We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, convenient, good food too” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Newport Marriott to your Saves list
Newport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   25 America's Cup Ave., Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Newport
MA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Friendly, convenient, good food too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here after impulsively driving to Newport for the weekend. Rates were very good, and we ended up eating dinner at the bar because we were too tired to go out looking for a restaurant. Surprisingly, it was very good! Room very comfy, very little noise. Also, very good on the cleanliness angle!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    308
    143
    61
    25
See reviews for
170
273
18
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mattituck, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I both grew up in the Newport area. When we come into town on a quick visit, we like staying here. The hotel is located downtown close to restaurants and the lovely shops, all within walking distance. We had a lovely room overlooking the harbour which was spacious and clean. The restaurant has a large buffet and also selections from the menu as well. The hotel has valet parking or self parking in a garage on the property, both with a small fee. What I realyy liked was the signs they had posted in regard to noise during the hours of 10pm to 7 am. Having stayed there in the summer months, I know how noisy it gets with all the weddings that are held in Newport. All in all, I have never had a bad experience at The Marriot in Newport!

Room Tip: Request a harbour or town view, because it is a courtyard setting, some rooms have "indoorviews...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

While visiting my sister in Newport my husband and I stayed at the Marriot for 5 days. We had a room on the 6th floor with a beautiful view of the Newport Harbor. It was a very nice room and the bedding was extremely comfortable. The staff were very accommodating with our various requests and our room was immaculately clean after returning from our daily activities. The only real issue we had was the lack of a continental breakfast given we had paid so much for our room. I feel for the guests that come during the summer and pay peak rates when breakfast isn't included.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great in town location...convenient to walk to shops, restaurants etc. The staff on the property were very nice. The hotel is a short drive from Bellevue Avenue where the mansions are located. Don't miss a drive along Ocean Drive. The meals in the restaurant were surprisingly good. The baked stuffed potatoes, cod, and julienned veggies were all excellent. On site parking is an additional fee.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevator; especially in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Just came back from a wonderful one-night, spa getaway with my friend Liz. What a wonderful time we had! Check in was quick and effort-less and we had a lovely, well-appointed room with a view of the marina (which we did not expect!). Had room service breakfast (delicious eggs cooked to our preference, bacon, and hash browns - Yum!) brought to our room at our designated time by a pleasant staff member. In fact, every staff member that we came in contact with was very helpful and nice. Arrived at the spa for our treatments and were greeted by yet another friendly and personable staff member. Beautiful, tranquil music and lighting and lovely rooms with warm towels greeted us. Masseuse Jennifer was exceptional, gently working the stress out. Megan did a wonderful job with our facials. Another Jennifer did our manicures and pedicures - what a treat-relaxing and beautiful. It was hard to leave! What a wonderful experience. I would highly recommend the Spa Getaway Package!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Location is great. Service is Marriott standard. Rooms were clean. Too bad breakfast was not included. And the pool was being renovated in the backyard, so no great views no our side of the building. But then Newport is so small that it doesn't take much to enjoy the nature once you get out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, CT
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

If you are in Newport with family, this is an ideal setting - great location - easy walk or very short drive to the wharf, Mansions, shops, etc. We have stayed here prior...and really enjoy the well executed breakfast buffet with fresh omelettes, waffles, great fruit, and plenty of cereal, bread options and even smoked salmon. The hotel was nice and quiet during the holiday weekend we were there - which made a nice and relaxing escape. The standard rooms can be small, but we stayed in a 2 bedroom suite affording us much more space for a family - highly recommend the suites - they provide gorgeous waterfront views. Some of the rooms open into the atrium lobby (which is decorated with an enormous gingerbread house & lighthouse for the holidays)...if you want a quieter room - then be sure to mention you don't want a room with a balcony that opens into the pretty lobby. Staff is friendly and efficient. We enjoy this hotel for its great location and wonderful morning breakfasts and will return!

Room Tip: Select a higher floor and a suite; if selecting a standard double double room ask for a room that do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Marriott

Address: 25 America's Cup Ave., Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport
#7 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Newport hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Newport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Marriott Hotel Newport
Marriott Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.