We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Experience But Last Year Review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Verde Canyon Railroad

Verde Canyon Railroad
300 North Broadway, Clarkdale, AZ 86324
800-293-7245
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 12 things to do in Clarkdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/train, Viewing wildlife, Viewing foliage
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Verde Canyon Railroad is Arizona’s longest-running nature show. The four-hour scenic ride includes views of Sinagua Indian ruins, waterfowl, wildlife and a 680-foot man-made tunnel. The train follows the upper Verde River and is ideally situated above the heat of the desert and below the cold of Arizona’s high country. In the spring and summer see Great Blue Heron and black hawks; fall and winter bring brightly-colored foliage and the arrival of migratory bald and golden eagles.
dallas fort worth
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“First Class Experience But Last Year Review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We decided on this trip because we wanted to see the canyon without bumping around on a jeep or horse. We made the right decision. At least we did while we were here in 2011. The first class tickets we bought allowed us to have champagne waiting for us at our table, as well as some crunchy baked chips. Now they wrote that we would have finger foods but I did not realize they would have hoagy, salads, chicken wings, cheese and crackers and the absolutely best little fried brownie chunks I have ever eaten in my life. The crew was friendly, knowledgeable and spoke loud and clear to hear. We could sit inside or outside.And there was just about something for everyone on the drink menu. The cucumber margarita is so not to be missed and I have to say the coffee drink I ordered at the end was simply yummy. Don't worry if you smoke, there is very little time before the outside seating with ashtrays is ready. The bathrooms were clean and the food area was neat. If there was one thing less than positive it might be that is was a bit long on the return. We were all ready to get back. But I can't stress enough, be sure to visit with Ralph, Don and Laura. Three guides that know their stuff and have a passion for the land. AND REMEMBER THIS WAS LAST YEAR AND WE PAID FOR FIRST CLASS...and got it!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    589
    234
    67
    30
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amstelveen
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had a nice time on the train, friendly staff and spectacular views! We booked first class as normal tickets were sold out. First class gets you some champagne, food and à lot of space. But as you should be on the open car the entire trip both normal and first are fine.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“first train ride, deffinately not my last!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

i have never been on a train ride and was never a "natures beauty" person but the things you will see on this ride are absolutely breath taking! the staff is increadible and we will deffinately go back many times as you are never sure what all you will see!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Our Visit to Verde Canyon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Lovely train ride which my husband & myself thoroughly enjoyed. Took about 4 hrs. We enjoyed the sandwiches & the drinks provided in the first class compartment. The topography was awesome. Some of us saw the Eagles though I didn't see them personally. We paid about $70 each with a discount for being seniors. Apparently the topography changes each season & might be worth it to see it again at a different season. We had some nice company with the fellow passengers & would do it again in a heartbeat.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placitas, New Mexico
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Nice way to spend four hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

As others have posted, this train journey is both pleasant and beautiful. The ride is two hours in one direction and two hours back -- which is OK because the view is ever changing due to the reversed direction as well as the changing daylight on the landscape. I'm not sure why anyone would want to pay extra for First Class since the trip is all about the view. We (and most others) spent the entire time outside in an open gondola, enjoying the scenery and the sunshine. It is worth the price of the $55 ticket.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VCRRTraingal, Public Relations Manager at Verde Canyon Railroad, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for sharing about your recent trip with us. We are very fortunate to have the open-air viewing cars. It really does allow you to use all of your senses when experiencing the train ride.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Verde Canyon Railroad also viewed

 

Been to Verde Canyon Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verde Canyon Railroad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.