We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, great staff & location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Newport Marriott to your Saves list
Newport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   25 America's Cup Ave., Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Newport
Milton, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice place, great staff & location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We loved our stay; room was really nice, the staff remembered it was our20th wedding anniversary (nice touch). Fitness center was great. Great service. We'll be back. Nice location, easy to walk to town. Hotel has been rennovated, very nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    319
    151
    63
    26
See reviews for
174
287
18
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brewster, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Located at end of Americas Cup Ave allowing easy access to downtown Newport. We left our car in the garage and walked to main restaurant area to find dinner. Lively nightlife with outdoor cares playing music. Hotel staff was very efficient and accommodating. Had lunch at the hotel restaurant, Fathoms. Delicious salads at a window seat overlooking harbor. Had breakfast in the room. Nice treat. Lovely lobby with nautical theme.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed three nights for a family getaway. Hotel was wonderful including decor and pool area. Housekeeping should edge in the bathrooms as they were not spotless like you'd like to see. Surrounding area was great with shops, restaurants and things to keep you busy. Area overall was a bit expensive. Would definitely stay again at this Marriott again if in area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great location in the center of everything. Excellent bar and very good restaurant that has 2 for 1 lobsters on Tuesday and Wednesday. The staff was outstanding and the facilities were great for group parties (three weddings while we were there). Our room was very good although some rooms have inside views of the lobby. We were overlooking the harbor. Cody, the bartender was fun to talk to and we closed the bar most nights. The location made getting around Newport a breeze. We will stay there again when we return to Newport.

Room Tip: Get an outside room at level 5 or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Beautiful hotel in great location. Can walk to all downtown Newport harbors. Can't walk to beach. Has a salt water indoor pool which the kids loved. Didn't love the carpet was damp on arrival from being freshly shampooed but it dried quickly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This Marriott is perfectly located for walking to restaurants, and anything in town you would care to enjoy. Unfortunately, the hotel design is unattractive resembling a travel motel with an enclosed lobby where your car would be parked at one of those. We were three couples there for a weekend wedding celebration on Labor Day weekend. We booked concierge floor rooms. The Concierge Lounge was not open Saturday or Sunday of our stay ((LABOR DAY WEEKEND)) (very disappointing). Some rooms because of the awful design offer no privacy. Walkways allow passerbys to look directly into your room. The rooms are decorated in a nautical America's Cup theme. There is a subtantial charge for using the internet and valet parking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an exterior window not an inner room facing the lobby atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, CT
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Girls trip to Newport! We opted for the rooms with view of the harbor! Soooo lovely! The view really added to our enjoyment of the trip. The rooms were equipped with two comfortable chairs and a large window for enjoying the view. This hotel is well situated for an easy walk to the Newport harbor, dining, sailing and shopping! Panera Bread directly across the street. Staff was friendly and knowledgeable.

Room Tip: Harbor View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Marriott

Address: 25 America's Cup Ave., Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport
#8 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Newport hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Newport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Marriott Hotel Newport
Marriott Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.