We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keeping Fit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond Head

Diamond Head
Diamond Head Road at 18th Ave., Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
808-587-0300
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Small Group
$32*
and up
Diamond Head Crater Small Group Adventure
Ranked #9 of 123 Attractions in Honolulu
Type: Beaches, Geologic Formations, Parks, Hiking Trails, Trails, Volcanos, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Outdoors
Activities: Wind-surfing, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: A dormant volcano crater.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Keeping Fit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We did the hike up Diamond Head, what a great view once you get to the top. I would definately recommend going early it gets quite warm and busy. The walk is hard but not too hard.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,636
    2,330
    439
    51
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wear your tennis shoes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was a cool place to hike and see the views from the top, but I couldn't believe ladies were doing this in sandals. Some people didn't even have a water bottle. There are a lot of steps to go up fyi and nothing at the top to quench your thirst so we were lucky we had water bottles. Glad we did it for the pictures and the memory.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Short hike with fantastic views from the top!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We hiked up the Diamond Head in around 45 minutes, walking at a steady but not hurried pace.

The hike although steep in places is not difficult and the views from the top are great. Remember to take plenty of water.

There are restrooms at the start of the walk as well as a shave ice van!

Worth the couple of hours it took, to see Waikiki from a different angle.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Interesting site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We took the Waikiki Trolley to tour the Diamond Head area. The price was right at $2.00. It took approximately an hour, but you could also get off at diamond head and walk around, taking a later trolley back.
The crater itself is a site to behold.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Diamond Head worth a visit !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My Wife and I walked from the Wakiki Beach area to DiamondHead and up to the top of DiamondHead as well. Very nice attraction and the view from the Top is great. The bottom/entrance to DiamondHead is a big crater so you need to climb it to appreciate it...... Cost is $1.00 per person and Cab/Taxi service is there. Hawaii 5-0 Cab is my recommendation. Dave Hardy is a great guy ! Very knowledgeable about the Area and what to do.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diamond Head also viewed

 

Been to Diamond Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamond Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.