Bar & Lei Stand also viewed

 

Been to Hula's Bar & Lei Stand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hula's Bar & Lei Stand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.