We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Newport - It's expensive!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49 America's Cup Avenue, Newport, RI 02840   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Girls Just Wanna Have Fun
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Danvers, Massachusetts
1 review
“It's Newport - It's expensive!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed here this past weekend as well (same as previous writer - Oct. 19). I have to say, we had a very different experience. There are many reviews saying how horrible this hotel is. It was fine. It is a hotel - not the Westin. If you want a chicque hotel - stay at the Chanler (and pay the price).

The staff was friendly and helpful. I could not figure out how to turn the a/c on so I called the front desk. It is on the wall - not the a/c unit!

The bathroom is small but functional - pedestial sink. Tub could be updated but it was functional. The beds were adequate - again, not the Westin, but not hard as a rock (I would have liked softer pillows). Keurig coffee maker in the rooms.

The location couldn't be better. Walking distance to all of downtown and plenty of parking (much more than the local inns and b&b's).

3 women stayed in one room - and we managed fine.

Newport is expensive! - so although $300/night seems pricey, it isn't compared to other hotels in the area. If you are looking for upscale, this is probably not for you but, it isn't poor quality either. I rate this as an average hotel. For the price, the location, and being Newport, I would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: We had 2nd floor parking lot view. Not the best view but it was an end unit. We didn't hear anyt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    209
    139
    61
    53
See reviews for
143
255
11
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed here OCT 19, 2013
Have never written a review however I was so shocked a hotel could charge 300.00 for a room a treat their guest so poorly in every way. Staff upon arriving less than friendly and not busy. We were given our room and went to put our things away to discover it was not the room we booked. Tried to call the front desk but phone was broken.
Walked back to the front desk and explained we had a room for a king not two small double beds.
After disappearing the hotel rep. said yes that's true but we had to give you this because the people extended their stay. I have done that many times and always told if I would need to change rooms. The clerk said oh well, to the phone issue and nothing at all about the switch. Oh she said we gave you a harbor view well it was the same price and extremely poor service. The beds are old and super soft bedding low quality and the mattress pad did not even cover the mattress it was more like a child's pad. Beds very uncomfortable, my husband is a tall man, needless to say we did not have a good nights sleep and could not wait to leave.
The bathroom impossible for two people to share, but in better shape than the rest of the room. Worst option in Newport, I go all the time as I have kids in school in the area. Will never stay there again. Look around there are great places for less.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed for a friends wedding at this location and couldn't believe the price I was paying here compared to the others in the area. The hotel is a classic example of a once great place that has been surpassed because they have done little to nothing to update the room in the last 20 years.

Problems that we experienced:
No shower curtain in our room
Air conditioning could not be adjusted, making us the room constantly cold
Beds were extremely stiff and linens were of low quality
TV is too big for cabinet and was only viewable from one side of the room
Calls to front desk were not followed up on

The only positive was the view, which was excellent on the marina.

Other notes: Bathroom was too small to get ready in. Valet was also rude and unhelpful throughout the stay. Also, the security was overzealous with enforcing a noise policy after 11pm. I received a knock on my door at 11:30pm and was told that TV after this time was a 'nuisance'. I couldn't help but laugh. I politely apologized and said I was going to bed soon and was told "Don't say you weren't warned." I get it, this is generally a hotel for older guests and they want to be friendly toward this demographic. There is no need to be rude to guests that are respectful and paying $300+/night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union Maine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel is not worth the money you pay - even if you can look out the window and see yachts ! The rooms are small and the wallpaper was starting to peel off in our room. The bathroom is tiny.The dining area is small and the menu very bland. The bar was outside on the porch - in the rain - and the bartenders had a very limited list of mixed drinks that they could offer. The" bright lights" were Jeff, Paula and the gentleman at the front desk. This last employee listened graciously to guest complaints that were justified as well as outrageous....and always with dignity and calmness. While these employees went above and beyond to make our stay special, the physical plant was dreary and the presentation overall was very unimaginative. Save your money and shop around for a better deal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, Connecticut
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

So it's Newport. This is fine. Nothing more, or less, than a Hampton Inn on a great piece of property in a wonderful seaside town. It's clean and convenient. I'd you are looking former it will cost you more.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the Newport for a friends wedding, and although the location is good (central and on the waterfront), every other aspect of the hotel is very poor. In short:
Service was offhand to the point of unhelpful.
Decor is approaching shabby.
The put us in a disabled room - incredibly unromatic and facing the carpark.
Food in the restaurant was terrible.

When we complained about the disabled room we were met with a sort of 'don't care' attitude at the front desk. We moved to a bigger room for our last (of 3) nights and were charged full rate - an eyewatering 439 bucks. The room was pathetic - the balcony had peeling paint, the bathroom was TINY, the flat screen TV didn't even fit in the ugly wood cabinet it was set in.

We knew Newport would be expensive but this was a TOTAL rip-off.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schroeder01, General Manager at Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
We were quite disappointed to read your recent review. Although we appreciate your feedback and will carefully take into consideration all of your comments, we always encourage our guests to request to speak to a Manager immediately should you encounter anything unsatisfactory during your stay. Our company philosophy is to do “Whatever it Takes” to ensure that each and every one of our guests has a pleasant and memorable stay and we sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

After our recent (and third) stay at the Newport Harbor Hotel, I'm sad to say that this once very nice hotel has begun to show its age as well as a lot of cost-cutting and negligence.

Here are the issues that led me to lower the rating I awarded it in my review from a few years ago:

1. Gone are the welcoming amenities in the lobby - fruits and water or lemonade.
2. Our room's bath had mold and mildew in most of the grouted joints, the fixtures were loose, and the toiletries have been downgraded to very cheap quality. In general, the bathroom had too little storage space, and looked like it could use a complete overhaul.
3. A flat-screen TV was jammed into the old armoire such that it could not be rotated as intended. Additionally, the TV did not provide any hotel-related connectivity (for billing info, etc.). nor was there any means to list the channel lineup. It seemed like it was just thrown in with little planning.
4. The balcony was dirty, with peeling paint and old chairs in need of replacement. There was no table available either.
5. Gone are the binoculars previously provided by the hotel.
6. Free wifi is available, but service was so slow that it was virtually unusable.
7. Our coffee-maker was not working properly and it took 2 days (and two separate requests) before anyone stopped by to look at it.
8. Room prices, like those of most of Newport's hotels, are still a bit high for what you're getting.

The location remains its strongest asset (for those who want to be in the center of the Newport tourist area and on the water as well), and if you don't expect more than an average hotel experience, then that may still be enough to recommend it. Some care and professionalism are sorely needed for the Newport Harbor Hotel to compete with other properties in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina

Address: 49 America's Cup Avenue, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newport Harbor Hotel and Marina offers 133 beautifully-appointed guest rooms, all with views of the Newport Harbor, historic Queen Anne Square or Brick Market historic shopping district. Enjoy our indoor heated pool, men's and ladies' saunas, and sundeck overlooking the harbor. Pier 49 Seafood & Spirits serves classic New England cuisine in our fireside lounge, overlooking the harbor in our dining room or outside overlooking our Marina. Room Service is also available. Guestrooms are adorned in comfortable yet sophisticated furnishings and feature two double beds or one king with pillow-top mattresses. Other features such as individually controlled heat and air conditioning, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi internet connection, Keurig single cup brews coffee maker, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards, two complimentary bottles of water, cable television and HBO, desk with lamp, comfortable chair, and luxurious kimono-style robes for your use during your stay make the Newport Harbor Hotel a favorite among our guests. Book your room today and see what the Newport Harbor Hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Harbor Hotel And Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.