We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Viking to your Saves list
Hotel Viking
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Web Only Special
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent all around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Viking in September for first time - Hotel hits all the right notes and impresses at every step. Called my cell phone when the room was ready for check in - room was spotless and well appointed, very comfortable bed, furnishings are vintage Newport. Location is great, walking distance to everything. Friendly, courteous staff was very helpful. From the drinks at the rooftop bar, to the excellent breakfast on the patio, the Hotel Viking does it right. Would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Your words are a melody to our ears. A fantastic review that we always appreciate so much. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    307
    111
    55
    17
See reviews for
162
511
28
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights labor day weekend for a wedding and it was spectacular from start to finish! We arrived at 10 in the morning the first day thinking we would never get the room but we did and what a beautiful room it was! I know there have been some complaints about the size of the rooms but our 3rd floor room was great. If I had one complaint it would be the lack of space around the sink in the bathroom. We did have a couple issues on arrival to the room that we immediately rectified. The location of the hotel is close to everything you want to do in Newport but inside the rooms its nice a quiet. We did not have dinner in the restaurants but did have an amazing breakfast and attended a rehearsal dinner with fabulous food and service. The beds are very comfortable as is the room temperature. I can't say enough about the concierge desk and the service people here they all care about what they are doing we felt the service level was exceptional. Check out was a breeze and the valets do a great job getting you on your way quickly. We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: It did seem we got an upgraded room that was a bit larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We are pleased your stay exceeded your expectations. We take such pride when our guests are given the utmost attention throughout their visit. We hope you let us know when you plan to return so that we may “roll out the red carpet” and welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed here with around 40 colleagues and it was a great time. This hotel is really set up for this kind of thing, evidenced by the fact they got us all checked in in around 30 minutes flat, pretty impressive.
Service overall was excellent, rooms comfortable with mini raised 4 poster type beds, (beware the long drop when you wake up!) food good, plus Newport is a really pretty New England town to explore.

Room Tip: At the front and high up for the view and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful time at The Hotel Viking. We are always thrilled to hear when we hear back from our guests that their stay was a success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seekonk, MA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

About 6 years ago I won a night's stay at the Viking in Newport. I had never heard of the hotel before, but as I now have been coming back every year and I will always remember the first experience at the Newport Hotel. From the service, to the impeccable rooms and the added rooftop bar, I always look forward to our yearly trip to Newport and the experience my wife and I will enjoy at the Hotel Viking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for giving us another opportunity to show that we do have a lovely unique historic hotel with many things to offer our guests. Thank you for returning to The Hotel Viking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Viking a few weekends ago. The hotel is in a great location. It's easy to walk down to Thames St. but far enough away that it's pretty quiet. Our room was a little small but comfortable and more modern than I was expecting. The rooftop bar is great - very relaxed, good service and live music. I would absolutely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We are fortunate to be located in a central area of town and it is great for our guests to be able to walk along the waterfront and visit the shops along the way. Being a historical boutique hotel, space is used to the maximum in each guest room. We are glad you enjoyed the décor. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Every August I take my wife to Newport for her birthday. We not only come for the sun and fun, we come for the Hotel Viking. How would you like to be treated like a prince and princess. Roof deck jazz and small bites. Spa was rejuvinating. Breakfast was incredible. Can't miss with this place, always a great time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
What a wonderful way to celebrate your wife’s birthday! Especially that we were able to add to a warm and relaxing time. Your enthusiasm and positive note motivates all of us to do even better in every aspect of our service. Thank you for visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

the hotel is beautiful ...on a hill and close to town.
However they try to immediately to charge you $ 33.00 per night to park your car.
The interesting part is they park your car on a public street.
We parked ourselves there and save $ 66.00 for two nights parking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
On occasion a guest will be disappointed or dismayed that the parking fee charge is $33.00 per day in season (May – October). The fees for parking are market price for Newport. We want to be fair and reasonable in any of our assessed guests fees in our competitive market with other hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Address: One Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newport
#2 Best Value Hotel in Newport
#4 Business Hotel in Newport
#4 Family Hotel in Newport
#5 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Viking, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.