We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Marriott

Save Saved
You added Newport Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Newport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   25 America's Cup Ave., Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #10 of 20 hotels in Newport
Kettering, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Comfortable Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Spent 2 nights here attending a weekend conference. Good food & location - within easy walking distance of the harbour and nearby restaurants. Excellent service and plenty of undercover parking - at a fee.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    286
    130
    58
    22
See reviews for
161
253
17
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wayne
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

we just stayed here for four days and I have to say it was a great experience! We usually stay at another place that is great in Newport but the Marriott was just so much easier to get around and walk to everything! The guys at the front were very helpful and Morgan was exceptional, even giving us water bottles for a long trip at the Mansions! I used the advice from other reviewers and asked for a water view and our rooms were quiet and very clean!

Room Tip: they have a great gym with every kind of equipment. The pool is only inside which is fine because th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

1) Something beeped in our room all might long. My husband can sleep through anything. I did not sleep at all. It was awful! When I finally went to front desk at 4 AM, the rude clerk just said - oh, it's probably the safe in the closet. There was no safe in the closet. There was one in the dresser, and it was beeping.

2) The parking garage is very poorly designed. The spaces are narrow, and there are pillars in all the wrong places. We paid $25 to self-park. When we got back from dinner there were no parking spaces. We made out own space by parking at an angle between two badly-placed pillars.

3) We were on the Concierge floor. Our room cost about $500. It was just a normal king-bed room. There were NO concierge services at all. The Lounge was closed. There was no complimentary breakfast.

4) Since there was no complimentary breakfast, I tried to order room service. We had an early departure. The menu in the room said room service opened at 6 AM. It did not. It opened at 6:30 AM.

Good things? Nice shower. Reasonably nice supervisor on duty when I went back down to complain again at 7 AM. Decent view (if you get a harbor-facing room).

But for the price versus the value & the importance of a good night's sleep, I would never stay here again!!

And I suggest that the hotel institute a program for replacing the batteries in the hidden safes BEFORE they go bad & start beeping in the middle of the night! They clearly knew this was a problem, since that was the first thing the rude desk clerk suggested when I complained. Take some preventative action people!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

It continues to baffle me that so many ocean-side destinations have such mediocre accommodations. I'm looking at you, too, Ogunquit and Nantucket.

The Newport Marriott tries hard enough. We stayed here in a King room (city view) this Monday night. All my interactions with staff were friendly and professional. The lobby is nice enough; the nautical theme makes sense, although I don't think it's that great.

Location: Excellent. A 5-minute stroll to Bowen's Wharf and the heart of Newport.
Views: Right on the water, so I imagine a water view room would be nice.
Service: Just fine.
Value: Ugh. I'm happy I stayed on Marriott Rewards points (40k points for one night, Category 8 hotel). AAA rate for the same room the same night would have been about $250. Not terrible for Newport, but this was for a Monday night and still before the heart of the season.
Room: Fairly standard Marriott room. Our "balcony" wasn't anyplace inviting to hang out on. I thought the bed was fine, but my wife was uncomfortable. A/C didn't keep the room as cool as we would have liked overnight. Biggest problem: you can hear plenty from other rooms and the hallway. I mostly heard water running....like all night long. Bottom line: not a great night sleep.

I can't comment on the food, as I didn't eat anything in the hotel.

If you're a Marriott Rewards member, make sure you check for discounts on different fees. I got valet parking for $25 instead of $30. In-room Internet fee of $12.95 also waived. Late checkout to noon (instead of 11am) was accommodated without a problem.

I guess I'd stay again, but mostly because there just aren't any really good choices in Newport. And I'd bring ear plugs next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

From the Valet Staff to the front desk the service at this Marriott is amazing. Everyone you will come in contact with is Professional, Helpful, and very accommodating.

While the actual building is older than most Marriott locations it is very clean and well taken care of. The rooms are spacious and clean. Each room has a safe, wide selection of TV channels and lots of coffee and team selections in the room. Be sure to ask for a room on the outside, the rooms that face the inside atrium do not have a good view at all.

The restaurant is very good, the bar staff is great but few customers, I would walk ½ block to the Celtic pub went there two nights and it was really fun drinking with the locals.

The location of this hotel is great, you are within walking distance of all the main attractions and shops in downtown Newport.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the outside, Many rooms face the atrium area and its not a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

There isn't a huge amount of choice in Newport if you're looking for somewhere close to the harbor. The Marriott definitely ticks the right boxes and our sea view room had a partial view. This property has standard rooms you'd expect in a Marriott, but the service was exceptional. Very good check-in experience, and as it was my birthday we found champagne and strawberries in our room with a lovely card. A nice touch, especially as we were staying on points. The hotel can be a little rowdy at the weekend with revelers returning late at night. The noise isn't too bad.

The location is great for exploring downtown Newport. It was very convenient to park under the hotel. $20 per day is pretty good for Newport, especially as you can enter / exit as many times as you want. This made a trip to Newport Mansions easy.

The best view of the sea is from the Concierge lounge, where there is a nice verandah.

Room Tip: If you're not Marriott Gold/Platinum, booking a concierge room will set you on the seventh floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseland, New Jersey
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Recently attended a conference there. The location is rigth in the middle of the downtown harbor scene, which was a real positive. The odd thing about this place is that probably half of the rooms face the inner atrium of the hotel, with many of them rigth on hallways, i.e. the only windows in the rooms face the hallways, some of which are blocked off by gates installed except for emergencies. Which means if you are walking by, or in one of those rooms, you do not have a good privacy situation. We are Marriott/Ritz Reward Silver, so got the benefit of an outside facing room, albeit one facing the hotel entrance and cute ballpark across the street, aka "The City View". I wouldn't call it an upgrade except in the context of what I said previously about not wanting to get one of those many hallway facing rooms. We were at a conference, and the conference room area worked well. Not much of a pool, albeit with an outside deck (the pool is inside). Nice morning cafe in The Chandlery for a quick cup of all the usual upgraded coffees, but no fresh baked goods. The room was clean and comfortable, small bathroom with tub shower, nice faucet, one sink. The hallways had nice looking nautical themed carpet, probaby one of the nicer decorative elements along with the sails hanging in the atrium. The $30 per night valet service was erratic; after finding no one available to get the car the first night for too long of a period of time, we defaulted to the $25 self park which was much more convenient. We understand that hotel space is at a premium in Newport, so you are paying for location at prices that really exceed the value, but if you want to visit downtown Newport in walking distance from Bowens/Bannister wharves and Thames Street, this place works well. Make sure you ask for an outside facing room though! We would probably stay somewhere else next time. Four stars here is being generous; mostly based on that location.

Room Tip: Insist on an outside facing room; self-park rather than valet park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Newport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Marriott

Address: 25 America's Cup Ave., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#4 Business Hotel in Newport
#8 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newport Marriott 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Newport hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Tingo and getaroom.com so you can book your Newport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Marriott Hotel Newport
Marriott Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.