We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viking Newport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Viking to your Saves list
Hotel Viking
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 10% off room rate
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Viking Newport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We enjoyed the visit.
It is a nice charming hotel. The food was excellent.
The pool was nice. The shower and bathroom areas were quite small.Front desk staff were very helpful. We thought it was a bit much to charge a (refundable) $60 for an umbrella especially as one was broken.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
The mood and vibes we wish to present to our guests from all of our associates is total attention to detail and to provide a warm and welcoming attitude. We are especially delighted when guests spend several nights with us and enjoy all the amenities we have to offer. Newport and the Hotel Viking is a great place to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    304
    110
    54
    17
See reviews for
158
505
28
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Very nice property, but cleaning crew's work was substandard. Mold in the shower, crumbs on the floor, no soap in the bathroom, and lack of attention to details left a bad taste in my mouth. Likely an anomaly as others in my group didn't complain, but worth noting.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
We would like to apologize for the housekeeping issues that occurred while you were here. We do want to have all of our guests leave with a great feeling of having enjoyed a visit at the Hotel Viking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We enjoyed a 3 night stay at the Viking. We stayed in the older section. The room was well appointed with a comfortable King bed. it was a small room with only one table lamp and a desk lamp. A nice room to sleep in but not so nice if you like or plan to lounge in the room. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. It is in a good location. You can walk to Thames and waterfront. You also can walk to the cliff walk and mansions -- a bit of a hike but not too far and a plesant walk.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Your wonderful comments are very important to all of us at the Hotel Viking. Noble House Hotels and Resorts has set exemplary guest service standards of excellence for all of us to follow! We are most appreciative you shared your thoughts with us. And, we hope this is the first of many visits to Newport and the Hotel Viking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The hotel staff were attentive, the hotel lovely and immaculate! The rooms were lovely, plush, comfy bed and linens, and thick towels. Instead of bottles of shampoo, conditioner and soap bars, there were dispensers of all shampoo, conditioner and shower gel in the shower! I called and asked for bar soap (I don't like shower gel) and extra towels, they arrived in moments! Great customer service! Oh, and free wifi!
In addition we ate breakfast in the hotel (ala carte) and it was fresh, delicious, and not too expensive! Our experience was terrific!
Also walking distance from the Touro Synagogue, a must when in Newport!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your stay at the hotel. Your comments have been shared with all of our associates. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I recently spent 3 nights at the Hotel Viking during the International Tennis Hall of Fame tournament and induction ceremony. It is within walking distance of the Hall of Fame and also the harbor/wharf areas. The room was beautiful and spacious and the shower/bathroom was great. Everyone I interacted with was pleasant and provided excellent customer service. The rooftop bar is beautiful, but beware - there is no glassware up there due to the wind - as I was told. Drinking wine out of a plastic cup just doesn't work for me, so I changed my order to a cocktail I didn't mind drinking out of plastic. :-) There were a lot of tennis players and celebrities staying there, so great for people watching. We did have dinner there one night, and I was unimpressed with everything except the vegetables - AWESOME!!!!! It did not seem as if they were properly staffed for providing great service. Our dinner took close to 3 hours, which I felt was unreasonable for a starter, dinner and no dessert. We ordered a bottle of wine and no one ever made a move to pour it for us. Frankly, I only saw our waiter (who was very nice but very harried) until close to the end of our dinner, when another server arrived on the scene. We had a pleasant time, but I would not recommend the restaurant. Great bartenders, however, and a lively bar scene! I would definitely stay here again, but would not revisit the restaurant.

Room Tip: Our room had a view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
We are very sorry to read that your restaurant experience was not a pleasant one. We apologize for all the issues. We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us and bringing it to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Excellent location, Near the centre. Nice and quiet rooms: Very clean, comfortable and very well located. the Staff are very nice and Friendly. It is highly recommendable. I would recommend thi Hotel to all my friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your terrific review. It is always such a great pleasure to receive such positive reports about the Hotel Viking and our associates. Guest service is our highest priority and when the guests are happy we not only are delighted but become determined to provide even better service to each guest. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, CT
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Hotel Viking proved to be an excellent choice for a birthday getaway with my wife. I am not a fan of bed and breakfast type places or "inns" as they are usually too small and lack privacy and amenities. This hotel proved to be the best of both worlds. The feel of the hotel was warm and inviting, friendly, and had the historical "feel" that made it really blend with the overall vibe of Newport. The staff was gregarious and helpful from the moment we arrived and accommodated all of our requests on check-in. They were a bit rushed as the hotel was extremely busy, but it did not affect their mood and they went the extra mile to answer all of our questions about the mansion tours and local beaches.

As for our room (203) it was clean, beautifully furnished and extremely comfortable. As mentioned in other reviews, it was on the small side, but for the two of us it was just fine. A family may want to investigate something larger as I wouldnt want to add 2 kids to the mix, in this room anyway. But the room met our needs just nicely. The bed was extremely comfortable and the pillows were plush and soft. As for the bathroom, the shower was beautifully tiled, had a great "rain" style shower head and was equipped with shampoo, conditioner and shower gel dispensers...a nice touch.

I payed special attention to the HVAC as many people did express concerns in previous reviews about this and I get annoyed by these issues...Particularly a hot room at night while trying to sleep. We did not have any of the problems mentioned....it worked perfectly and there was a thermostat to adjust temperature to the degree. Perhaps our room was equipped with a different system than the ones mentioned (something about a constant temp of 75 and an occupancy sensor).

As for the noise, we stayed on a Sunday night and did not experience any issues with this either. Although I will say that a couple times while we were watching a movie we heard a few unidentified thumps. The walls do seem thin and I wouldnt be surprised if this could be an issue on a Friday or Saturday night when the hotel is crowded and/or people are partying.

One of the best parts of the hotel, aside from the actual accommodations, was the convenient location. We are walkers and basically were able to park our car in the garage and do everything on foot. We walked downtown to local restaurants, walked to the popular beach and cliff walk, and did all the mansions all without dealing with cabs, hotel cars or our own vehicle. Definitely a plus.

My wife and I will definitely be back as we have sort of fallen for the Newport area.

As a final note, if you book on a booking site keep in mind that the actual price you pay will be a good 90.00 higher than the listed price. Sales taxes, accommodations tax, a 30.00 parking fee and a 15.00 "hotel fee" bring it right up. I didnt quite expect it so thought I would mention it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Your review is excellent and in reading your remarks, makes one want to check it out for themselves! We are proud of our 85 year old history and the fact that we offer 21st conveniences adds to the loveliness of the hotel. Thank you also for letting others know that the AC was no issue at all. We look forward to your next visit and hopefully another wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Address: One Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newport
#2 Best Value Hotel in Newport
#4 Business Hotel in Newport
#4 Family Hotel in Newport
#5 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Viking, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.