We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Stay at the Hotel Viking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Viking to your Saves list
Hotel Viking
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Web Only Special
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersBronze level
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Stay at the Hotel Viking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We went to the Hotel Viking to do the tastings for our daughter's upcoming wedding. Because we were traveling from Richmond, VA we had to stay the night so we decided to stay there. First of all, the price for this hotel during this time was equal or less than much lower quality establishments. The service we got from the wedding coordinator (Marianne) and the gentleman (Daniel) serving us in the dining room couldn't have been better. The food was absolutely amazing! If our wedding guests get the same food we tried, they will be talking about this wedding for years to come. We are so excited!! We also had drinks in the bar that night and stayed in a beautiful room. What a reasful sleep and breakfast the next morning. I cannot say enough about the Hotel Viking. I am just so pleased we decided to have our daughter's wedding here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
A wedding at the Hotel Viking is always a special one. Our kitchen staff and chef do an amazing job indefinitely. Thank you so much for choosing our hotel. We wish you a most memorable wedding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    307
    111
    55
    17
See reviews for
162
511
28
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danielson, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The rooms were nice and the beds were so comfortable. It was off season so we had the place to ourselves so it seemed. The lobby was historic and beautiful and there is a nice restaurant there. The indoor pool and hot tub were a hit with the kids. I hope to return in the near future!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
The Hotel Viking is the first hotel in Newport. Our location and facility are in the heart of Newport. We look forward to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We love the Viking, and it is the only place we stay in Newport when we come. We have enjoyed many accomodations in Newport over the years, but the last place that we have decided on for all subsequent stays is the Viking. The staff and rooms are impeccable, we have yet to have a negative experience when staying here.

Room Tip: If the budget allows stay in a suite, they are spacious and luxurious. We have stayed in several dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. Your satisfaction is very important to us. We look forward to have you stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our second stay at Hotel Viking exceeded our expectations. All of the staff were courteous and helpful. The valet service was as prompt and efficient as anyone could hope to experience. The staff at the front desk made us feel like we were the only guests checking in, in spite of our arrival at a very busy time. The restaurant, bar staff and house keeping were excellent as well.

We found all staff members to be knowledgeable about Newport and willing to assist with directions and suggestions to make our stay enjoyable. There is no question about a return visit

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
We are happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations. Our team works hard to make sure that our guests experience a truly exceptional stay with us. Your satisfaction as a guest is what helps us determine where we need to make changes and improvements. It sounds like your stay was a pleasant one, and we do look forward to have you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Viking Hotel was just what we needed to get away from it all during this dreary New England winter. The hotel is lovely, clean, comfortable and convenient to all that Newport has to offer. The staff is helpful and friendly and offered suggestions of great activities to take part in while we were there. Everything that you need is right there. The restaurant food was delicious; well prepared and professionally served.
We have come to the Viking often and we are never disappointed. Who needs Florida when we have wonderful places like the Viking in our area?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Admin. Exec. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. How great it is to hear that you are a repeat guest. We appreciate your business. We are located in the heart of Newport, only a couple of minutes away from the downtown area. We are so proud of our associates! They are knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. One Bellevue (our restaurant) is one of a kind. All the food is fresh and local. Our chef Kevin Thiele is so talented. You are absolutely right! Why to go to Florida if we have gorgeous Newport and the Hotel Viking close by.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was our second trip to Newport and we deliberately went back to the Viking. We were there off-season (Feb) but there still was a buzz and the staff were attentive. Our room was cold when we got in and after the engineer checked the system, we were moved immediately to another (warm) room. We had a free ride to and from dinner down on the sea front with the shuttle and we had a lovely breakfast. Twice in a row, we found this to be a welcoming and pleasant place to stay. We'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Many of our guests here at the Hotel Viking have been returning to us year after year. When guests come back to us so frequently, it tells us that we are doing something right. Thanks so much for returning to us, and we look forward for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niantic
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

This place was huge. Dinner and drinks are expensive, but staff is so friendly and accommodating. Rooms were really clean and windows could open for fresh air. Bed was super comfortable! Just a few blocks off Thames street so quiet yet close to all the action

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Our hotel has been through some renovations lately that have made a great hotel even better! Comfortable, clean, accommodating, and friendly staff are all elements of the Hotel Viking that we need to keep constant. We are glad to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Address: One Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newport
#2 Best Value Hotel in Newport
#4 Family Hotel in Newport
#4 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Viking, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.