We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Way to Relieve the Winter Doldrums” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Viking to your Saves list
Hotel Viking
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
up to 20% off Special
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Worcester, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent Way to Relieve the Winter Doldrums”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Viking Hotel was just what we needed to get away from it all during this dreary New England winter. The hotel is lovely, clean, comfortable and convenient to all that Newport has to offer. The staff is helpful and friendly and offered suggestions of great activities to take part in while we were there. Everything that you need is right there. The restaurant food was delicious; well prepared and professionally served.
We have come to the Viking often and we are never disappointed. Who needs Florida when we have wonderful places like the Viking in our area?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Admin. Exec. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. How great it is to hear that you are a repeat guest. We appreciate your business. We are located in the heart of Newport, only a couple of minutes away from the downtown area. We are so proud of our associates! They are knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. One Bellevue (our restaurant) is one of a kind. All the food is fresh and local. Our chef Kevin Thiele is so talented. You are absolutely right! Why to go to Florida if we have gorgeous Newport and the Hotel Viking close by.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    335
    121
    58
    18
See reviews for
196
569
31
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was our second trip to Newport and we deliberately went back to the Viking. We were there off-season (Feb) but there still was a buzz and the staff were attentive. Our room was cold when we got in and after the engineer checked the system, we were moved immediately to another (warm) room. We had a free ride to and from dinner down on the sea front with the shuttle and we had a lovely breakfast. Twice in a row, we found this to be a welcoming and pleasant place to stay. We'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Many of our guests here at the Hotel Viking have been returning to us year after year. When guests come back to us so frequently, it tells us that we are doing something right. Thanks so much for returning to us, and we look forward for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niantic
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

This place was huge. Dinner and drinks are expensive, but staff is so friendly and accommodating. Rooms were really clean and windows could open for fresh air. Bed was super comfortable! Just a few blocks off Thames street so quiet yet close to all the action

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Our hotel has been through some renovations lately that have made a great hotel even better! Comfortable, clean, accommodating, and friendly staff are all elements of the Hotel Viking that we need to keep constant. We are glad to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Loved this hotel in Newport. Convenient to everything. Rooms recently redone, did a beautiful job! Very elegant and comfortable. The indoor pool was a hit with our boys too. Great place to stay ! You do have to pay for parking, but they offer a lot across the street from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec.Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Our location in the center of Newport does give our guests convenient access to all that Newport has to offer. Also, the recent renovations have given us a fresh look and feel. Because Newport is confined for parking, we are able to offer parking in our lots for a fee. Thanks for the feedback, and please come stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, CT
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Hotel Viking numerous times. We keep going back because of the way we are treated by the staff and the wonderful rooms. The have several room styles -- we have stayed in a Mansion Suite and the last few times in an Estate Suite, both are beautiful with large bathrooms. We always enjoy the "High" tea, dinner and a great breakfast when we stay at the Viking. It is a short walk from the Viking to Downtown Newport and also to the Newport Tennis Hall of Fame.

Room Tip: While a litte more expensive the Mansion or Estate Suites are beautifully decorated in period furnit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
The best compliment that we can receive is to have our guests return numerous times. Our goal is to treat every guest with an exceptional service. It looks like that we have succeeded.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Every year in February my boyfriend and I go to Newport and take part in Winterfest. We usually stay at the Marrott which is located right in the middle of everything but this year is was 'sold out" and last last minute had rooms for $229
When I discovered that it was "sold out" I looked on TA for places and saw that Hotel Viking was large yet felt a mansion ambiance to it and when I saw the rate I booked it right away!
Check in was a breeze. I arrived earlier than normal and the room was not ready but as promised they called once it was ready and they did. The bell hop was extremely nice and help full and once I arrived in my room I was called to follow up that everything was to our liking.
The rooms are extremely small and the bathrooms as well, I felt that I was more staying in someone's home ( like and INN) instead of a big hotel
The pool area was clean, the gym was a nice addition by the pool, and teh hotel itself is lovely and charming and given its a few blocks from the mansions it all blends it
Its only a few blocks from the main streets and a nice walk the opposite was

I would highly recommend for adults and would return!!!

PS- Parking is an additional $15, but all hotels charge a fee do to lack of space

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec.Admin.Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
What a great time to be in Newport . The Winterfest is an amazing time of the year in Newport. There is so much happening whether you are looking for activities with children or adults. This amazing week started off with beautiful fireworks. We are so please that you have chosen to stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed for a relaxing getaway. Rooms and hotel look even better than the pics on website.

Greeted immediately by bellhops and valet upon arrival, check in extremely quick. All staff we encountered we very nice and helpful.

Will definitely go back again. If you want the classic "Newport Look & Feel" this is the place!

A short walk (about 10 minutes) to the center of town and waterfront!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Manor room, it seems to be the cheapest and smallest. But it is really nice. Small ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva M, Exec. Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments. We are a perfect facility to enjoy a relaxing getaway. Our main goal is to make our guests feel special, welcomed and happy. We are very happy that your arrival experience was so pleasant. We are the first hotel built in Newport in 1926 so you are right we certainly do have the classic Newport look and feel. We look forward to have you back at the Hotel Viking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Address: One Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newport
#2 Business Hotel in Newport
#4 Family Hotel in Newport
#5 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old world charm-updated with modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Viking, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.