We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49 America's Cup Avenue, Newport, RI 02840   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Newport
Hornell, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Love this place...located right in the middle of all the action! Walking distance to everything! Very pleasant staff, rooms are nice and very clean. Great bar attached in the rear, located right next to the shops on the wharf. Amazing location to have a drink and watch the sunset! Love it here!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    187
    124
    59
    49
See reviews for
124
226
9
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trumbull
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is a great located hotel in the heart of town directly on the water which makes it both walkable and scenic. Have stayed here many times in the past but not in some time as for one reason or another have found ourselves at other hotels when in Newport. I go back to the 80's when this I believe was the Treadway but even though the rooms & bathrooms may be a bit small and it may be not as quiet as newer facilities they have done a fine job both maintaining & upgrading. Both the restaurant and indoor pool are inviting spots and the staff could not have been nicer. My only small disappointment is there is no exercise room but that just meant that a run through town & by the harbor was in order and a treat. We will always be happy to stay here during future trips to town.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed in a King overlooking the water on 4th floor. Nice view, friendly and helpful desk staff, and decent room. It was clean, and appointed as well as I'd expect for the very reasonable off-season rate we paid. I can say it was a good value, and I was not disappointed. In summer, there's a balcony to enjoy. And the hotel is very well located, walking distance to all the shops, restaurants and bars you could ever want. Parking is not free, but seemed secure and ample in a town seemingly short on supply.

On plus side: Location! Harbor view. Parking. Friendly staff. Free wifi. Tap water tastes like bottled. (I know that's weird, but it was so unusual I had to mention)

Detractors: Smaller room. Thin(ish) walls. No outlets for charging electronics. Plain and slightly dated decor.

All in all, we saved money by choosing this nice 3-star hotel and were not disappointed. (The savings vs Vanderbilt Grace or Pier 40-something paid for a couples massage at Viking's SpaTerre. Worth it!)

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Britain, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

just stayed here this past weekend to do the xmas thing at the mansions. i arrived lil after 2 and was able to check in early . really good location in that you can walk to most everything. the mansions are too far to walk but as far as restaurants this is a great spot to start from. room was clean and neat, bathroom is a little small but you really don't need anything big. Staff was very helpful. would stay here again

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here for the weekend of November 8th. Upon check in, we received the wrong room. Our reservation for was one King and as a couple received two fulls. We even paid extra upon our booking for the upgraded room with a patio and were very upset that we had two beds rather than one. Apparently the hotel was sold out due to a wedding in town and there was no other room available.

We dropped off our bags in the room and headed off to lunch to return to a room full of ants crawling on the bed, nightstand and pillows. We called maintenance who said they could "bomb" the room with chemicals and we could come back in a few hours. We were not going to stay in a room fumigated with pesticides and requested the manger. The manager spent 15-20 mins trying to assist us and as a result we were able to move to the second floor to a single King Bed (which is what we originally requested). When we entered the new room, there was an "enhancement" that was purchased by the original booker of the room of a Bottle of Wine and snacks. We immediately got a call from the front desk that it was not ours and the staff would be back to take it out immediately.
We showered up and headed off to dinner to return to the room to find that the manager sent us a bottle of Prosecco as an apology for the experience we had underwent and also comp'd our parking and 2 breakfast vouchers.

Problems arise it the hospitality business and sometimes things are out of the hotel's control but it' how management handles the issues that is the factor whether I will continue to do business with an establishment and I'm very please with the customer service of this hotel. All in all, the hotel could certainly use a facelift and updating but I would return based on the good service.

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend the ground floor level or patio rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nasha P, Reservations Coordinator at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 4 days ago
The Newport would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review. We sincerely would like to extend our apologies for any inconveniences that you may have had during your stay with us. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to be proactive and resolve the situation, and retain your business. If and when you find yourself in the Newport area, we would love another opportunity to WOW you, and make your next visit a memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our holiday work party was hosted by the Newport this year. With all the stress of party planning you would think at least one thing would go wrong...not at the Newport! Each and every memeber of the Newport team put their kind hearts and passion for customer service into making this experience exceptionally special for all of the guests. The attention to detail, smiling faces, and helpful disposition of the staff was very refreshing.
My wonderful experience began at check in where i was greeted by Keith and Nasha; two very friendly members of the Newport team. We chatted and they informed me about the hotel and amenities and offered luggage assistance, every time i passed them they acknowledged me by name and made me feel special.
Not only was check in great but the event staff, party coordinators, and managers were fantastic! I wish i could remember everyone's name but Christine , Greg, Nasha, Keith, and our waitress Tasha are just a few members of the Newport team that truly stuck out.
Overall the Newport harbor hotel was the perfect location for this work party and the rooms had gorgeous water views. I would absolutely recommend the Newport to everyone!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nasha P, Reservations Coordinator at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 4 days ago
We appreciate you taking the time to write this wonderful review. Team Newport is delighted to hear that everything was smooth sailing with your Holiday Party. It was a pleasure taking the stress of planning this event off your hands, and we are very pleased to hear you and your co-workers had a FABULOUS time. Our team thrives on serving guest like you; it brings great joy to hear you point out certain members of our team. We can’t wait to host your next Holiday Party!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We experienced pros and cons during our stay. We traveled to Newport with relatives, so we booked three rooms and we all had similar experiences. The room itself was an okay size, but the bathroom was tiny. There was no fridge or microwave in the room, but we requested a fridge and we were accommodated quickly. When we arrived at our room after check in, the air inside was freezing! And the heating unit didn't seem to respond after we fiddled with the thermostat. The maintenance guy was summoned and we were told that the heat is often turned off in rooms or even wings at times of low occupancy. He flipped a switch and the room warmed up. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, even suggesting local activities and recommending area restaurants. We ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant each morning, and the food was only mediocre. I loved the fact that there were complimentary warm beverages in the lobby each evening. That was a nice touch. My children enjoyed the pool and we all loved the sauna. The views from our rooms were breathtaking! The best part about this hotel was the location. We were within walking distance of picturesque shops and restaurants. The only time we needed to use our car was when we wanted to tour the mansions. Overall, I give it a thumbs up.

Room Tip: Marina view rooms have fantastic views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We appreciate you sharing your family’s experiences to the “City by the Sea”. We are delighted to hear that everyone enjoyed our spectacular views from their guestrooms as well as our phenomenal location. The cooler weather makes our sauna and indoor heated salt water pool very inviting, so we’re thrilled everyone had an opportunity to utilize them. It was a pleasure having all of you stay with us and we look forward to your next family gathering at The Newport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina

Address: 49 America's Cup Avenue, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Harbor Hotel and Marina offers 133 beautifully-appointed guest rooms, all with views of the Newport Harbor, historic Queen Anne Square or Brick Market historic shopping district. Enjoy our indoor heated pool, men's and ladies' saunas, and sundeck overlooking the harbor. Pier 49 Seafood & Spirits serves classic New England cuisine in our fireside lounge, overlooking the harbor in our dining room or outside overlooking our Marina. Room Service is also available. Guestrooms are adorned in comfortable yet sophisticated furnishings and feature two double beds or one king with pillow-top mattresses. Other features such as individually controlled heat and air conditioning, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi internet connection, Keurig single cup brews coffee maker, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, two complimentary bottles of water, cable television and HBO, desk with lamp, comfortable chair, and luxurious kimono-style robes for your use during your stay make the Newport Harbor Hotel a favorite among our guests. Book your room today and see what the Newport Harbor Hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Harbor Hotel And Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.