We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a tasty meal away from the beach ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond Head Market & Grill

Diamond Head Market & Grill
3158 Monsarrat Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
(808) 732-0077
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 1,987 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“For a tasty meal away from the beach ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Located on Monserrat Avenue, mauka (inland) from Waikiki, Diamond Head Market offers delicious meals and fresh baked goods for pick up. Being away from the bustle of Waikiki, the prices are reasonable and the atmosphere unpretentious. Diners can enjoy their meals on picnic benches in front of the restaurant or take them to go.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    127
    23
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Healthy & Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch after walking down from Diamond Head. Really friendly staff and a number of fresh and healthy options. Shared a meal with my girlfriend that was more then enough for the both of us. Nice to have this option as we don't have places like this back home.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“All Hype”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Nothing special. Too many birds and the grill area is dirty. This is a bus stop area. Save your money and eat someplace else rather than the parking lot. The ahi portion was small and the ribs were fatty. Waste of time and money.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Pop in for some deliciousness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

One caprese salad, lamb sandwich, garlic artichoke dip with taro chips, and a blueberry scone later- my sweetie and I are sold on this market! Gourmet sandwiches, soups, salads, mini entrees, desserts, wine- they have it all, beautifully prepared with super friendly staff. The tables outside where full so we ate in the car and it didn't diminish the taste of any of our lunch. Already dreaming about the carrot cake for the next trip...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Mahalo for discount!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Diamond Head Grill is a quaint little place with outdoor food counter. Outdoor seating along the sidewalk makes it easy to decide on seating! ^_~

Have been here a few times once on a "date" and once with my kids. Each visit was easy and tasty! We had the Kalbi ribs and the Teri chicken plates. All food scarfed down in minutes with no requests for seconds. NOT because it wasn't ono, but because it was JUST the right amount of food.
LOVE the option for white or brown rice, Plantation Ice tea...MUST HAVE!

Each time I noticed the sign offering military discount and immediately took advantage of the 20% off they give to active duty members. Truly appreciated as it's not often seen...let alone advertised without having to ask.

Service is good...friendly and direct. Get the order in and move over! LoL.

I would reccommend to anyone happening by!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diamond Head Market & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Diamond Head Market & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamond Head Market & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.