We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pearl Harbor / WW II Valor in the Pacific National Monument
1 Arizona Memorial Place, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96818
808-422-3300
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$363*
and up
Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and...
Ranked #36 of 653 Attractions in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Gold Coast, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Well worth seeing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

They have heaps going on all the time and can see a short film or go and have a look around. Very busy though so I would book into things you want to do early else you will have to wait the whole day just to do it and will waste a lot of time

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,953
    1,075
    284
    37
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“This place has changed and for the better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

They have really made this attraction nice since the last time I was there years ago. The museums are so much more comprehensive and the grounds there are so beautiful now. This is an incredibly moving site and you really should not visit Oahu without going here. It is quite a process to get a tour time if you are not a part of a formal tour group (which I never am). We missed going a few years ago because you have to get there very early in the morning to get your tickets for later in the day. I think the tickets you get then are free. I recommend getting tickets online and those are $7 each.They become available about six months ahead of time and you need to get them then because they fill up. I say "about" because I set a calendar reminder for myself 6 months out and they weren't available and I had to keep checking until our dates showed up. Also, when they say you can't bring bags in to the attraction at all, they are not kidding. So, leave your bag in the car, or be willing to check it in there before you can go in. You will not regret any hoops you have to jump through to visit Pearl Harbor. It is worth all of it and more.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Give yourself time to experience Pearl Harbor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is a "free" attraction in Honolulu, but you must book your tickets well in advance if you want to visit the USS Arizona which is an experience in itself. I did not plan ahead well enough so there were no more tickets available during our week on Oahu so I booked a tour through Oahu Nature Tours.
I could have spent more time that what was allotted here touring the grounds, the two museums, talking to a "survivor" who was there the day I attended. I didn't have enough time to tour the inside of the Bowfin. If you don't have tickets in advance, go very early, line up for your USS Arizona ticket. You will find plenty of interesting stuff to see, watch, read and do while waiting. Definitely a sobering and intense experience. Certainly not to be missed during your Hawaii visit.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“A fine memorial.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Pearl Harbour was one of our ‘must do’s’ & my goodness this is a fine memorial to a truly terrible event. You have to experience it to understand everything. The staff are all so informative & helpful. The driver was also so informative both to Pearl Harbour & on the return which included a good trip around Honolulu involving numerous views & sights e.g. King Kamehameha statue, Diamond Head, Aloha Stadium, Imperial Palace & the unforgettable National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific. A truly thought provoking day with some excellent sights of the City at the end.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

No trip to the island of Oahu is complete without a visit to Pearl Harbor, specifically the USS Arizona memorial. There are several museum style displays, educational theater showings, and several other things to see before or after you go out to the memorial. You reach the location of the ill-fated, tragically lost Arizona via ferryboat. Once there, there is no rush on the memorial. You can stay as long as you would like (within park hours of course) to take it all in. It is by far the most solemn place I've ever been. There is just seems to be a heaviness of sadness hanging in the air and rightfully so, given her history and why you are there. There is a gift shop and a small café with drinks and small snacks/light lunch items I believe (we didn't stop at the café so don't hold me to that). Overall, the entire site is very well taken care of and a definite must see!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearl Harbor / WW II Valor in the Pacific National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Pearl Harbor / WW II Valor in the Pacific National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pearl Harbor / WW II Valor in the Pacific National Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.