We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must-see for all visitors to Oahu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pearl Harbor / WW II Valor in the Pacific National Monument

Pearl Harbor / WW II Valor in the Pacific National Monument
1 Arizona Memorial Place, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96818
808-422-3300
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$118*
and up
World War II Pearl Harbor Heroes Adventure Tour
Ranked #3 of 123 Attractions in Honolulu
Type: Historic Sites, Military Bases/ Facilities, Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A must-see for all visitors to Oahu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was a very moving and informative monument to those who died in the attack on Pearl Harbor. It acknowledges the pressures on both sides that came to a head in the attack, as well as the hardship endured by those with Japanese heritage living in Hawaii.

Tips: Make sure you get a headset for the audio tour. Additionally, use the restroom prior to watching the video program because you will take a boat to the USS Arizona monument immediately after, and there are no toilets available once you go into the movie theater.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,948 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,648
    982
    265
    32
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Day Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is a whole day trip if you wish to see all of the attractions. We took public transport from Waikiki on bus 42 and it took about an hour to arrive. The bus-stop is right out front of the museum. We arrived at about eight-thirty, around mid-morning it starts to get extremely busy. The Arizona tour is very moving and the movie gives a lot of history. Some of the static displays are a bit confronting but they really give you an idea of the horror that was endured. The tour of the USS Missouri was very fascinating, our guide was extremely knowledgable. The Pacific Aviation Museum is another attraction you can visit, spread over 2 hangars. Most of the exhibits you can get close enough to touch but not enter. The flight simulators are a bit dated so don't get too excited. Definitely worth seeing as much of the whole complex as you can.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Memorable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

A must. Get the Pearl Harbor Passport, which gives you access to all the memorials and includes individual audio guides. $50.00 for adults, $30.00 for kids.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A full day tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We took one of the huge Robert's buses, and there were only about 16 of us. It is well worth spending a full day there, and I especially enjoyed going through the submarine and visiting the aviation museums. By all means order the "lunch", for it includes reserved seating in the cafeteria and table service.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordova, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“More than you can imagine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Once your there, it's indescribable. You think you know what to expect, but you can't fully comprehend it until you're standing there. We made a day of Peal Harbor, with our Arizona tour coming at noon. Unfortunately, due to high winds mid-day, the Admiral closed the harbor after we had watched the film, so we had to come back another day to see the Memorial. It was frustrating, but ok, we finished out the rest of the sights at the Harbor. The Arizona is free, but due to the popularity of it, you can't spend much time at the Memorial. Get their early (6-6:30am) to wait for limited tickets as its first come first serve). On our return visit, we were allotted roughly 15 minutes at the Memorial, if you count the boat ride there and back. That was disheartening as you could definitely stay longer. The movie and museum were great at filling in gaps and perspectives from all sides, and they taught us a few things that school textbooks don't teach. It's a must see.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearl Harbor / WW II Valor in the Pacific National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Pearl Harbor / WW II Valor in the Pacific National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pearl Harbor / WW II Valor in the Pacific National Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.