We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular view, absolutely breathtaking.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond Head

Diamond Head
Diamond Head Road at 18th Ave., Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
808-587-0300
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Small Group
$32*
and up
Diamond Head Crater Small Group Adventure
Ranked #5 of 281 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Hiking, Wind-surfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: A dormant volcano crater.
Rotonda West, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Spectacular view, absolutely breathtaking.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

It's definitely a "hike" but well worth getting to see the view. I would suggest going first thing in the morning to avoid the afternoon heat. Wear sunscreen because there's not much shade. Definitely bring a camera.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,725
    2,934
    545
    61
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 attraction reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Diamond Head!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is a wonderful hike with spectacular views! The hike is not too long, but it can be strenuous, as it is pretty steep towards the end. Take your time, and rest if you need to. Bring good shoes, sunscreen, plenty of water, and of course, your camera. Once you reach the top, you will be rewarded with a nice breeze and amazing views!!!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Diamond Head view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Famous sight worth the effort to climb up there...unique view I could even meditate or go back in time imagining when the Japanese attacked....

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walker, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 attraction reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Worth the hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We started up and was glad we picked this tour it is a good hike but when you get to the top you will be glad you did the View is Breath Taking.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 attraction reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Get there early”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Our family had climbed Diamondhead 20 years ago, but wanted to try it again with our granddaughter. No luck this time. By 9:30 am the parking lot was filled and arrivals were turned awy to try to fiind parking at the base of the hill which would have added two miles or so to the trek. We will know better next time.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Diamond Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamond Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.