We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49 America's Cup Avenue, Newport, RI 02840   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Newport
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Just came back from a bachelorette weekend in Newport and a great time. Hotel is right in the heart of downtown. Plenty of bars, shops and restaurant in walking distance. Views are amazing! Hotel is four floors and the rooms are clean but small. Tiny bathrooms but stocked with the usual amenities. There is parking on site, $20.00. If more than one car, additional cars can park in the visitors center for $25, within walking distance. We went on the sunset Madeline cruise which was right outside the hotel and highly recommend the cruise. You can bring your own drinks as long as they are in plastic cups. The Midtown Oyster Bar was a great restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
We appreciate you choosing The Newport for your bachelorette weekend! Our property’s location on the harbor in historic downtown Newport is certainly ideal for access to all of the best shopping, dining, entertainment, and local attractions. We are thrilled that you were also able to take advantage of a sunset cruise just minutes from our doors. For future planning, keep in mind that we do offer a sailing packages with the Madeleine, so be sure to reserve one for your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    175
    120
    59
    46
See reviews for
117
214
8
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whippany, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I just came back from a weekend stay at this hotel with a group. The hotel itself is relatively small with just four floors but it is right in the heart of Newport. Our room was a good size and had a view of the harbor and its restaurants. The bathroom was a little small (I kept hitting the soap shelf and handle bar in the shower) but clean and did just fine. The hotel staff was wonderful as well and the restaurant had a good selection of food. There's an indoor pool and an outdoor deck that sits right up against the marina. The marina has a lawn area with Adirondack chairs and a tent bar that was a great spot for evening drinks with friends. Right across the street is a bunch of stores to shop in and restaurants to eat in. I would definitely return again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your review of your weekend business trip. Our prime waterfront location in historic downtown allows our guests to enjoy breathtaking views of Newport Harbor while being steps away from some of the city’s best shopping, entertainment, attractions and dining. We are happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of some of our amenities to include the Sunset Lawn Party on our marina lawn. Whether for business or pleasure we look forward to you next visit to Newport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

this marina is very nice. needs some updates but the dockhands are amazing, especially Hannah. She knows what she's doing and obviously has sailing knowledge. Very polite and helpful. Overall the stay was great!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for writing this review regarding your stay and the amazing service Hannah provided during your dockage. We are happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next sail into Newport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed here over the fourth of July weekend for a wedding and were so disappointed. Rooms are old and have few amenities. They need refrigerators, safes, shaving/make-up mirrors, better lighting, etc. The bathroom was very out of date and needs a complete renovation. There isn't even ample shelf space for your toiletries and make-up int he bathroom. Overall room lighting was poor. Harbor view doesn't mean what it sounds like. Very expensive hotel for what you get in return. Please renovate the entire rooms!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
Green Features: They were Adequate - that is all I can say. They recycle towels and don't want to wash them with the sheets very often.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to review you 4th of July weekend trip. We are disappointed to learn that we did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is greatly appreciated regarding our guestrooms, as we greatly value all guest opinions and take them into consideration when making improvements to our property. It is our hope that you provide us the opportunity to recover your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We spent two weeks at The Newport Harbor Hotel and Marina last year and went back again this year. We were greeted by our old friend Mohammed at the door, our old friend Jeff who helped set up a lift system for my husband who is in a wheelchair. Keith the manager walked us out to the "Lawn Party" where we met a new friend "Sam" not to leave out Leo in housekeeping, Marhaz in dining and Mike at the parking gate. How many hotels have you stayed in where you end up knowing everyone's name??? Walkig distance to all the shops, restaraunts, transportation, ferry rides...and lets not forget the dining!!!!! Will continue to go back every year!

Room Tip: Some rooms face the marina, others face the shops across the parking lot
See more room tips
Green Features: Totally Green....food is fresh from local waters, towels are reused if they don't need laundering. Green information available
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
We truly appreciate this phenomenal review on your recent stay. We pride ourselves on being warm and welcoming while providing personal service. It is not uncommon for our staff to interact and develop relationships, but when a guest reciprocates we truly take notice. On behalf of all of us at The Newport, we appreciate your loyalty and anticipate your next visit to Newport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

To start off - we liked the hotel and like others say, fantastic view of the harbor and it is next to great restaurants and bars. Great for sitting outside enjoying the sun and the view. Neither the lobby or our room were remarkable, but they were nice and clean. The bed was comfortable but the pillows could be improved. But here is the issue we had and found it quite odd. We made our reservation in January with a package rate of $270. A couple days prior to our arrival, we got an e-mail saying our reservations (we had booked two rooms) had been split, which made no sense. We called and they assured us everything was fine. We arrived early and tried to check in but were told our room was not ready. The girl at the desk said they would call us when it was. A couple hours later, we checked back and were told it was still not ready. We came back at 4:00 after still receiving no call and were given the keys. The maid was in the hall and commented that she had hurried and had my room ready at 12:00 when the desk had called her and she notified the desk it was ready. I don't know why they didn't call me. My friend entered his room and it was still dirty from the other people. Instead of immediately moving him to another, they wanted him to wait more. His complaint was noted and they found him a clean room.

The next morning I got my room bill as did our friend. My bill was for $590 for one night. My wife called the desk to ask what was going on and was told that was our rate. It went back and forth to the point of insane and we had to go to the desk and show her our printed out booking rate before she would change it. Our friend had the same type of bill for almost $600 and the clerk adjusted it also. A fluke? I don't know, but I noted other people in line that seemed to have issues with the desk also.

Bottom line is I would recommend this hotel but would caution you to keep your booking receipts when you make the reservation. The mansion tour package was also very nice and was a reasonable price once the bill was adjusted back to reality. I give the hotel itself an average rating, but the location is a five.

Room Tip: The harbor view rooms are nice but no balcony upstairs, so probably not worth paying for the upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us- highlighting our Newport Attraction s Package, fantastic views of the harbor and prime location to some of the city’s finest dining, . We do apologize for the errors in your billing as well as your traveling partner. It is our hope that we were able to rectify the situation satisfactorily and retain your loyalty. It would be our pleasure having you back the next time you are in Newport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay with my family and we all wish it could have been longer. The staff was friendly and helpful and our room was immaculate. Best of all, right outside the door is the marina and Bowen's wharf. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: make sure you request harbor view for a fantastic view of the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharod B, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this delightful review about your 3-night stay with your family. We are so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of our stunning location and amenities. We would be honored to have you and your family be our guest the next time you are in Newport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina

Address: 49 America's Cup Avenue, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Harbor Hotel and Marina offers 133 beautifully-appointed guest rooms, all with views of the Newport Harbor, historic Queen Anne Square or Brick Market historic shopping district. Enjoy our indoor heated pool, men's and ladies' saunas, and sundeck overlooking the harbor. Pier 49 Seafood & Spirits serves classic New England cuisine in our fireside lounge, overlooking the harbor in our dining room or outside overlooking our Marina. Room Service is also available. Guestrooms are adorned in comfortable yet sophisticated furnishings and feature two double beds or one king with pillow-top mattresses. Other features such as individually controlled heat and air conditioning, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi internet connection, Keurig single cup brews coffee maker, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, two complimentary bottles of water, cable television and HBO, desk with lamp, comfortable chair, and luxurious kimono-style robes for your use during your stay make the Newport Harbor Hotel a favorite among our guests. Book your room today and see what the Newport Harbor Hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Harbor Hotel And Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.