We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A morning workout with a view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond Head

Diamond Head
Diamond Head Road at 18th Ave., Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
808-587-0300
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #9 of 159 Attractions in Honolulu
Type: Volcanos, Hiking Trails, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Geologic Formations, Parks, Trails, Beaches
Activities: Hiking, Wind-surfing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: A dormant volcano crater.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“A morning workout with a view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We got there early, as recommended by other reviewers and it was already pretty warm. I was stunned how many people were doing this in their sandals and even heels! I was glad I wore sneakers and workout gear. Even though this is a short hike, it is steep and parts of the trail are a little rugged. The views at the top are fantastic and the breeze cooled us down for the walk back down. I think it only took about an hour and it was definitely worth it. Definitely take water and your camera.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,790 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,204
    2,122
    398
    48
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LAWRENCEBURG
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A MUST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Make sure you are in good shape physically if you take this walk up Diamond Head and the trail leads straight up to hundreds of steep steps. But if you are able to do it, go for it because the views from the top are breathtaking! Wear comfortable shoes and take plenty of water.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Diamond Head Death March”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We hiked up and can say we did the Diamond Head Death March. Average time is 1.5 hours, we accomplished our mission in 70 minutes. It was pretty hot, so we were all a sweaty mess by the time we got back to the car. Be sure to bring some water.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Great View.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Hike is more strenous then they apply. Go early before the crowds and heat of day.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very cool views and a healthy hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Might be a bit intimidating at first, but unless you've got serious health concerns, you'll make it up and down okay. Saw 65+ yr olds making the hike, and my 8yr and 5yr old girls didn't miss step. Maybe better to go early before it warms up and gets a little more crowded. Some great views near the peak.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diamond Head also viewed

 

Been to Diamond Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamond Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.