We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room size versus History” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Viking

Save Saved
You added Hotel Viking to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Viking
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 10% off room rate
Ranked #7 of 20 hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Room size versus History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Hotel Viking is an old historic hotel and whilst it has undergone refurbishments you have to bear in mind that for example the rooms aren't going to get any bigger! I had to chuckle at a previous reviewer from New York who made this very complaint - has he never stayed in a hotel in NYC? That said there were many good things about our stay - the staff were very courteous (especially at breakfast) and the food was very good (again,especially the breakfast). The location was OK, but not perfect - still quite a hike to the Cliff Walk and even the harbour was not in the immediate vicinity. The parking at $30 a day is just poor - it is not even secure, just an open air facility across the road. I know the hotel will say it's the going rate - but does that make it OK? However, the positives easily outweighed the negatives and I would not hesitate in recommending the Hotel Viking whenever you visit Newport.

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room as they vary in size depending on which floor you are on
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
We are all very proud to work at our historic hotel in Newport. It is a lovely place and we diligently work to maintain its grandeur. We are pleased your experience in One Bellevue was fine. Our location is a central location and we have access to the waterfront and shopping areas. We are a few minutes drive to the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    448
    260
    86
    44
    13
See reviews for
134
433
24
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We recently stayed at the Hotel Viking for our anniversary getaway and loved it. We stayed on the fourth floor in the older part of the hotel and found it immaculate and nicely appointed. The front desk staff was courteous and helpful, and the breakfast that was included in our package was fabulous - we could order anything on the menu, or do the buffet. We also had dinner at the restaurant and were treated to our best meal in Newport. The workout facility was small, but had a universal weight station, along with a couple of eliptical machines, treadmills and bikes. The view wasn't great, but with the way the hotel faces, there aren't too many rooms with good views. Understand that unless you get a package deal, you will pay extra for parking and breakfast. It is a bit pricey, but for a quick weekend, worth the splurge.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
We loved the title of your review and it immediately captured our attention. We could not be more pleased to know that your anniversary was a happy one and celebrated with us! We are most appreciative of your review and comments because we strive to provide the best in service that we can. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dix Hills, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Recently spent a weekend at the Hotel Viking to attend a destination wedding in Newport. The Hotel is beautiful, perfect for the area. Nice location. Staff were polite, courteous and helpful. The facilities were updated and top notch. That is where the good part of the review ends. The rooms are the smallest I have ever been in. The king bed allowed for no room to maneuver and two people getting ready was like trying to negotiate an obstacle course because they have tried to jam everything in the room. You literally have about two feet on one side of the bed to move. Now on to the bathroom, which was smaller than on a cruise ship. We had to leave the shower door open to allow enough elbow room to wash and shave. The sink was smaller than a large bowl. My friend said he hit his head on the sink while using the toilet. I hurt my back dealing with the confines and felt slightly claustrophobic, something I have never felt before in a hotel. One other complaint and pet peeve while staying at higher priced facilities, do not charge me $30 a day for parking! I hate that nickel and dime garbage. The hotel does that to keep their rack rate down and because "some guests may not have a vehicle". Almost everyone here had and needs a car.

Nice enough facility that will not get me to come back when we visit Newport again...and we will.

PS: We asked to change the room because of the size and the view overlooking a roof and A/C units but were told they could not accommodate the request. Upon arrival, only two large towels in the bathroom and 1 small bar of soap (probably no room to hold more). We requested more immediately and received them promptly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
There is very little for us to say to respond to your review. Our parking fee is a fair and equitable one and is in line with our competitors. We also apologize that we were not able to change your room due to being sold out during your stay and we are sorry you just were not happy with your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The first time I saw Hotel Viking was as a young Naval officer in 1971. Boy has it changed, for the better. Let me mentioned a couple of small issues first. The bathroom fan was quite noisy and our room had the toilet & bath in a separate room from the sink which was a little inconvenient. Other then that, we had a very pleasant stay for several days. Despite being very crowded with multiple wedding parties, our family was given four rooms all in a row. The staff was always pleasant and helpful. Parking was a bit pricey at $30/day but that's to be expected in downtown Newport within walking distance of the waterfront. The valets were great and worked hard to get cars loaded, unloaded, moved in and moved out. Won't hesitate to go back next year for my ship's reunion.

Room Tip: We had rooms on the first floor (1008 to 1014). There was a door at the end of the hall that went r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
The Hotel Viking was a favorite location and destination for many young Naval Officers in the 1960’s and 1970’s. Many changes have occurred during that period of time including changes of ownership and with new owners came many wonderful renovations to update the property. At the present time we have just completed another major improvement program this past April 2012. We are just so pleased you visited and had a great family get together with us. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

First the good bits. Great location. Our room on the third floor was spacious with full length windows overlooking the bay. We had great views on the the sunset. The bathroom (with bath and toilet) was small. But over the corridor was the wardrobe and sink. Although an odd arrangement it was good for applying makeup as the mirror didn't get misted up!! The restaurnat disn't have much of an atmosphere but the lobster and asparagus with pasta was absolutely excellent. My best dish in a two week holiday in New England.

Now the down side. There is a $30 dollar/night charged for both valet and self driven parking. Ridiculous. There is parking nearby on Kay Street and Church Street. That was $60 saved for our 2 day stay!! Breakfast is also very disappointing. We went to Annie's for the second morning and this was much better at a much lower price.

So would recommend but with these provisos

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
We could not be any happier that you enjoyed your room accommodations, and dining in One Bellevue. The only comments that border on negative are the parking and breakfast. Parking is always a precious commodity in Newport. Our parking fees are in line with our competitors. It is true you can street park close to the hotel but there are parking restrictions at different times of the year. At least in using the hotel parking areas you have a sense of security that your vehicle will be fine when it is time to retrieve it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly suburbs
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Went for an overnight on the way back from Cape Cod. The first room was very small so I went to the front desk and asked for a larger room which they were kind enough to do. The rooms are on the smaller size but are beautifully appointed and clean. The bed was very cozy also. Everyone there was very accommodating and friendly. The hotel is in a great location to walk to the wharf area and other key sites. We walked down to the wharf and had the shuttle come pick us back up. Very convenient. The entire staff was great. At night we had coffee drinks outside by the fireplace. Great romantic touch too. Old world charm...a must go. Newport was a wonderful place wish I had more time.

Room Tip: Ask for the size of the room. They vary in sizes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your romantic overnight at the hotel. We are pleased it all worked in sync so that you could even enjoy the outside fireplace on the patio. Your comments have been shared with all of our associates. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

What a great property!

Rooms: We had 2 rooms and both were beautiful! They were recently re-done and the finishes were very Ralph Lauren.

Staff: The staff was first rate. Very friendly and professional. Couldn't be nicer.

Food: We ate breakfast in the restaurant twice. It was delicious and the staff was friendly and efficient

Location: Can't be beat!

Would Definately stay at the Hotel Viking again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
We are very pleased how much you enjoyed staying at the Hotel Viking. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Address: One Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newport
#2 Family Hotel in Newport
#2 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Viking, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.