We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“USS Arizona tickets were out at 7.15 am” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pearl Harbor / WW II Valor in the Pacific National Monument

Pearl Harbor / WW II Valor in the Pacific National Monument
1 Arizona Memorial Place, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96818
808-422-3300
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #2 of 155 attractions in Honolulu
Type: Historic Sites, Military Bases/ Facilities, Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Spring Lake, Michigan
1 review
“USS Arizona tickets were out at 7.15 am”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I am not a tour bus fan and booked our own day trip from Maui with Adventuremaui.com with first flight in the am and rental car. I was told that everybody had to stay in line and chances for tickets are same for everyone. But a light should have come on when they suggested that I might want to make reservations on a website that is always booked out or not available. Don't get me wrong, the trip was great and the memorial is really touching and awesome even without the trip to the Arizona. But you are better of going with an organized tour from Maui, if you want to visit the USS Arizona memorial. The tours did not wait in line and had their tickets in advance. A park employee told me that the tours have this all booked up and make the reservations months in advance, for a memorial that is supposed to be free. We also talked to people who had just booked the day trip that week and they also got on the Arizona and all the other exhibitions, but they didn't leave Maui until 8.30 am. We had to get up at 4 am to get to our first flight to Honolulu. I would hate to see this happening to a veteran who really needs to visit this!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,107
    828
    226
    28
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
kiwi in Paris
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Caught the 42 bus and were concerned that we didn't have tickets but still worth doing as the other museums were very good. The bus took 45mm from Ala Mona centre which was pretty good and cost 2.50. I would recommend booking ahead to get tickets to the memorial and then catch the bus to save big dollars.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pearl Harbor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Very interesting and truly touching experience. I didn't really know much of the history of what happened at Pearl Harbor but the informative and interesting displays were amazing. Well worth a visit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
1 review
“Pearl Harbor, Punchbowl Cemetery, Battleship Missouri & Downtown Honolulu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was the most amazing tour! Keith Fujikawa(sp?) was an excellent tour guide and we weren't expecting to visit the Punchbowl until he drove there! The tour of Pearl Harbor and Arizona was awesome and Keith gave us all the good tips about where to sit for best photos, etc. It was gain, very amazing!

In addition to our awesome guide on Oahu, we actually were confused about where our Mokulele Airlines flight departed from Maui to Oahu and erroneously drove to Kahalui airport (from Kapalua) for our flight rather than to the West Maui airport. Tiffany, of Discover Hawaii was so awesome - we called her immediately after recognizing the error and she phoned the West Maui Airport and Mokulele airlines to let them know we would be almost 45 minutes late for check in! The staff of Mokulele Airlines and the West Maui Airport were amazing! They delayed the flight for us so we could catch it. If it weren't for Tiffany we would have wasted almost $900 and never had the opportunity to experience Pearl Harbor! Thank you so much Tiffany and Discover Hawaii Tours! We will definitely be calling on you again. - G & L Frus (Olympia, WA)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
2 reviews
“A MUST SEE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The park service did a great job, it is a moving place and a must see to anyone. The park rangers are knowledgeable and the boat ride is a kick, but being over the ship in the memerioal is a moving moment.......

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearl Harbor / WW II Valor in the Pacific National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Pearl Harbor / WW II Valor in the Pacific National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pearl Harbor / WW II Valor in the Pacific National Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pearl Harbor / WW II Valor in the Pacific National Monument to your Saves list