We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina

Save Saved
You added Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49 America's Cup Avenue, Newport, RI 02840   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 20 hotels in Newport
Bloomfield, Connecticut
1 review
“Memorable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for two nights this December, a birthday gift to me. Aside from the great location for enjoying Newport, views of the harbor, good food and live music, the staff was just wonderful. They went the extra mile, especially when I mentioned that it was my birthday. A special thank you to Chef Aga, Brandon, Jen, Brian, Mackenzie, Marissa and Maricel, as well as the many others on staff who were so welcoming. We can't wait to return in the spring!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline O, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for all of the kind words and taking the time to individually mention those on our staff who provided notable customer service! We are delighted that we were able to make your birthday so special and your stay a memorable one. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest in December and we are already awaiting your return visit in the spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    153
    109
    55
    45
See reviews for
99
182
6
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Very pleasant stay at this hotel located off the great warlf and harbor. Spa & swimming pool are quiet, clean and great in winter! If you will get room facing on the water way, viewing Narragansette Bay day and sunset time are just specutacular. Very relaxing. You can also step out to enjoy the garden this view. Also, you can access to the great restaurants, shops and much more in a minute! We will definitely choose this hotel.

Room Tip: Room located water front is super!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline O, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Newport. We agree that our guestrooms overlooking Newport Harbor have spectacular views! We are glad that you felt fully emerged in the “City by the Sea” with our central location on the harbor in historic downtown Newport – just steps away from Bowen’s Wharf, shopping, dining, entertainment, and local attractions. We are pleased that you enjoyed staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peekskill, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed here numerous times before, over the last 7 years. Always has been a solid good, never great, but always good.
This weekend was NOT good. Breakfast, fried eggs & pancakes for two, took over 25 minutes to deliver from the time we ordered. When we were seated, there was only 1 other table occupied. Waitress was clueless, manager said, 'all I can say is I'm sorry' . Not exactly what you're looking for when you're on vacation.
The Concierge gave us wrong information about what was open/not open in the area.
Bed was lumpy and uncomfortable.
Housekeeping staff had their carts in the middle of the hallway, forcing me to move their carts out of the way to get our luggage through. No Bellmen, no luggage carts.
At checkout, bill was incorrect. They attempted to charged us for a meal we did not have at their restaurant.
Our next trip to Newport will definitely include a different hotel. So should yours.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline O, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and greatly value your feedback so that we may appropriately address the concerns that you have expressed. We would like to extend our sincere apologies for not being able to meet your expectations during your stay. Customer service is our top priority and it is inexcusable that the accommodations and service you received were unsatisfactory. Please know that we are grateful for your repeat business and it is our hope that you will reconsider staying with us again during a future visit to Newport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel. No frill hotel but very conveniently situated close to everything. We didn't have a car but the hotel is a few minutes walk from the city bus station. The room was clean. Staff very friendly. Leya at the reception desk was very helpful and attentive. Water bottles and coffee capsules replaced each day. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline O, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent overnight accommodations. As mentioned, our property is conveniently located downtown and is within walking distance to shopping, dining, entertainment, local attractions, and public transportation. We take pride in offering the best location, service, and value. We are thrilled that you were able to experience all three of these attributes, especially the service you received from Lea. It would be our pleasure to have you as our guest again during your next visit to Newport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Have eaten at this restaurant with friends during the summer and loved the chowder and clamcakes. Service at the bar was prompt and friendly, as we had many laughs with the bartender. We headed down to Newport a couple of weeks ago with the kids for the Parade of Sails and decided to stop by the restaurant again to get out of the cold. To our delight, the same bartender, Jen was working. Again, we enjoyed some chowder with the kids and cozied up in front of the fireplace.

Would definitely recommend this restaurant, as it is extremely friendly!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline O, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experiences at Pier 49. We are delighted that you enjoyed dining with us this summer and returned again for the Parade of Sails. We appreciate you complimenting the prompt and friendly service you received from Jen and the rest of the food & beverage team! Thank you again and we look forward to you stopping in again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This is my 7th time planning a conference at this location and each time gets better and better. I have people attending from all over the country and they love coming here. The sales staff Debbie, Greg & Jenny to Patty & Sue the catering and banquet manager and their staff Jermane & Maricel can't do enough to help you. one of our attendees had a problem with a shower in their room and not only did they upgrade him but they comped us the room. They bend over backwards to help in any way they can and to let us know they appreciate our business. From a handwritten note thanking us for staying with them, to putting a few of their yumnmy croissants and muffins in a to go box for some of our associates that commented on how delicious they were. Small things mean a lot and those gestures show how much they care about their guests. You can also see how much the staff actually cares about each other as there is no 'that's not my job' attitude like you might see at larger hotels or businesses, everyone helps everyone in order to assure that things run as smoothly as possible. So, if you are in Newport for work OR fun, this is the place to stay as it's close to everything. You can walk everywhere and the views are amazing, especially in summer when you see some of the America's Cup Racing Yachts at anchor.

Room Tip: in the summer ask for a room on the 1st floor overlooking the harbor as you have a little patio that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline O, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write this wonderful review regarding your conference at The Newport! We are thrilled that your group enjoyed their experience – everything from our meeting and guestroom accommodations to personalized service. Customer service is our priority and we are pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations. Thank you for highlighting the service you received specifically from Debbie, Greg, Jenny, Patty, Sue, Jermaine, and Maricel. We are extremely fortunate to have such dedicated and willing staff members as a part of our team. We are all very much looking forward to your group returning in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I recently had the good fortune to spend a couple of nights at the hotel and found the rooms clean and comfy and the staff helpful they really made us feel comfortable and welcome. I love the view and the location of the hotel. It is very convienient to the shopping area and many restaurants.Overall I would recommend this hotel and will be happy to go back again and again! The one thing I would like to suggest is an upgrade on the pillows. They need new and better pillows.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the harbor have wonderful views of the Marina and Harbor you can catch a great suns...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline O, Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review on your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed the comfortable accommodations, helpful service, and convenient location. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina

Address: 49 America's Cup Avenue, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Harbor Hotel and Marina offers 133 beautifully-appointed guest rooms, all with views of the Newport Harbor, historic Queen Anne Square or Brick Market historic shopping district. Enjoy our indoor heated pool, men's and ladies' saunas, and sundeck overlooking the harbor. Pier 49 Seafood & Spirits serves classic New England cuisine in our fireside lounge, overlooking the harbor in our dining room or outside overlooking our Marina. Room Service is also available. Guestrooms are adorned in comfortable yet sophisticated furnishings and feature two double beds or one king with pillow-top mattresses. Other features such as individually controlled heat and air conditioning, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi internet connection, Keurig single cup brews coffee maker, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, two complimentary bottles of water, cable television and HBO, desk with lamp, comfortable chair, and luxurious kimono-style robes for your use during your stay make the Newport Harbor Hotel a favorite among our guests. Book your room today and see what the Newport Harbor Hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Harbor Hotel And Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.