We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Newport Marriott to your Saves list
Newport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   25 America's Cup Ave., Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Branford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We checked in on a Monday afternoon for a birthday stay. My daughter was turning 11 and we decided to take a girls' trip. I had recently signed up for the Marriott frequent stay program because I had been taking my oldest daughter on college visits and staying at Marriott properties. I mentioned at check in that we were celebrating a birthday and as the keys were handed to us the front desk clerk said "Happy birthday, we upgraded you to the presidential suit, have fun!" I thought my daughter would faint on the spot. The room was on the concierge floor and huge! It was a lot of space for two people. We had a beautiful view and access to the concierge lounge. This sweet gesture made our one night stay even more wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    323
    153
    63
    26
See reviews for
176
290
18
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Location was excellent for walking around Newport. Very basic hotel with huge lobby but noone it. Rooms were average. Platinum Member so used points for room, no upgrade was available and continental bkfst only which we opted for points. Front desk average. Concierge was excellent!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The best part of our experience was the location. It's a big chain hotel which has a huge lobby area that was absolutely empty every time we walked through over a 3 day stay. Seemed odd. We experienced some issues which I will not go into here but we were treated fairly and had a good resolution. The asst manager--- Hank--- was particularly helpful and service oriented. I might stay here again primarily based on its great location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I went for two nights mid week. We arrived early and were able to check in to our room. The room was spacious and had a small fridge for our drinks. We were able to walk to the shops and restaruants. The parking was under the hotel and was $25.00 per day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Clearly a tourist destination, it is difficult to find truly great properties in Newport, better to come by sea and stay on your boat. But for those arriving by car, be careful. My first room offered an unobstructed view of a concrete parking lot, on the 3rd level, less than 10 feet from my window. Less than 10% of rooms have harbor views, and a colleague traveling with me has an interior room with a window view of a corridor. Rumored to have been developed by Holiday Inn, this building is amongst the most poorly designed I have seen.
Rooms are relatively small, basic Marriott. I'm here for a business conference, that explains everything.
Service personnel, however, are well trained, friendly and responsive. Good grades for staff, 3 stars for the property, prices are high during high season.

Room Tip: Try for harbor view, settle for an exterior facing on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Reading, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Newport Marriott for 2 nights. Centrally located on the Wharf, you’ll have easy access to Thames Street, shopping on the Wharf, and the Visitor’s Center. Its an easy drive to the Newport Mansions or you can just catch a bus at the visitor's center, next door!

We enjoyed our room, even though it was a bit small: the bed was clean and comfy and the bathroom was in excellent condition.

We also enjoyed the Cliff Walk, and spent some time at Easton’s first Beach, which are both just short drives away.

We were happy with the choice of the Newport Marriott and we’re sure you will too!

We requested a harbor view and it was lovely.

We also had concierge level with free breakfast daily. They have a fantastic spread; one of the best I’ve seen in a Marriott. You can also eat your breakfast (or snacks) on the balcony overlooking the harbor.

Room Tip: Request a harbor view, on an upper floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel is in a perfect location to walk everywhere in Newport. That is its best quality. The rooms are very small for the price. The air conditioning did not work very well. Our room opened onto what can only be described as a rooftop area with a floor of cement and a brick wall that came to shoulder height, prohibiting both views from the room as well as breezes / fresh air. The bathroom lacks towel racks so there Is no place to hang a towel near the bath/ shower for easy access nor a place to hang a wet towel to dry out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Marriott

Address: 25 America's Cup Ave., Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Newport
#7 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Newport hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Newport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Marriott Hotel Newport
Marriott Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.