We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Verde Canyon Railroad

Verde Canyon Railroad
300 North Broadway, Clarkdale, AZ 86324
800-293-7245
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 12 things to do in Clarkdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/train, Viewing wildlife, Viewing foliage
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Verde Canyon Railroad is Arizona’s longest-running nature show. The four-hour scenic ride includes views of Sinagua Indian ruins, waterfowl, wildlife and a 680-foot man-made tunnel. The train follows the upper Verde River and is ideally situated above the heat of the desert and below the cold of Arizona’s high country. In the spring and summer see Great Blue Heron and black hawks; fall and winter bring brightly-colored foliage and the arrival of migratory bald and golden eagles.
South Dakota
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“A MUST!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Don't miss this! And if you can, travel first-class. What a wonderful afternoon. Almost four and a half hours in the Verde Canyon - can only imagine what it must have been like way back when. But today, the adventure is great. Food and drinks on the the train. Comfortable seating. Very friendly staff. We really enjoyed this.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    589
    234
    67
    30
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Flemington, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The Best!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The train ride through the canyon is spectacular! We saw three bald eagles, a golden eagle , and a dozen javelina while on our journey. Going first class is definitely the right choice since you are served champagne and snacks as you board. You can also purchase drinks including a delicious cucumber margaritas. The seats are so comfortable and the open viewing cars are terrific for taking photographs. The host and hostesses are great. This is one of the best tours in the Sedona area!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip to Sedona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Go in first class. You get snacks and champagne to toast. Beautiful scenery. Also there on cocktails on board.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing with beautiful scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We rode in one of the first class cars and had a wonderful experience. Our tickets were free because we sat through a timeshare presentation the morning before, but we still think the $80 price for first class is well worth it.
Our attendant was extremely friendly and made our ride even more enjoyable. We had our 8 month old daughter with us which i am sure worried our fellow passengers, but we knew she wouldn't be fussy . I wouldn't recommend taking an infant unless they are typically calm. The last thing i would want to do is make everyone have to deal with a crying baby while stuck on a train.
The scenery is beautiful and the staff was quick to point out great photo opportunities. Drinks are reasonably priced; we bought a bottle of wine for the 2nd half of the ride which they re-corked for us before we departed. Very relaxing and a great way to spend the afternoon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I ENJOYED THE JOURNEY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

12.20.12 I went on 1st class. Kenna was the coooolest bartender I ever met. Jan was so helpful as a photographers best friene. My wife uses a power chair, she did not go this time. I will bring here on board when we return to Sedona in April.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Verde Canyon Railroad also viewed

 

Been to Verde Canyon Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verde Canyon Railroad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.