We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast could use some heat and more!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49 America's Cup Avenue, Newport, RI 02840   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Girls Just Wanna Have Fun
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Breakfast could use some heat and more!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Overall the hotel was fine, but the breakfast buffet was lacking. Cold everything, even the water to pour over the boxed oatmeal was cold. Bagels were not totally fresh. Thank goodness on the last day the coffee was actaully hot. I tried using the Kurig in my room, but it didn't work. I had to keep the button pushed in order for the water to filter through, and then it was cold. The entire place should be renovated, the bathroom especially needs to be. Old fixtures, little space to put your bathroom articles. My bed on the second day was barely made up, kind of makes you wonder what was going on when I was away! Pillows were still strewn on the chair where I left them. However, the bed was comfortable and the room temp was adequate.

The staff was friendly, and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review concerning your recent stay. We appreciate your kind words about our staff being friendly and helpful. Regarding the breakfast buffet and guestroom conditions, we always encourage guests to notify our staff immediately should there be an occurrence when something is not up to par. It is our pleasure to do whatever it takes to gratify our guests during their stay, so please do not hesitate to speak to a Manager on Duty the next time you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    205
    139
    61
    53
See reviews for
142
252
10
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed at Newport Harbor Hotel for 2 nights... should have paid an extra $20-$30 a night to stay somewhere else :( Was given a room with a double bed! Two adults in a double bed.. The hotel does not offer queen and was sold out of king. Very frustrating. Additionally the rooms are tight, there is no continental breakfast, and the bathroom shower was cheap and uncomfortable. Spend a bit more somewhere else! The only perk to the hotel is its great location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Islip, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel was clean but smelled a bit musty. Staff was very helpful with maps and pamphlets of events in the area. We unfortunately stayed in ground level room on the parking lot side. It was very noisy with party-goers talking in full voices as they stumbled back to their rooms. At 4am people on the floor above us started yelling at the noisy people in the parking lot and that was the end of sleep for the night. The room had no overhead lights and only one bedside lamp to be shared by both beds. Basically impossible to read. Also, they have thermostat control on the radiator - you are limited in how cool you can set the AC and heat. The shower head also has a regulator, so you can't get full water flow either. We will stay here again, but we'll have to pay up to stay on the harbor side to get a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Parking lot side rooms are very noisy at all times of day and night. If you can afford it, stay on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

we only tayed for one night and arrived quite late. The staff was helpful and provided a lot of informaion about the area. There are some nice restaurants nearby. No use to say that the beach and the view is simlpy beautiful in this part of the usa.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerly, Rhode Island
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I recently planned a Bachelorette party for a friend and all 8 of us stayed here and got 2 rooms. We planned on visiting a winery first which was only about 5-10 minutes from the hotel. Once we got to the hotel we had no problems checking in and when we got to our rooms the best part was...THE VIEW!! We were on the harbour side and had a great view of the bridge and all the boats in the harbour and the sunset was INCREDIBLE!! We had planned on going out to dinner and then to a bar to hear music. Everything was within walking distance of about 5 minutes and we had a great night. Everyone had fun and the rooms were absolutely fine. I know that there are plenty of places in Newport that are a lot more money and don't have the views or location that this hotel has. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danvers, Massachusetts
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed here this past weekend as well (same as previous writer - Oct. 19). I have to say, we had a very different experience. There are many reviews saying how horrible this hotel is. It was fine. It is a hotel - not the Westin. If you want a chicque hotel - stay at the Chanler (and pay the price).

The staff was friendly and helpful. I could not figure out how to turn the a/c on so I called the front desk. It is on the wall - not the a/c unit!

The bathroom is small but functional - pedestial sink. Tub could be updated but it was functional. The beds were adequate - again, not the Westin, but not hard as a rock (I would have liked softer pillows). Keurig coffee maker in the rooms.

The location couldn't be better. Walking distance to all of downtown and plenty of parking (much more than the local inns and b&b's).

3 women stayed in one room - and we managed fine.

Newport is expensive! - so although $300/night seems pricey, it isn't compared to other hotels in the area. If you are looking for upscale, this is probably not for you but, it isn't poor quality either. I rate this as an average hotel. For the price, the location, and being Newport, I would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: We had 2nd floor parking lot view. Not the best view but it was an end unit. We didn't hear anyt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed here OCT 19, 2013
Have never written a review however I was so shocked a hotel could charge 300.00 for a room a treat their guest so poorly in every way. Staff upon arriving less than friendly and not busy. We were given our room and went to put our things away to discover it was not the room we booked. Tried to call the front desk but phone was broken.
Walked back to the front desk and explained we had a room for a king not two small double beds.
After disappearing the hotel rep. said yes that's true but we had to give you this because the people extended their stay. I have done that many times and always told if I would need to change rooms. The clerk said oh well, to the phone issue and nothing at all about the switch. Oh she said we gave you a harbor view well it was the same price and extremely poor service. The beds are old and super soft bedding low quality and the mattress pad did not even cover the mattress it was more like a child's pad. Beds very uncomfortable, my husband is a tall man, needless to say we did not have a good nights sleep and could not wait to leave.
The bathroom impossible for two people to share, but in better shape than the rest of the room. Worst option in Newport, I go all the time as I have kids in school in the area. Will never stay there again. Look around there are great places for less.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina

Address: 49 America's Cup Avenue, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Harbor Hotel and Marina offers 133 beautifully-appointed guest rooms, all with views of the Newport Harbor, historic Queen Anne Square or Brick Market historic shopping district. Enjoy our indoor heated pool, men's and ladies' saunas, and sundeck overlooking the harbor. Pier 49 Seafood & Spirits serves classic New England cuisine in our fireside lounge, overlooking the harbor in our dining room or outside overlooking our Marina. Room Service is also available. Guestrooms are adorned in comfortable yet sophisticated furnishings and feature two double beds or one king with pillow-top mattresses. Other features such as individually controlled heat and air conditioning, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi internet connection, Keurig single cup brews coffee maker, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, two complimentary bottles of water, cable television and HBO, desk with lamp, comfortable chair, and luxurious kimono-style robes for your use during your stay make the Newport Harbor Hotel a favorite among our guests. Book your room today and see what the Newport Harbor Hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Harbor Hotel And Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.