We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“America's Cup Runneth Under” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49 America's Cup Avenue, Newport, RI 02840   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Girls Just Wanna Have Fun
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“America's Cup Runneth Under”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I just returned from a business trip which caused me to stay in this less than desirable hotel. It has a great location and some nice harbor views but that is where the superlatives end. This is an old hotel that has very poor infrastucture and function. I walked in to find a rather aloof hotelier who took his time even to acknowledge my arrival despite the late hour. His service was slow and apatheitc as if I had interupted his evening. He could only offer me a room with two double beds despite my obvious height demanding a king. The elevator is incredibly slow and antiquated which matches the decor. Rooms are small and the bathroom is literally 4 feet by 4 feet. There is no room for a counter in the bathroom and the shower/tub is fit for a child but not an adult. There are minimal amenities and no ceiling vent. Water pressure is poor and the plumbing fixtures rattle and hum with rust and age. They have attempted to upgrade the look somewhat with better towels and linens but there is only so much lipstick that you can put on a pig. The bed is fairly comfortable but that won't matter because the AC unit is so loud you will have troube sleeping. The TV malfunctioned regularly and the phone did not work. No place to plug-in your electronics save one light outlet or balancing your iPhone/iPad on the sink in the bathroom. No closet in the rooms, just an open rack for hanging clothes. There is no fitness center, just an old pool that was not inviting.This property is a tear down and I cannot recommend it. Newport was one of the first playgrounds for the rich and famous but none of them would ever stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    209
    139
    61
    53
See reviews for
143
255
11
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night at the Newport Harbor Hotel for a quick weekend getaway. The front desk staff was courteous and check-in was easy. Our room had a king-sized bed, clean bathroom with nice toiletries and a great view of the water. Overnight parking was only $15, which is a bargain in Newport. The room was equipped with a Keurig coffee machine for the morning.

This is a great hotel located right on the water within easy walking distance of all the great restaurants and shopping located in downtown Newport. I recommend it for short one or two night getaways.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hotel is very centrally located and a perfect place for enjoying the downtown and harbor shopping in Newport. It has a nice indoor pool (no hot tub - bummer) and pool deck on the water for sunbathing. The rooms are average and not a lot of bells and whistles, but for the location, you can't beat it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I visited Newport RI for the first time in June for a girl's weekend. The hotel was perfect, it was clean and quiet in a fantastic location.. The parking was $15 a day with 24 access to your car. The restaurant/bar had in-door outdoor seating and live music. Keep in mind this is an expensive area so rooms do tend to be on the high side for the accommodations. We did not take advantage of the in-door pool, but did enjoy time at the beach.. Sooo relaxing!! When you step outside the hotel you have complete access to restaurants, shops and many out door patio bars with live music all day. The cliff walk was beautiful as well as the spectacular mansions. We found the town easy to navigate on foot and by car. The restaurants we tried all had delicious food, of course the seafood was so fresh. Plenty of nightlife and bars for all ages. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
It is with great pleasure to read your review regarding your recent stay with us at The Newport. Your kind words and travel tips are greatly appreciated. We are pleased to hear that you were able to take advantage of our ideal location and visit some of Newport’s best area attractions including the beach, Cliff Walk, restaurants, and shops. It sounds like you had a great girl’s weekend getaway and your stay with us was an enjoyable one! We most certainly look forward to you staying with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Nice and clean hotel and convenient to go to the different fine restaurants around. Close to the marina. excellent location for family reunion. Rooms were a bit small. Staff were friendly and helpful. Have to pay extra for parking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

If this hotel was anywhere else but downtown Newport on the harbor it would be nothing more than a 2-3 star chain hotel. The building is worn and old though attempts were made to improve it and the bathrooms are not bad. The staff lack any warmth or customer service training. The Pier 49 restaurant and function rooms are tired and worn. Again the only redeeming aspect of this property is its location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We would like to stress that we are continually making updates and improving our hotel in all areas, including appearance and service. We certainly respect your comments, however it is with disappointment to read that you feel “the only redeeming aspect of this property is its location.” Our hotel prides itself on location as well as service and value. It is our priority to exceed all of our guest’s expectations and we sincerely apologize for our shortfall. Please know that your feedback is greatly appreciated and we hope you will consider staying at our property again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jericho, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The reason to stay near everything, select the ground floor and walk out to the marina.
Accomodations don't justify the price. Pillows are old and hard, bathrooms , shower and tubs are tiny and need updating. Sliding door to the outside should be repaired to be able to slide. Cost for the accomodation is too high for what you receive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review your guestroom accommodations. Please know that we take pride in offering the best value in Newport, especially with our exceptional location and service. However, we would like to extend our sincere apologies for not being able to meet your expectations in other areas during your stay. We take all of our guest’s feedback wholeheartedly and into consideration when making improvements to our property. It is our hope that you will consider staying with us again during a future visit to Newport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina

Address: 49 America's Cup Avenue, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Harbor Hotel and Marina offers 133 beautifully-appointed guest rooms, all with views of the Newport Harbor, historic Queen Anne Square or Brick Market historic shopping district. Enjoy our indoor heated pool, men's and ladies' saunas, and sundeck overlooking the harbor. Pier 49 Seafood & Spirits serves classic New England cuisine in our fireside lounge, overlooking the harbor in our dining room or outside overlooking our Marina. Room Service is also available. Guestrooms are adorned in comfortable yet sophisticated furnishings and feature two double beds or one king with pillow-top mattresses. Other features such as individually controlled heat and air conditioning, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi internet connection, Keurig single cup brews coffee maker, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, two complimentary bottles of water, cable television and HBO, desk with lamp, comfortable chair, and luxurious kimono-style robes for your use during your stay make the Newport Harbor Hotel a favorite among our guests. Book your room today and see what the Newport Harbor Hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Harbor Hotel And Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.