We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aussies' on holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond Head

Diamond Head
Diamond Head Road at 18th Ave., Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
808-587-0300
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #10 of 161 Attractions in Honolulu
Type: Volcanos, Hiking Trails, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Geologic Formations, Parks, Trails, Beaches
Activities: Hiking, Wind-surfing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: A dormant volcano crater.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Aussies' on holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

It was an easy but long walk to the top of the crater, but well worth it. The views from the top were exceptional. All for $1, which goes towards the upkeep.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,001 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,339
    2,186
    410
    48
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nor Cal
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Nice Hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I've read a lot of reviews stating that this is an easy hike. I'd have to disagree. We hike all the time and I found this to be rather difficult. Its all up hill. The path is rocky and your fighting a thousand other people. We come from a cold climate and the humidity of Oahu kicked our butts while doing this hike. Make sure you go early to beat the crowds. We went at 8am and had no problems going up but at 9 when we came back down the trail was packed this people headed up.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Do the hike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Unless you have a heart condition, this is a must-do for visitors to Oahu. The views of the south coast of Oahu, when you finally make it to the top, are breath-taking. It's a real slog to the top of the crater rim, but the effort is worth it. You'll get plenty of comraderie from your huffing and puffing colleagues struggling to the top. Of course, there are the fitness freaks who race their way up, but just ignore them; they are missing the joy of the journey. Wear good walking/hiking shoes and bring a large bottle of water and some snacks. It takes a good two hours to make your way up.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Bring Water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The hike up the crater can be a little difficult for seniors (over age 60). Make sure you bring water, and wear sneakers. The other 4 people that I was with, made it to the top, after stopping numerous times to rest a bit. I did not make the last 25% of the trail. That was where the steps began. I sat at one of the lookouts, to wait for my friends to return,and I made a lot of friends that day. Most people stop there for taking pictures. The view is spectacular. I highly recommend this awesome natural wonder.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Average Town, USA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great Hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is an excellent hike. The view is well worth the effort. Like most things in Hawaii I recommend going early. The trail gets more crowded as the morning goes on, and the viewpoints can get pretty crowded. This is not a beginners hike, though the trail is well defined/improved, and as long as one takes their time I think most people can do it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diamond Head also viewed

 

Been to Diamond Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamond Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.