We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - Excellent Location - Understaffed for holiday weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Marriott

Save Saved
You added Newport Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Newport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   25 America's Cup Ave., Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #10 of 20 hotels in Newport
Boxborough, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel - Excellent Location - Understaffed for holiday weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Marriott hotels are always a great selection and this one is no exception. The location of the hotel is great. The room, the decor and the rooms are also great (as they are in all Marriott properties).

The staff was wonderful and the service was at the level expected.

We went on a holiday weekend (July 6-7) and found the hotel to be understaffed. On Sunday morning the wait for breakfast was 30 minutes when the restaurant was only partially filled. The restaurant was not staffed for a holiday weekend. Once we were seated we found that some of the food had finished. There was a very long line at the omelette station.

The staff in the restaurant was doing a great job but the hotel management had not adequately planned for the holiday weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    290
    131
    59
    22
See reviews for
163
257
17
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Marriott level service as expected and as usual! Accommodations were great. Special attention was paid to every detail. The Concierge (Meredith) went out of her way to help us - above and beyond the call of duty. When we arrived we asked for a room with a water view - the desk clerk said she already had a water view room reserved for us. We'd stay there again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: We requested an outside room (not rooms with windows looking out into the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

As everyone comments, hotel location is excellent. Parking charges make sense as we were traveling on holiday weekend and the town was PACKED - probably would suggest the valet parking - it's an extra 5 bucks but the self park is a little dicey as the spots are really close together and there are a lot of concrete pillars at the ready to scrape up the car.

the equivalent rate would have been over 450 bucks on the holiday weekend - but the rooms really don't merit it (there better be some robes waiting in the closet at that rate). Our first room was right off the elevator and next to a storage room and it was quite loud. The front desk staff was very accommodating though and helped us out to get a new room - so that was a plus. They do have a "3 strikes and you're out" policy on noise and in our new room, we felt there wasn't a tremendous amount of noise on a friday night.

the breakfast buffet was pretty good as well. So great location, good breakfast -- and the rooms themselves are average.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was a pleasant stay. The room was clean. The Decor was very nice The pool and hot tub were well maintained. The gym was very nice, great equipment.
This was the perfect location.
Near the harbor, shops and resturants.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed two nights at the hotel. It wasn't our first time. The location is very good...walking distance to shops and restaurants. The gym and pool were clean and well maintained. We ate a late night snack in the restaurant. The food was good and the Sangria was delicious. The club level staff was very accommodating and pleasant. Our main problem was the the front desk staff. They were curt and not helpful....not welcoming.. Certainly below Marriott standards.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Spent 2 nights here attending a weekend conference. Good food & location - within easy walking distance of the harbour and nearby restaurants. Excellent service and plenty of undercover parking - at a fee.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayne
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

we just stayed here for four days and I have to say it was a great experience! We usually stay at another place that is great in Newport but the Marriott was just so much easier to get around and walk to everything! The guys at the front were very helpful and Morgan was exceptional, even giving us water bottles for a long trip at the Mansions! I used the advice from other reviewers and asked for a water view and our rooms were quiet and very clean!

Room Tip: they have a great gym with every kind of equipment. The pool is only inside which is fine because th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Newport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Marriott

Address: 25 America's Cup Ave., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#8 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newport Marriott 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Newport hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Newport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Marriott Hotel Newport
Marriott Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.