We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa Terre at Hotel Viking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Viking

Save Saved
You added Hotel Viking to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Viking
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 10% off room rate
Ranked #7 of 20 hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hellertown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Spa Terre at Hotel Viking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My sister-in-law's birthday coincided with our trip to Newport, so I booked massages and manicures/pedicures at Spa Terre to celebrate.

Ahhhhh, what a treat!

The spa is small and quaint, with every need attended. Lockers are provided, as are fluffy robes and sandals. The shower has top-notch body wash, shampoo, and conditioner for the guests to use, as well as a hair dryer and hair products (upon request, at the front desk).

My massage was very relaxing and thorough, and the room where it was performed was dreamy. My mani-pedi was the best I've ever had (and I've had a lot).

We walked in tired and drained; we walked out spruced up and ready for lunch and a day of shopping!

PLEASE visit this beautiful hotel and the spa if you find yourself with a couple of hours to spare. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Our Spa Terre is a great place to unwind and free yourself from the stresses that can build up during our hectic lifestyles. A massage, and manicure/pedicure is a fantastic way to treat yourself to something truly special. As you mentioned, when leaving our Spa Terre, one will feel rejuvenated and ready to enjoy Newport! Thank you again, and we look forward to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    475
    283
    97
    47
    13
See reviews for
150
465
26
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My Fiance and I stayed here the night we got engaged. First, I must say that the hotel staff worked so nicely with my Fiance before we arrived to make sure that the room was set up exactly how he wanted. They made sure that rose petals were all about the room and took care of the details seamlessly. Our room was beautiful and spotless- I really appreciated the decor, a mixture of old and new world. There is a keurig is the room so that you can make coffee in the morning. The bed and linens were luxurious, as were the towels. The bathroom you could tell was newly updated and had great lighting. We found the shampoo, conditioner, and body-wash dispensers a bit strange-it reminded us of a gym and didn't fit in with the rest of the hotel's decor. Parking is easy, they have valet right in front. We did some exploring around the hotel the next day and the event spaces below were well maintained and looked beautiful. There is also a rooftop lounge that has a small view of the harbor, seating (covered and uncovered), and a bar. The hotel is wonderfully located and is ideal if you'd like to explore Newport by foot. I'd suggest walking around Newport as much as possible--parking is very difficult if you're not a resident. We would absolutely come back and stay at Hotel Viking again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec.Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
It is so nice to hear that your time spent with us was truly a memorable occasion. To get engaged during a stay at the Hotel Viking must have been very special. Attention to detail is what can make an experience like yours a truly unforgettable one. The fact that you will absolutely come back and stay with us again at the Hotel Viking is wonderful. We hope that you will always cherish the memories of your engagement here in Newport. Congratulations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The hotel is beautiful, steeped in history. The rooms are spacious with beautiful wallpaper and furniture. The bed was luxurious. The bathroom was lovely but the bath/shower could do with being updated. Free coffee making facilities are in the room, along with iron, ironing board and hair dryer. Swimming pool is lovely. Car parking rates are expensive, but they seem to be similar everywhere round Newport. Good location for getting round the local attractions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Keeping with Newport’s historic past is part of our heritage and we are fortunate to have a wonderful hotel with associates who care about our guests and our property. We appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I visited Hotel Viking for a business conference at the hotel. When we all arrived the staff was very polite and they provided a high level of service throughout the entire stay. This was a huge plus! I mean all of the staff was great, from the guy holding the door open for you to the front desk to the waiters and catering staff, I can't think of one person in the staff that wasn't great.

The hotel itself is a bit of a maze. A few of us got lost getting to our rooms, but if you listen to the initial directions the front desk provides you should get there without a problem. A few of us weren't paying attention.

Once you're in your room, you'll notice it's a bit small. I was just there for the conference, so it was fine. The heating was on the fritz, sometimes it was too hot, other times too cold. I think that was mostly me, though. We joked that the place was haunted, but I doubt it.

My one qualm was with the food for the conference. It was pretty bland and seemed tasteless. That was the only thing that I really didn't like.

Overall: I'd recommend this place for couples and business-related travel. The staff makes the visit, though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We value our guests’ opinions and appreciate your comments about your visit to the Hotel Viking. We are pleased that you came to stay with us. We are a small boutique historical hotel in a fantastic location here in Newport. Our staff is happy to assist in making our guests feel at home and do so with a smile and helpful attitude. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We has a Newport weekend with accommodations at The Viking. The room was a junior suite in the older section of the hotel as it was not a special occasion for us, but I here that the California King contemporary rooms with fireplaces are phenomenal so for a winter excursion. The service is always outstanding here. You are referred to by name-nice touch. Also, the menus and wine lists are interesting and quite international to please the far from home crowd. The veranda was full of guests sporting the latest in spring fashion. I felt like I was in a Manhattan by the sea. I recommend an escape here to the Viking, back to the see and be seen traditional upscale experience that is what most seek in Newport, RI. Btw-you cannot be overdressed for dinner-go designer all the way if you wish. I love that about The Viking-class, sophistication, and fit for royalty. It doesn't get much better for Bellevue Ave. unless of course you just got received the keys to the mansion.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
WOW! You have done a fantastic job of capturing it all in a couple sentences! Yet it speaks volumes! The best part is it definitely catches one’s attention and brings the vision to life of what a visit will be to the Hotel Viking! Others will want to visit because your description is so apt. Thank you and do come back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel during a busy holiday weekend. It was Ian great location near tennis hall of fame and near cliff walk and 15 minutes walk to bars and restaurants near the water. The only downside was the bathroom as it had a really unpleasant smell otherwise great

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Especially on a busy holiday weekend, it is a great advantage to stay at the Hotel Viking. We are centrally located only few steps away from it all. The tennis hall of fame is on the same avenue as us, which is a great advantage during the tennis tournaments. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Anyone who looks into staying in Newport and touring the mansions will soon discover it is rather expensive! We were able to take advantage of their special package which included a double
room, valet parking, daily breakfast and a ticket to tour five mansions. The hotel staff was very
pleasant and helpful, quiet at night but - due to the layout you can feel like you are walking blocks to get to your room. Breakfast was great and one evening we ate our dinner in the hotel. Our
only questions was - Why doesn't the hotel design a more competitively priced menu to draw an
evening crowd? The dining room was virtually empty. We initially had an overcharge on our hotel bill but it was quickly resolved when we brought it to their attention with our printed confirmation.

Room Tip: Ask to be closer to front desk on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
It is wonderful to hear that you were able to take advantage of one of the great package deals that we offer. Our mansion package includes accommodations, breakfast for two and tickets to see the mansions. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Address: One Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newport
#2 Business Hotel in Newport
#4 Family Hotel in Newport
#5 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Viking, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;