We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location but not relaxing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina

Save Saved
You added Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49 America's Cup Avenue, Newport, RI 02840   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 20 hotels in Newport
East Islip, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Location but not relaxing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel was clean but smelled a bit musty. Staff was very helpful with maps and pamphlets of events in the area. We unfortunately stayed in ground level room on the parking lot side. It was very noisy with party-goers talking in full voices as they stumbled back to their rooms. At 4am people on the floor above us started yelling at the noisy people in the parking lot and that was the end of sleep for the night. The room had no overhead lights and only one bedside lamp to be shared by both beds. Basically impossible to read. Also, they have thermostat control on the radiator - you are limited in how cool you can set the AC and heat. The shower head also has a regulator, so you can't get full water flow either. We will stay here again, but we'll have to pay up to stay on the harbor side to get a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Parking lot side rooms are very noisy at all times of day and night. If you can afford it, stay on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    157
    110
    57
    45
See reviews for
100
186
7
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

we only tayed for one night and arrived quite late. The staff was helpful and provided a lot of informaion about the area. There are some nice restaurants nearby. No use to say that the beach and the view is simlpy beautiful in this part of the usa.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerly, Rhode Island
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I recently planned a Bachelorette party for a friend and all 8 of us stayed here and got 2 rooms. We planned on visiting a winery first which was only about 5-10 minutes from the hotel. Once we got to the hotel we had no problems checking in and when we got to our rooms the best part was...THE VIEW!! We were on the harbour side and had a great view of the bridge and all the boats in the harbour and the sunset was INCREDIBLE!! We had planned on going out to dinner and then to a bar to hear music. Everything was within walking distance of about 5 minutes and we had a great night. Everyone had fun and the rooms were absolutely fine. I know that there are plenty of places in Newport that are a lot more money and don't have the views or location that this hotel has. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danvers, Massachusetts
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed here this past weekend as well (same as previous writer - Oct. 19). I have to say, we had a very different experience. There are many reviews saying how horrible this hotel is. It was fine. It is a hotel - not the Westin. If you want a chicque hotel - stay at the Chanler (and pay the price).

The staff was friendly and helpful. I could not figure out how to turn the a/c on so I called the front desk. It is on the wall - not the a/c unit!

The bathroom is small but functional - pedestial sink. Tub could be updated but it was functional. The beds were adequate - again, not the Westin, but not hard as a rock (I would have liked softer pillows). Keurig coffee maker in the rooms.

The location couldn't be better. Walking distance to all of downtown and plenty of parking (much more than the local inns and b&b's).

3 women stayed in one room - and we managed fine.

Newport is expensive! - so although $300/night seems pricey, it isn't compared to other hotels in the area. If you are looking for upscale, this is probably not for you but, it isn't poor quality either. I rate this as an average hotel. For the price, the location, and being Newport, I would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: We had 2nd floor parking lot view. Not the best view but it was an end unit. We didn't hear anyt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed here OCT 19, 2013
Have never written a review however I was so shocked a hotel could charge 300.00 for a room a treat their guest so poorly in every way. Staff upon arriving less than friendly and not busy. We were given our room and went to put our things away to discover it was not the room we booked. Tried to call the front desk but phone was broken.
Walked back to the front desk and explained we had a room for a king not two small double beds.
After disappearing the hotel rep. said yes that's true but we had to give you this because the people extended their stay. I have done that many times and always told if I would need to change rooms. The clerk said oh well, to the phone issue and nothing at all about the switch. Oh she said we gave you a harbor view well it was the same price and extremely poor service. The beds are old and super soft bedding low quality and the mattress pad did not even cover the mattress it was more like a child's pad. Beds very uncomfortable, my husband is a tall man, needless to say we did not have a good nights sleep and could not wait to leave.
The bathroom impossible for two people to share, but in better shape than the rest of the room. Worst option in Newport, I go all the time as I have kids in school in the area. Will never stay there again. Look around there are great places for less.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed for a friends wedding at this location and couldn't believe the price I was paying here compared to the others in the area. The hotel is a classic example of a once great place that has been surpassed because they have done little to nothing to update the room in the last 20 years.

Problems that we experienced:
No shower curtain in our room
Air conditioning could not be adjusted, making us the room constantly cold
Beds were extremely stiff and linens were of low quality
TV is too big for cabinet and was only viewable from one side of the room
Calls to front desk were not followed up on

The only positive was the view, which was excellent on the marina.

Other notes: Bathroom was too small to get ready in. Valet was also rude and unhelpful throughout the stay. Also, the security was overzealous with enforcing a noise policy after 11pm. I received a knock on my door at 11:30pm and was told that TV after this time was a 'nuisance'. I couldn't help but laugh. I politely apologized and said I was going to bed soon and was told "Don't say you weren't warned." I get it, this is generally a hotel for older guests and they want to be friendly toward this demographic. There is no need to be rude to guests that are respectful and paying $300+/night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel is not worth the money you pay - even if you can look out the window and see yachts ! The rooms are small and the wallpaper was starting to peel off in our room. The bathroom is tiny.The dining area is small and the menu very bland. The bar was outside on the porch - in the rain - and the bartenders had a very limited list of mixed drinks that they could offer. The" bright lights" were Jeff, Paula and the gentleman at the front desk. This last employee listened graciously to guest complaints that were justified as well as outrageous....and always with dignity and calmness. While these employees went above and beyond to make our stay special, the physical plant was dreary and the presentation overall was very unimaginative. Save your money and shop around for a better deal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina

Address: 49 America's Cup Avenue, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Harbor Hotel and Marina offers 133 beautifully-appointed guest rooms, all with views of the Newport Harbor, historic Queen Anne Square or Brick Market historic shopping district. Enjoy our indoor heated pool, men's and ladies' saunas, and sundeck overlooking the harbor. Pier 49 Seafood & Spirits serves classic New England cuisine in our fireside lounge, overlooking the harbor in our dining room or outside overlooking our Marina. Room Service is also available. Guestrooms are adorned in comfortable yet sophisticated furnishings and feature two double beds or one king with pillow-top mattresses. Other features such as individually controlled heat and air conditioning, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi internet connection, Keurig single cup brews coffee maker, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, two complimentary bottles of water, cable television and HBO, desk with lamp, comfortable chair, and luxurious kimono-style robes for your use during your stay make the Newport Harbor Hotel a favorite among our guests. Book your room today and see what the Newport Harbor Hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Harbor Hotel And Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.