We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newport and the Samuel Durfee House are a dream!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samuel Durfee House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Samuel Durfee House to your Saves list
Samuel Durfee House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   352 Spring St., Newport, RI 02840   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 100 Newport B&B and Inns
Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Newport and the Samuel Durfee House are a dream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is my second time at the Samuel Durfee House. I wanted to bring my husband so we came for our anniversary this year. Michael and Heather are wonderful hosts and everything one could ever want is provided. Coffee and tea are always available as are cookies and cake and Michael and Heather helped to decide which houses to visit and on which boat to sail! The rooms are very comfortable and spotlessly clean and at night one could hear a pin drop. We stayed in the Jackie O room which is small but perfectly appointed and very pretty and at the back of the house.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mhjtravels, Owner at Samuel Durfee House, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
It was wonderful to see you again and to meet your husband. So glad that you both enjoyed your stay in Newport and at the Samuel Durfee House. ~Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    22
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
139
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I just got back from staying at the Samuel Duffee house. We stayed in the
Ida Lewis room. This was our first time staying at a B&B. We got the recommendations from a friend and could not be happier. We loved the Samuel Duffee house. Heather and Michael are very nice hosts. Their house is clean and adorable. We loved our room too. The house is in the perfect location..walking distance to just about everything.
The breakfast they make is amazing. Heather was so nice to show us what the hot spots to see and detail about each mansion. When we arrived, they had an anniversary cupcakes for us. It was a really sweet touch. We loved Newport and loved Samuel Duffee house. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mhjtravels, Owner at Samuel Durfee House, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are so happy that you chose the Samuel Durfee House for your anniversary weekend and first visit to a bed and breakfast. We greatly appreciate your kind words and do hope to see you again!~Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen County, NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Perfect B&B! Friendly hosts, excellent breakfasts, clean, cozy comfortable rooms and you can walk to all from this location. We stayed in the Durfee room which was a spacious room with a high bed (you will need to use the step stool). This was a quiet, pretty room at the front of the house, 2nd floor, where we were also able to get a little bit of a view of the harbor. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mhjtravels, Owner at Samuel Durfee House, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you are going to return to the Samuel Durfee House and that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for sharing!~Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I just got back from our stay at Samuel Durfee (Perry Room). I highly recommend staying here, the location is perfect , house is adorable, and the breakfast every day homemade by Heather is really delicious. Even the afternoon cookies served are great!! I would't bother wasting your time reading other B&B reviews - stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mhjtravels, Owner at Samuel Durfee House, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Many thanks for your kind words, we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again!~ Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I recently spent the weekend in Newport, staying at the Samuel Durfee House. Our room (Perry) was simple and cozy, and very clean. Heather was such a lovely host, and even baked gluten free cookies one day because I have a gluten allergy. Breakfasts were delicious too. The house is in a great location right by all the restaurants and shops, but on a quieter street. Highly recommend staying here for a relaxing weekend.

Room Tip: We stayed in Perry, and even being in the front of the house it was still very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mhjtravels, Owner at Samuel Durfee House, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your stay, we are so glad you enjoyed your visit!~Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Booked a last minute weekend trip here. We picked it because of the excellent tripadvisor reviews and the Samuel Durfee House exceeded their wonderful reviews. Heather and Michael are extremely nice people. They accommodated our late check in, helped us with where to go, cooked a delicious breakfast and even helped us with the oil in our car. The room was cute and very clean. All the amenities. The location is perfect. It is one block away from the main drag of shops and restaurants and right around the corner from The Elms. We will definitely stay here on our next trip to Newport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mhjtravels, Owner at Samuel Durfee House, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your honeymoon getaway with us at the Samuel Durfee House and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Our best wishes to you both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

If you want something special in Newport, this is the best choice in the BB panorama of Newport.
Great room!
Everything was perfect in the room and it was very clean!
Parking available, no worries!
The location is walking distance from everything in Newport.

The owners were great.

The breakfast was different everyday but always delicious.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mhjtravels, Owner at Samuel Durfee House, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts of your recent stay with future guests. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Samuel Durfee House and we hope to see you again in the future! ~Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samuel Durfee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samuel Durfee House

Address: 352 Spring St., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Samuel Durfee House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant 1803 Federal period inn located downtown in Newport's Yachting village, just a block from the harbor. A full gourmet breakfast and afternoon refreshments are served daily. Enjoy the ambiance of an historic building with modern amenities. All rooms are uniquely decorated and feature television, small fridge, robes, beach bag with towels, CD player, iron, and ironing board. Complimentary parking and wifi are provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Samuel Durfee House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samuel Durfee House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.