We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest stay in Newport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Newport Marriott to your Saves list
Newport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   25 America's Cup Ave., Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nicest stay in Newport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The location is what you first notice, right on the harbor and main street in Newport; then the front desk reception staff taking care of things on a busy Sunday in summer, while being professional & friendly; we didn't like the location of the room that we reserved (inside hall view) but they changed us to a different room without issue or hassle and acted glad to do it; nice room - typical Marriott;

Room Tip: ask for harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    324
    153
    63
    26
See reviews for
176
291
18
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia, pa
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel is within walking distance to most of what you want to see in Newport. The hotel is across from a small ballpark and very near a shopping strip. The hotel property itself is average. It is clean and the rooms have all of the traditional amenities. Many rooms that face the interior have a balcony and we were woken the first morning by the loud banging of dishes when the staff was setting up a breakfast for conference attendees. My recommendation is to not stay in an interior room.

Room Tip: Do not stay in an interior room unless you want to be woken by noisy staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Hotel has a good location, not much else to recommend it. Gripes:
1. Strange layout, with inadequate internal signage to help you find your room. We carried our luggage around quite a bit before finally finding the room
2. Rooms dated. Clean, but dated. Hotel was not cheap, certainly expected better. Every Marriott Courtyard I have ever been to was better than this, and this is supposed to be the better brand.
3. Pool: note the photo of the pool on the hotel's web site carefully. The pool is indoors. For this climate, that is practical, but not what I was hoping for in the summer. Worse, it was dirty. The water was cloudy, and after I stepped out of the pool, I had a glob of long hair stuck to me.

Next time I go to Newport, I will not pay the huge prices to stay right by the docks. I would stay in Middletown for half the price. It is not far away, at all, and we drove through to have a look. Plenty of activity, and, if the big beach is what you are after, it is more convenient. Less upscale...if you want the yachty crowd, and all the pretense that goes with it, you need to stay nearer the Marriot.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband was attending some business meetings at the hotel so the family tagged along. Room had two doubles which would've preferred two queens but it wasn't an option for the rates we had. Rooms were clean and comfy. Staff seemed a little reserved. Felt like we were bothering them when asking question at front desk initially but warmed up as you talked to them.

Hotel is located at the one end of the downtown harbour so close but not too close. Downtown area offers lots of restaurants, shopping and boat tours.

Valet service was handy and only a little more than self parking.

Wifi was included in our meeting rate but we didn't find out until day 2. I'm puzzled why lower star hotels offer free wifi but the Marriott would charge guests separately for it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Strange layout and fitout. at first I thought that it was dated and in need of reno, but soon realized that this was by design. if your into the nautical theme, then this will suit you. sails, anchors on the carpet, and inside balconies looking over the central area.
Once I got past this, the rooms are comfortable, beds are nice and large. Bathrooms ok.
the gym is excellent for a hotel, and has a small 12.5m lap pool.
Breakfast was minimal, however do have their own chef to cook omelettes to your liking and scrambled eggs at no additional cost which is a nice touch. Ladies serving are friendly and efficient.
I would ask for a room overlooking the water. I was positioned looking over the roof and road. Some rooms had windows looking at the elevator, this would be annoying with everyone walking past, waiting talking and ability to look right into your room if you have the curtains open.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerport, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Our first trip to Newport, RI was a great choice. Lovely hotel close to all. Nice nautically decorated rooms. Accommodating staff. We had a room on the Concierge floor with access to a fabulous light breakfast (scrambled eggs, croissants, oatmeal and lots of fruit) and snacks during cocktail hour. Highly recommend. Only complaint was that the building is somewhat noisy. Could hear through the walls....neighbor and staff cleaning. It is NOT a bargain...but worth the money if only staying few days. Paying for parking was annoying, but was offset by convenient location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My car was scratch on Mariot over priced parking lot , because very limit space, you can't open door . No cameras, no secured ! Plus ignore my report, never call me back and I'm not receive any paper, they told me very buzy....
- very soft a bad

Room Tip: stay away from elevators and low floors noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Marriott

Address: 25 America's Cup Ave., Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Newport
#7 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Newport hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Newport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Marriott Hotel Newport
Marriott Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.