We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49 America's Cup Avenue, Newport, RI 02840   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Girls Just Wanna Have Fun
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Morristown, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My friend and I traveled to Newport to check out the mansion tour and cliff walk. This hotel was great! Perfect location, clean rooms and friendly staff. My friend accidentally lost her ring when we left, and the staff found it and called us to pick it up!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
We appreciate you choosing our property for your overnight accommodations while traveling to Newport! We are glad your visit was an enjoyable one and are pleased to hear we were able to locate your lost item. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    208
    139
    61
    53
See reviews for
142
253
11
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Since moving to Boston in August I had my first visit to Newport over the Easter weekend. Having read some of the reviews on here I was a little concerned after booking this hotel. However, from the moment I arrived my fears were put to rest - the reception staff were friendly and helpful, the room (a King with Harborview) was fantastic (with coffee-maker, very comfortable bed and a sliding door right out onto the marina) and the location (right in the thick of it) was just what I wanted.

I will certainly be returning to Newport over the summer, and will be hoping to stay at this hotel when I do - great hotel, thank you so much for a fantastic stay!

Room Tip: Rooms with harborview give you a wonderful view to wake up to each morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed here in 3 different rooms for St. Pat's weekend in Newport. It was a great location and a decent price. Our room was a little small and between 3 rooms, 2 had bathroom issues that needed to be fixed. We requested rooms together and got that. Parking was free as part of our hotel stay which was nice b/c we expected to pay extra.
We would probably stay here again b/c it was a decent price for the weekend and we didn't have any issues with check in or check out and staff was quick to respond to requests.
Very basic but served it's purpose...a bed to sleep in so nobody was driving.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Living in Massachussetts we travel to Newport quite often for long weekend stays. This is the first time we stayed at this hotel. It is the BEST!! Our stay was around Christmas time,and it was a great experience,the best resturants and shops are within walking distance, You feel safe and secure walking around day or night. The mansions are a quick drive from here. As far as the hotel goes,it was Clean,staff were very helpful,the rooms have a wonderful view of the harbor. I would recommend this hotel any time of the year. We will be going back this summer. TRUST ME YOU WILL LOVE IT!! Oh,they also have flat screen tvs,Kurieg coffee makers,most important I cannot stress enough,the rooms,and baths are kept immaculate!!

Room Tip: Try to reserve harbor view,first floor or top floor does not matter,the view is spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments! We are so pleased to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your weekend getaway, especially it being your first time staying with us at The Newport. Our location truly is in the center of it all and we are glad you were able to take advantage of all that Newport has to offer! We work hard to keep our property and guestrooms immaculate and appreciate your kind words commending our cleanliness. Thank you again and we look forward to your return in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Spent a weekend there in January and was not impressed. The weekend was very windy and the patio doors in the room were terrible, they just slowed the wind down a little. The drapes flapped the whole night. It was not only our room as we went with 3 other couples and all the rooms had the same fluttering drapes. The only good thing was the location, it was perferct. The restaurant in the hotel was worse than the rooms. Service sucked and 7 of the 8 meals were wrong. Please STAY AWAY from this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
It is with disappointment to read this review regarding your overnight stay and dining experience. We feel very fortunate to be located in the heart of historic downtown Newport and on the harbor. With that perfect waterfront location comes the uncertainty of the weather. We strive to provide the most comfortable accommodations despite what Mother Nature has in store. Our motto is to do “Whatever It Takes” to ensure our guests receive the best possible service and accommodations. In the future, please do not hesitate to contact our management staff during your stay to assist you. There is always room for improvement and in this case, we would have been happy to address your concern by changing guestrooms if available. Also, we certainly apologize for any errors that may have occurred on our part while dining at Pier 49 and always try diligently to remedy the situation. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I just got back after spending a long weekend in Newport and staying at the Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina. Upon reading the other reviews I was somewhat concerned. I am happy to report all my fears were alleviated. My adult son and I found the hotel well above satisfactory. The staff was kind and attentive. Our room was very clean and spacious.The beds were comfortable, but not the best. The bathroom was a little outdated and somewhat small, but clean. Overall I was very pleased.If you want luxury, you are not going to find that here. If you want a great location, a clean hotel, a huge indoor pool, you will be pleased. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get a water view. We overlooked downtown Newport, which was nice too. I heard someone at che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed here for business prior to the boat show. The location is superb difficult to better in the area. The only let down was the attention of staff whilst we were there. After we left we were charged for an additional night. Which was a nightmare to sort out once we had returned to the UK, The check in was prolonged and we felt like we were an inconvenience. The rooms were very dated. That said food was good and breakfast was excellent sat outside looking across the marina. Would i return? Yes for location, no for service.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for writing a review regarding your stay at The Newport Harbor Hotel and Marina. We are pleased to hear your comments complimenting our property’s superb location as well as the quality of food served in our restaurant, Pier 49. That being said, if we don’t receive all feedback, whether it be good or bad, then we are not aware of where our attributes or faults lie. Reading your remarks concerning our service and knowing that we did not meet your expectations is very disheartening. Our employees are empowered to do “Whatever It Takes” to ensure your stay with us is nothing short of exemplary at all times, including before, during, and after your stay. We certainly apologize for any billing errors that may have occurred on our part and understand your frustration. Please know that it is always our priority to resolve any discrepancies as quickly as possible. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to Newport soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina

Address: 49 America's Cup Avenue, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Harbor Hotel and Marina offers 133 beautifully-appointed guest rooms, all with views of the Newport Harbor, historic Queen Anne Square or Brick Market historic shopping district. Enjoy our indoor heated pool, men's and ladies' saunas, and sundeck overlooking the harbor. Pier 49 Seafood & Spirits serves classic New England cuisine in our fireside lounge, overlooking the harbor in our dining room or outside overlooking our Marina. Room Service is also available. Guestrooms are adorned in comfortable yet sophisticated furnishings and feature two double beds or one king with pillow-top mattresses. Other features such as individually controlled heat and air conditioning, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi internet connection, Keurig single cup brews coffee maker, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, two complimentary bottles of water, cable television and HBO, desk with lamp, comfortable chair, and luxurious kimono-style robes for your use during your stay make the Newport Harbor Hotel a favorite among our guests. Book your room today and see what the Newport Harbor Hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Harbor Hotel And Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.