We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location- Excellent Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina

Save Saved
You added Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49 America's Cup Avenue, Newport, RI 02840   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 20 hotels in Newport
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Location- Excellent Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

No Frills hotel, but if you want an amazing location and excellent customer service, then you will not be disappointed. Thermostat was not working, and maintenance crew was sent up in minutes to fix the issue. Very helpful front desk and overall great stay in Newport.

Room Tip: Harbor view is worth the extra few dollars
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your enjoyable experience. We are pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations with location and customer service. We look forward to welcoming you to Newport again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    154
    110
    57
    45
See reviews for
100
189
7
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Went to the website gonewport.com and found a coupon for 30% off on certain dates for this hotel. We were able to get a room on the 4th floor with a water view and a balcony which was unbelievable for the price. Had the best views of Newport Harbor ! Leya & Akima at the front desk were very helpful. Would have stayed longer if the room was not already booked for the rest of the weekend. Will be coming back here soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the harbor view and a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We are pleased to hear that you were able to take advantage of our 30% off overnight accommodations promotion and enjoyed your guestroom accommodations. We appreciate you recognizing both Lea and Akima as we feel privileged to have such wonderful Front Desk Agents on our team. We certainly look forward to having you stay with us during your next visit to Newport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

very comfortable, from the cozy beds to the white, fluffy towels. everything is well maintained. the only downsides, the hallway smelled bad from all the food left by other guests every day. also the tub and sink didn't drain so we had to contact the front desk to plunge. the bathrooms are a little small too. other than that, great location and great place to stay with friends or family.

Room Tip: harborside is best for complete silence, but i didn't mind the street noise. the hotel is set b...
See more room tips
Green Features: helpful that they recycle the plastic cups near their daily fruit water.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your review regarding your recent overnight accommodations. Most importantly, we would like to extend our apologies for the downsides you experienced during your stay. Our staff works diligently to ensure we exceed our guest’s expectations including both appearance and operational aspects of the hotel. We are pleased that the situation you brought to our attention was rectified quickly and are thrilled that you also enjoyed our location. Thank you again and we look forward to you returning soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A great hotel for a girls getaway in Newport. Staff was so helpful and friendly. Paula the concierge was the greatest with ideas and directions! She was very sweet and funny as well! The manager himself addressed the few minor issues we had with speed and professionalism. Hotel is not the newest but it is an amazing location if you want to shop, eat and drink, party at night and explore the sights. Clean and right in the thick of things. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your girls getaway at our hotel and was able to take advantage of all that this beautiful “City by the Sea” has to offer. Thank you for the kind words regarding Paula as we feel very fortunate to have her as a member on our team. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

I love that this hotel is on the marina and close to shops and restraunts. I did think the room was clean but daily room cleaning happened late (around 345pm) and my husband had to hunt down the person cleaning our room to get towels since we had an early reservation for dinner. Needless to say our room was not cleaned. The AC unit would also make a low banging noise every so often. Pillows were horrible and the bed not that much better. Again great location but not more than an average stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Our housekeeping staff does its best on servicing all of our guestrooms in a timely fashion and we apologize for getting to your room later in the day. In the future, please do not ever hesitate to contact the Front Desk to make housekeeping aware that you are out of the room for the day so we can service it at your earliest convenience. We look forward to exceeding your expectations during your next visit to Newport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Pricey for hotel however the location is great. The room service was terrible. We were not able to have our room serviced because we got back to our room at 330 and it was not cleaned yet. The woman who was suppose to service our room left at 4 even though the front desk told us it would be serviced later. Overall experience okay. The room was clean however very expensive for what you get. Reminds me of a fancy motel. Paying for parking each day is also a drag!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Our housekeeping staff does its best on servicing all of our guestrooms in a timely fashion and we apologize for getting to your room later in the day. In the future, please do not ever hesitate to contact the Front Desk to make housekeeping aware that you are out of the room for the day so we can service it at your earliest convenience. We look forward to exceeding your expectations during your next visit to Newport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel is nothing special as hotels go and as such, it seemed very overpriced. The rooms and bathrooms are very cramped for space. There were three of us and we ended up having to take turns putting out our toiletries for use because of lack of space. It felt like having to check out every day of the stay. It seems that their rates are based on the fantastic waterfront location in downtown Newport. We definitely enjoyed the proximity to beaches, the Cliff Walk, the mansions, an arcade, great shops and restaurants, etc. The hotel's restaurant is average and we weren't allowed to sit inside, so we got some light blankets from the car so that the chill didn't ruin the experience.

Room Tip: The waterfront room had a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent stay. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the close proximity to all of Newport’s best attractions that are within walking distance from our hotel. Although we appreciate your honest feedback, we are regretful that we did not meet your guestroom expectations. We understand your concern for the lack of extra space for storing toiletries in the bathrooms and will certainly look into improvement options. Again, we value your remarks and look forward to exceeding your expectations during a future stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina

Address: 49 America's Cup Avenue, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Harbor Hotel and Marina offers 133 beautifully-appointed guest rooms, all with views of the Newport Harbor, historic Queen Anne Square or Brick Market historic shopping district. Enjoy our indoor heated pool, men's and ladies' saunas, and sundeck overlooking the harbor. Pier 49 Seafood & Spirits serves classic New England cuisine in our fireside lounge, overlooking the harbor in our dining room or outside overlooking our Marina. Room Service is also available. Guestrooms are adorned in comfortable yet sophisticated furnishings and feature two double beds or one king with pillow-top mattresses. Other features such as individually controlled heat and air conditioning, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi internet connection, Keurig single cup brews coffee maker, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, two complimentary bottles of water, cable television and HBO, desk with lamp, comfortable chair, and luxurious kimono-style robes for your use during your stay make the Newport Harbor Hotel a favorite among our guests. Book your room today and see what the Newport Harbor Hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Harbor Hotel And Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;