We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend away from the kids!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samuel Durfee House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Samuel Durfee House to your Saves list
Samuel Durfee House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   352 Spring St., Newport, RI 02840   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 100 Newport B&B and Inns
Arlington, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend away from the kids!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our 10th wedding anniversary. The room was so comfortable, it was the perfect combination of cozy and romantic with modern amenities. We had a flat screen TV in out room and a beautiful deck out the side. The owners are so nice and the breakfast were amazing. This B&B is in the perfect location. You can walk to all of the major attractions and restaurants and they have a very nice lot for your car. Ours didn't move the entire weekend. I would absolutely stay here again on my next visit to Newport!

Room Tip: I can't remember the name - it was the something Louise. It was the red room - totally romantic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3beachgoers, Owner at Samuel Durfee House, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Congratulations on your 10th anniversary! We greatly appreciate you choosing the Samuel Durfee House for your celebration and your taking time to share your experience with others! The room you stayed in was the Ida Lewis Room-keep it in mind for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    22
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
139
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011 via mobile

This is the quintisential B&B. A Stylish home looking the part- clean, antique looking with creaking floors and beautiful china. Heather and Mike are friendly hosts and helpful sat where to go and see. We ate at Scales and Shells restaurant one night-highly reccmend. The Pier restaurant we also ate at-just three blocks away on the water- also good but not as great. The location was terrific-central but away from tacky Thames street shops-you can walk almost anywhere.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3beachgoers, Owner at Samuel Durfee House, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Thank you for your review! We are glad that our downtown location was so convenient for your stay and that you appreciated our historic house. We hope that you will return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

I did a LOT of research months prior to our stay, so even though by the time our trip had arrived I couldn't recall why I'd selected this particular inn, all the reasons quickly became apparent: well-appointed rooms, convenient location, great value, amiable hosts, delicious breakfasts and a quiet night.

My impression is that you cannot go wrong with any of the rooms, though I specifically requested a room in the back for myself and my parents, given that I'm a light sleeper. My husband and I stayed in the Jackie O room. It may be the smallest bedroom, though I didn't see them all, but it was still perfectly adequate for our needs. When we arrived the Doris Duke room at the back of the house was also free, so Heather offered that room to us as well; although the room itself was larger and even more solidly the back of the house than the Jackie O, the bathroom was smaller and had less natural light. We stuck with the Jackie. The bed was soft and comfortable (we like something with a bit more stiffness but that's getting picky!), the mini-fridge kept snacks and drinks cool, and each of us had a small bedside table for drinks/books. I could barely hear the cars on the street from the back, and each room came equipped with a "sound generator" just in case you sleep best to the sound of crickets or waterfalls. :) I had plenty of space in the bathroom for brushes, makeup, straightener, etc. My parents stayed in the Ida Lewis room and loved their room as well, which included a spacious bathroom and a small porch large enough for the four of us to enjoy some cheese and wine together.

Michael is an excellent chef, and I only regret that we came a day too late for his French toast (which I here is big in RI?) Breakfasts were delicious and always included coffee, juice choices (orange, grapefruit, cranberry, tomato), bread (banana, pumpkin, lemon-poppy seed, etc.), chopped fresh fruit and an entree (i.e., ham and cheese omelette, waffle with berry topping, spinach fritatta), typically with a side of bacon or sausage and some potatoes. One type of entree per morning, though they do always ask whether this is "okay" and were happy make adjustments, at least slightly, as on one morning they made my omelette without ham. There is also cereal available. Breakfast is served from 8:30-10am and everyone enjoys it at one big table plus one table for two in the cozy breakfast room.

Free parking, though much is within walking distance. We sprung for a package, which included 3 mansions, a winery tour (we didn't make it to that!) and the Tennis Museum. I thought the package was well worth the price (though Heather mentioned the price had increased since I'd purchased it.)

What stuck out most to me was the friendliness and hospitality of our hosts, Michael and Heather, and their son. I was under the weather the entire time so I'm sure not entirely cheery, but that didn't affect their upbeat attitudes. They were happy to converse and offer suggestions on anything from activities to transportation to dining.

PS Tea, coffee and chilled water are always available. Snacks provided every afternoon (pretzels, crackers, etc. + a homemade treat). The sugar cookies are delicious!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3beachgoers, Owner at Samuel Durfee House, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
It was nice to see family traveling together. We are glad to hear you had such a great time with your parents in Newport and at our inn (and that you enjoyed the breakfasts and afternoon refreshments so much). We really appreciate your kind comments. We have put so much of ourselves into the inn, and it is nice to see that people enjoy our B&B. Your detailed descriptions in your reviews of what we provide will be very helpful for future guests. Sorry your parents could not find the screen for their window (it was on the top self of the closet and has since been moved to an easier to find location). We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oh
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

When we arrived at the Inn, Michael came out to greet us and help with our luggage. He offered a tour of the downstairs and gave a detailed description of their schedule and how things worked; he was very helpful with suggestions and answering any questions.
Our room was very clean, the bed was most comfortable, many extras provided - beach towels, sound machine, robes. We had a nice deck outside of our room where we sat with a glass of local wine and cheese - Michael immediately brought 2 extra chairs for the deck since our daughter and her husband were staying at the Inn also.
The breakfasts were huge and always very good - coffee, choice of many juices, a different sweet bread each day, fruit, and main breakfast entree (French Toast, Belgium waffle with berries, crepe-wrapped omelet). Then an afternoon treat in the library such as brownies, cookies etc.
The location is perfect - close enough to walk to the harbor area, the shops on Thames, the CVS, grocery and liquor stores behind us one block; we also walked to the Cliff Walk, Tennis Hall of Fame, and Mansions. Free parking in a private lot behind the Inn - we used our rental car once - to go out to dinner at Tuckers. Spring Street does have traffic but is a single, one-way road so not as busy as Thames - we never heard it at night.
And Heather is a sweetheart - always friendly and offered to pack a breakfast when we had to leave early for a flight.
Our only suggestion is maybe adding screens to the windows so we could open them for fresh air.
Wonderful B & B!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

I love doing travel research and ended up choosing the SDH based on their pricing, location and reviews. Well, I've just recently returned home and I must say that the SDH is a wonderful Inn. The Innkeepers Michael and Heather are very hospitable and their Inn is just lovely, and to top things off it's in a great location with easy parking. I stayed in the Harrison Suite and it was perfect. I would recommend this Inn to anyone and would stay here again myself.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Samuel Durfee House, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
We too love to research when we are planning to travel! We are thrilled you chose the "SDH" for your trip to sail and visit family in Newport. We hope to see you again next time you travel to the east coast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

My fiancé and I selected the Samuel Durfee House after reading reviews on Trip Advisor. Our experience there exceeded our expectations! The B&B is located just a couple of blocks from the shops, restaurants, and the marina. We were happy that it wasn’t right on the main drag because it was nice and quiet. Michael and Heather made us feel at home and gave us wonderful suggestions on what to do and where to eat. They also accommodated my gluten allergy by serving a breakfast that I could eat on both Saturday and Sunday. Our room was comfortable and cozy. We were very sad to leave because we felt so at home. We look forward to coming back and we highly recommend the Samuel Durfee House to others.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Samuel Durfee House, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
We are very happy that you enjoyed Newport and your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to having you return. Good luck with your wedding planning!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Rhode Island
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

My wife and I recently did a "stay vacation" in an effort to get some time alone and have some fun. Thus, we know the area well and chose Samuel Durfee House based on it's location and great reviews. We could not have been happier to also learn how great the hosts (Heather and Michael) are. They treated us great as friends; while at the same time not invading our space. What a great getaway that was - look no further !
Bryan

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Samuel Durfee House, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
So glad you enjoyed your "staycation" at our inn-we hope to see you next time you want to get away close to home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samuel Durfee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samuel Durfee House

Address: 352 Spring St., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Samuel Durfee House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant 1803 Federal period inn located downtown in Newport's Yachting village, just a block from the harbor. A full gourmet breakfast and afternoon refreshments are served daily. Enjoy the ambiance of an historic building with modern amenities. All rooms are uniquely decorated and feature television, small fridge, robes, beach bag with towels, CD player, iron, and ironing board. Complimentary parking and wifi are provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Samuel Durfee House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samuel Durfee House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.