We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Massive but Elegant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Viking to your Saves list
Hotel Viking
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
up to 20% off Special
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Florida, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Massive but Elegant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed 1 night between our ferry trip from Martha's Vineyard and our train from Kingston to NYC. I had walked by the Viking last year but did not go inside. I was surprised how massive it was. We walked forever to get to our room. Liked it that the room was on ground level and did not have to take the elevator. The hotel itself is nicely decorated. It is both elegant and stylish. Lots of natural light in the public spaces.

Our room was large and decorated in a 1920's motif. As the hotel is old, it was a bit unusual that the toilet was across the hall from the sink. The room was very quiet and the beds were extremely comfortable. The outdoor terrace was very nice. We also visited the rooftop bar for a look but did not stay. We took the 15 minute walk to the harbor and had dinner there.

When I checked out I looked at the bill and they had charged for parking but we did not have a car. The charge was removed but still not correct. I was still being charged $2.00 (total of $18) for parking. The next time the charge was refunded correctly. It is important to review your bill before departing.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
We are pleased you stayed with us on your way back to New York City. Your pictures of the hotel rooms and lobby areas look great. You mentioned the oddity of the split of toilet and sink. In the 1960’s the trend was to have the bathroom separated into two areas so that two people could make use of the space. The sink and mirror outside were separated from the toilet and shower/tub area. In keeping with the décor of the 1920’s gilded age, the hotel is quietly elegant from the lobby and common areas to the guest rooms. We do apologize though for the misunderstanding about a parking fee being charged when you did not have a vehicle and relieved that all of the necessary adjustments were made smoothly for you. The next time you are able to visit Newport, we hope you can stay longer and check out what Newport has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    334
    121
    57
    18
See reviews for
194
568
31
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston MA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

My friend and I drove to Newport for a daytrip in order to see the mansions and experience the "Holiday House Tours". So much to see in so little time, we spontaneously decided to stay over and continue with the tours the following day.Viking looked well kept and welcoming despite the fact that they were undergoing renovations at the time. Staff were incredible.....they gave us a fabulous room at a great discount due to the renovations---We even received a AAA discount on top of that! Room was beautiful and ammaculate! Staff was wonderful! Definitely will be back!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
We were so pleased that you took the time to write to us about your "Holiday House Tours" experience in November 2010. It won’t be long that another holiday season will be upon us. When you visit again you will see all of our renovations are now complete and the Hotel Viking is sparkling and a delight for our guests to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

My husband is handicapped (he uses a walker). The staff could not have been more accommodating.
Handicapped accessible room ideal.
Outdoor patio extremely inviting. We had high tea one afternoon as well as breakfast both mornings we were there. Food first rate. Excellent service.
An unexpected feature - the hotel will provide a car and driver if available for a nominal fee.
So no worries about parking, which is scarce.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Executive Admin. Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
We are glad you were able to enjoy one of our handicapped accessible rooms and also be able to dine on the lovely patio. All of our associates are trained to be consistent, friendly, and professional to all of our guests. So we are appreciative that you were treated just as we would hope you would be by all you encountered. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Hotel Viking is without a doubt one of the best hotels we have ever visited. It is beautifully maintained both inside and out-the entrance landscaping/flowers are lovely. Our room was spotless, the linens plush and decor befitting a European hotel.
In addition, the staff was friendly and accommodating. This was a treat since most hotel staff we encounter is impersonal and not as knowledgable.
The Newport location is perfect! You can walk to the waterfront, mansions, shopping and wonderful restaurants. If you choose to dine in, the food is wonderful so you really don't have to venture out at all! Definitely a 5 star experience!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Your comments are truly welcomed by all of us. We are at the height of the season and there is a lot of hustle, bustle and activities at the hotel as well as all over Newport proper. To have you comment about the beauty of the property both inside and out is a pleasure and gives new incentive and momentum for all of us to keep up the high standards we have set for all of our guests to receive. Thank you again and please plan to return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Room was plush and comfortable. Great ambience and beautiful decor in the Viking Room. Felt as if we were at home, only better! Great location, attentive staff, cool bar with live music, very comfy bed. This was our 4th visit, we'll be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We recently stayed in the Viking hotel for the first time, although we are regular visitors to Newport R.I., and love the place. The hotel itself is elegant, if in need of a few touch-ups here and there. The staff were very welcoming, effiicient and courteous. Our initial room was very spacious, and thebathroom, although small, integrated well into the surrounding decor.
Unfortunately, we experienced a problem with our room, which I will not detail, as the response of the staff in rectifying this problem far outweighed any disappointement we may have initially experienced.
We were quickly moved to a suite, complete with separate living room, and the bedroom was large, spacious, bright, with a four poster bed, and beautifully decorated bathroom. On our return to our room that evening, we had received a beautiful bottle of wine, cheese, crackers and fruit, with the complements of the hotel, together with a personalised note of apology.
I have to say that we were completed bowled over by the response of the hotel staff to our problem. In any business situations arise that are not acceptable, but it is the response and promptness of the management in rectifying any situation, that ensure customer satisfacftion.
The Viking Hotel has the best customer satisfaction policy you could imagine, it is well located within waslking distance of the marina, and provides everything you could want from a hotel.
I will defintiely return to the Viking, as I visit Newport regularly, and woul have NO hesitation in recommending it.
Many thanks to the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
8-17-2011 On behalf of all of us at the Hotel Viking and Noble House Hotels and Resorts we wish to thank you for your praise! Not only is your posting on Trip Advisor a way for first time guests to decide if they wish to visit the Hotel Viking, our management team can also incorporate your ideas, on how a guest feels about their stay, into our on-going training programs. We will continue to stress how valued a guest opinion is and how it affects each department. We all need to be reminded of the extreme importance of how our guests are treated from the moment of arrival to departure. This is the ultimate goal for all to aspire to. As a first time visitor to our hotel, we appreciate your candor and your excellent description of our décor and how it is all pulled together. It is truly an honor to know we were able to fulfill our goal and provide you with an experience that makes you want to return again. We will all continue to work together to make it happen. Please be sure to let us know when you will be here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

My husband and I celebrated our 26th wedding anniversary and we stayed for the first time at the Hotel Viking this weekend. We had the most wonderful time staying at this beautiful hotel and the entire visit was perfect. We arrived before our room was available, but were able to vale park, drop off luggage and head out for lunch. The front desk called to let us know our room was ready and we entered a lovely, elegant, and comfortable room. In the evening we headed up to the roof top bar to hear live entertainment and enjoy the breeze.
Our package included a buffet breakfast in the morning that was very nice, and tasty. This hotel is spotless, the service was friendly, and we highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: When making reservation, let them know why you are staying at the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmalloy, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Congratulations on your recent 26th wedding anniversary that you and your husband were able to celebrate and enjoy with all of us at the Hotel Viking. Our staff does take great pride in doing their very best to work at having a spotless hotel which takes constant work. When our guests are able to relax and enjoy the hotel from dining in One Bellevue, to visiting the Top of Newport we are more than delighted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Address: One Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newport
#2 Business Hotel in Newport
#4 Family Hotel in Newport
#5 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old world charm-updated with modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Viking, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.