We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for the faint of spirit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond Head

Diamond Head
Diamond Head Road at 18th Ave., Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
808-587-0300
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Diamond Head like an insider
Small Group
$32*
and up
Diamond Head Crater Small Group Adventure
Ranked #5 of 264 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Wind-surfing, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: A dormant volcano crater.
RIVERSIDE, CA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Not for the faint of spirit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

No joke, this is not a super difficult hike but it is strenuous. I over 65 but I made it! Bring water and by all means wear comfortable shoes and clothing. Shorts or slacks are a better choice than a skirt. Also I saw many people in dress shoes -- leave the Johnston Murphy's in your hotel room -- were tennis shoes. Take some water. Take a small camera -- take your time.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,322
    2,700
    504
    59
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maple Park, IL
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A must visit but a lot of hiking/walking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is a must visit. It was great though a lot of elderly folks seemed to have a bit of a hard time with all of the walking and stairs. Once you get to the top, the view was fantastic. You can take a bus from Waikiki.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton New Jersey
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A wonderful view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

A great way to get some exercise and see the city. Wear a hat and walking shoes - not flipflops. Go early before it gets hot. take the bus from the hotel or a car.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Definitely worth doing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

It is a bit of a hike, but then again, my 6-year old daughter made it without a problem. Lots of stairs in the end, going inside an old military installation (used to be a fire control station for artillery).
Once on the top, incredible views of the island and the ocean (see the pictures). Definitely worth doing.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The view is worth the hike!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Try to get to Diamond Head early in the day, as parking is very limited. You may have to wait until another visitor vacates a parking spot. I think there was a nominal fee for entrance. Take your time on the hike up - it's not a race. The beginning is a little deceiving - it's paved, but quickly changes to a rocky trail, narrow at some points. At one point near the top, there is an alternate, easier route marked (yes, we took that one) which ultimately leads you to the same observation area. Wear comfortable, closed-toe walking shoes and take a bottle of water - you’ll need it – and a camera. There are breathtaking views from atop Diamond Head! Every time I see it on Hawaii 5-0 I think "I hiked up that!" Be sure to use the restroom before you go, because there are no facilities until you get back down. There are some picnic tables on the grounds at the base, so you can enjoy a shave ice when you return. Definitely something I'll remember forever!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diamond Head also viewed

 

Been to Diamond Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamond Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.