We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst double deck tour ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Trolley

Waikiki Trolley
3015 Koapaka St. Suite F, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96817
808 591 2561
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #120 of 281 activities in Honolulu
Type: Transportation, Public Transportation Systems
Activities: Group tours/bus tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Welcome to Waikiki Trolley! Where you can relive the glory days of Honolulu when streetcars and trolleys carried people all through town, and experience Hawaii the old style way in our open air trolleys! Enjoy the romance of polished brass, smooth wood, and the breeze in your hair as you explore the town.The Pink Line is your transportation all through Waikiki and over to Ala Moana Shopping Center. These Trolleys operate every 10 minutes for fast, easy, inexpensive transportation at just $2.00 per trip.The Red Line is a fully narrated guided sightseeing tour through Waikiki, downtown Honolulu, Chinatown and points in between. This leisurely schedule allows you to hop off at any spot to explore and then catch the next Trolley to resume your tour approximately 40 minutes later.The Green Line is also a fully narrated guided sightseeing tour and heads off in the opposite direction visiting spots in Waikiki, the Honolulu Zoo, the Aquarium, Diamond Head, along the scenic coast and off to Kahala Mall for shopping and movies. Hop on and off wherever you like! Our waikikitrolley website lists information on passes for all lines including multi-day combo passes for unlimited access on all three lines. Special discounts apply to on line purchases, but tickets can also be purchased at ticket booths at DFS shopping center and Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center. Tickets can also be purchased on board each Trolley or from most tour desks throughout Waikiki. A fun new offering from Waikiki Trolleys is the addition of complimentary walking tours with any red line trolley ticket. The Honolulu 1941 tour walks you back to the war years for a look at life in Honolulu, what the island did to get ready, and the life of a sailor on liberty, with a peek into the infamous red light district of the time. The tour is Monday, Wednesday and Friday, 9:15, 11:15, and 1:15 at the Aloha Tower Trolley stop. Waikiki Trolleys - Powered by Aloha!
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Worst double deck tour ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

When traveling to a new city I like to take the double deck tours because they are generally informative and entertaining. So why not in Honolulu? We chose the Waikiki Trolley for our tour of the city and were terribly disappointed. First thing we noticed the escort only sells tickets and counts heads. The driver narrated the tour, in my opinion that makes little sense since the driver should be paying undivided attention to driving. Leave the talking to the escort. Secondly the tour was blasé! Then there was our second driver on this hop on hop off joke, He had the speakers blaring like a rock concert. When my wife went down to ask the volume be lowered (something the so called escort should have done) he mocked her over the speaker by saying "can you hear me now lady" without lowering the volume. He continued to ramble incoherently, I had to remove my hearing aids because the sound was so loud. At one point he talked about the fireworks display over the Hilton Village on Fridays and how enjoyable but brief it is when on pot. He announce the Moana Surfrider stop as the "Marijuana Surfrider", we began to wonder if he was on the wacky weed. I reported it to the company and they seemed sympathetic. The woman at the counter talked about a refund (which I had not asked for) but after 20 minutes one was not forthcoming. Maybe that is why there are only a handful of people on their buses when other companies were running close to capacity.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean N, Director of Business Development at Waikiki Trolley, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
OK, lets take this point by point… You rode on a line that we had just converted from a trolley to a double decker, so yes, there were a couple glitches…The Customer Service Rep is there to do two things. First, sell tickets so that you don’t have to go to our ticket booths at DFS or Royal Hawaiian Center. Second, they are there for your safety. They may not leave that upper deck while the vehicle is in motion.
Next, ALL tour drivers in Hawaii narrate. Its simply the way its always been done, and they are quite skilled at talking and driving at the same time. (Rather like a soccer mom with a van full of kids!) One of our competitors uses a tape, but we don’t think that's the best way to go.
So if you have live narration, sometimes things can get a bit strange… like when the narrator isn’t quite as funny as he thinks he is. (But I’m working on them with that!) Sometimes its difficult for people to comprehend that what they and their friends find funny, may not be as funny to other people – or may even come across as rude. (How many women out there think that their hubbies aren’t as funny as they think they are? I assure you he wasn't “on the wacky weed!” All of out drivers have commercial drivers licenses, they had to pass a drug test to get hired, and must undergo random testing while employed with us. (We have a zero-tolerance policy) The driver in question would like to offer you an apology for the part he played in giving you a less than favorable impression of our company.
Currently, all of our employees are undergoing enhanced customer service training and all driver/narrators are being supplied with new information to make their tours even better than ever!
Oh, and all those other vehicles you mentioned that you think have more passengers than us? Well, the majority of those vehicles are ours! We private charter lines for many different companies.
Please contact me the next time you’re in town, I’d like to have you ride on another one of our Double Decker Tours. I think you will change your opinion about us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    130
    75
    26
    47
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Tourist fun”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The trolley is fun to take for a short trip or two, but expensive to use as regular transport, particularly for a family. Most places in the Waikiki area are walkable if you're staying in a central hotel. We caught the trolley to and from the Ala Moana shopping centre, and the kids enjoyed looking out the open-air sides. We didn't have to wait long one way, but had about a 20-minute wait going home (one trolley only went to the DFS Galleria). The driver announced upcoming stops, so you knew where to get off.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st louis, mo
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Better than TheBus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We had originally booked the aloha bus through groupon, however when we arrived in Honolulu and called aloha bus to see where we needed to catch it at they informed us that the aloha bus went out of business in April. I was so very frustrated. We ended up purchasing a 7 day hop on hop off trolley pass which allowed us to get on the Red line, Green line, or the Pink line. The Red line took you on a tour of the city, the green line took you to Diamond Head tour and the Pink line did all the way from waikiki to Ala Moana Shopping center. This was very good! the frustrating parts were the wait. The Pink line was supposed to be every 10 minutes - IT WASN"T... It was sometimes 20 minutes or so. The other frustrating part is that the trolleys were very crowded at times and they would not let you on and then you had to wait even longer. If you don't mind waiting this was the way to get around! We tried TheBus a few times and quickly learned our lesson... :-)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“An open air fun way to see the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We bought the green line trolley ticket which also included a pink line ticket. The ticket is valid all day (or you can buy multi day passes)

We spent the morning heading up to Diamond Head, then back to Waikiki. Both our drivers were funny, repeating information in english and japanese, and knowledgable. They made sure to point out lots of interesting points and even stopped at some major sights. Our trolleys were never packed and seemed to run on a regular basis.

After lunch we hopped on the pink line bus to the major shopping mall in Waikiki. Less trolley and more double decker to deal with the hordes of tourists to the shopping centres. Quick to easy to and from our hotel.

The only thing to note is that unless you get on the bus at the major ticket spots or online prior, you need to pay either with credit card or have exact change.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALIFORNIA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great and cheap way to see Honolulu and Waikiki”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The Pink Line which is their shopping line is the best one they offer. Don't bother with the Historic one; which is too expensive for what they offer. If you want that, book another tour with a different company. For just $2 one way (just make sure you have exact change as that is all they accept!) you can get the Pink Line which makes numerous stops and is usually on time. It is true that it is sometimes overcrowded but they can't help this since they don't know how many people will ride. They let as much people as they can on in order to avoid having you wait for another one. It usually empties pretty fast seeing as in almost every stop, people get off and less people get on. We really enjoyed it during our week stay in Waikiki, especially since the closest stop to our hotel was 1 short block away. Better than the bus and much cheaper than renting a car.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waikiki Trolley also viewed

 

Been to Waikiki Trolley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Trolley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Waikiki Trolley to your Saves list