We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular view, absolutely breathtaking.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond Head State Monument

Diamond Head State Monument
18th Ave., Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
808-587-0300
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$14*
and up
Diamond Head Package
Ranked #3 of 254 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: A dormant volcano crater.
Rotonda West, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Spectacular view, absolutely breathtaking.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

It's definitely a "hike" but well worth getting to see the view. I would suggest going first thing in the morning to avoid the afternoon heat. Wear sunscreen because there's not much shade. Definitely bring a camera.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Skippysmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Diamond Head!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is a wonderful hike with spectacular views! The hike is not too long, but it can be strenuous, as it is pretty steep towards the end. Take your time, and rest if you need to. Bring good shoes, sunscreen, plenty of water, and of course, your camera. Once you reach the top, you will be rewarded with a nice breeze and amazing views!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Diamond Head view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Famous sight worth the effort to climb up there...unique view I could even meditate or go back in time imagining when the Japanese attacked....

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jose D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walker, Louisiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth the hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We started up and was glad we picked this tour it is a good hike but when you get to the top you will be glad you did the View is Breath Taking.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Get there early”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Our family had climbed Diamondhead 20 years ago, but wanted to try it again with our granddaughter. No luck this time. By 9:30 am the parking lot was filled and arrivals were turned awy to try to fiind parking at the base of the hill which would have added two miles or so to the trek. We will know better next time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diamond Head State Monument also viewed

 

Been to Diamond Head State Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing