We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Newport Marriott to your Saves list
Newport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   25 America's Cup Ave., Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% This Summer!
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Stony Point, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Centrally located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This property is located right next to the bay. The views of the bay and the Newport Bridge are outstanding. Newport is a small town and many restaurants and shopping locations are within walking distance from the hotel.
The hotel has gone through a upgrade and there are balconies in the interior rooms. The amenities in the hotel are excellent and it has a decent size pool and a good exercise room to burn off that extra eating that you'll do when in Newport
Don't forget to visit the Mansions.
One disconcerting issue is that there is parking at the hotel , but it has to be done by valet. Anytime you need to get something from your vehicle , it has to be done by the valet.... a minor inconvenience but its there

Room Tip: Try to choose a room that looks out to the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
3
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great location, they did a fantastic job with the remodel, rooms are beautiful, you feel like you are in an upscale cabin. top to bottom they kept with the sailing theme and everything looks fresh as it should. However, I was not impressed with the quality of food offered. I was there for a meeting, it was just "ok". I can only comment on the catering. But one of my co-workers got room service, a flatbread, and said it wasn't very good at all. The wait staff however was top notch, very helpful and went above and beyond. Meeting services also did a great job. Only other incident was a 4:30am fire alarm. They were very efficient though and we didn't wait outside long. Overall a pretty great stay!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed for three weeks. Was a very nice room. Had a balcony to the inside atrium which was a bit strange but nice. Bed was super comfy, Internet actually worked which is a miracle for most hotels. Breakfast was expensive and strange but nice. Staff were super friendly.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Recent remodel is extraordinary. Everything from the redone main foyer to the new bar were done top notch. The food in the restaurant was excellent as well as the service. The guest rooms were clean and roomy. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Overall excellent experience.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel recently underwent remodeling (some portions were still undergoing changes during my visit). Rooms are clean, the gym is great, conference rooms are spacious, and very good restaurant/bar on site. Also, most of the town's attractions are within walking distance.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel itself is huge inside and outside, so the people who work there have to make a supreme effort just to make the guests feel comfortable. Morgan is a supervisor who seems to be everywhere, and doing everything he can to help. If I owned this hotel he would be the first person I would ask "what's wrong with this place"? He is not the only one who can help; there are workers in almost every area that have good ideas, but no one at the higher levels seem to be listening. The best example of the problems at the hotel is the renovated restaurant. Good space; tables & chairs a little stern, but not bad; a new talented chef and good experienced people out front and throughout the serving area. Then why is it empty? We did what Marriott should be doing; we asked the workers for ideas that would put people in their restaurant's seats. One waiter pointed out the terribly stark and empty walls and said "why, in a city filled with arts and crafts are those walls bare? Another said what we need to do is be more friendly and do what we know how to do best. Other workers in the hotel cited the fact that the "soft" opening of the renovated restaurant went almost entirely without publication or ads of any kind. I'm sure that the workers are frustrated that nothing is being done to put customers in the seats, especially the chef. At our first dinner the chef offered a special which was a kabob of swordfish, beef and an array of vegies over rice. Nicely done - I enjoyed it very much - and I'll bet my special was the only one ordered that evening; because when, at the next evening's dinner I asked about that night's special I was told that there would be no special that evening. Why would there be, I'm surprised that the chef continues to put out good food for an empty room. The rest of the hotel works well because of its workers. They simply won't let it fail, and I wish them all the best.

Room Tip: Views of the harbor are very nice, some are a hike from the elevators.
See more room tips
Green Features: Everyone in Newport seems to be good about environmentally-friendly practices.
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Canini, Manager at Newport Marriott, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear BrotherDickDCA1981,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at the "New" Newport Marriott. We truly do have great hosts here who go above and beyond on a daily basis. As you saw from your stay, we are still finishing up our renovation and new artwork has been delivered to the hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again when your travels bring you to Newport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's been awhile since I have stayed there and was completely surprised at how really nice they remodeled this hotel and it needed to be. Nothing was kept down to hair dryers all new. Light and airy wished that my trip was so short.

Since they are just getting into their "groove" I am going to pass on some criticism on food service and room service other than to say I had probably my worse room service breakfast ever, bacon was so bad I took a picture ! But that will not have an effect on coming back in two months on business and maybe staying an extra day or so.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Newport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Marriott

Address: 25 America's Cup Ave., Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport
#7 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Newport hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Newport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Marriott Hotel Newport
Marriott Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.