We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Newport

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Newport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Newport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Goat Island, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pricey but nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We recently stayed here for a wedding. The rooms are not large but we were upgraded to one with a view. Even though I signed up to have an upgrade if one was available, I don't think I would have gotten it if I hadn't asked on check in. The staff that we encountered was very nice and very helpful. They have a daily "resort fee" which is extra and frankly it came across as "nickle and diming" for what was included (internet, etc.). Just add it to the price of a room. At the prices for these rooms regularly, it's a blip. Full disclosure. We had a block room price that was still high but it was our choice. The facility grounds are quite nice and it is a wonderful event venue. They also did a splendid job with all the catering etc. Food was standard but what I would expect.

Room Tip: Ask for the upgrade. We got our easily enough - even at our room block rate. The water view was ve...
See more room tips
Green Features: They had a recycle container in the room. That was all that I noticed.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    281
    159
    85
    42
See reviews for
206
344
19
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed at the Hyatt in Newport during my Jamestown Half marathon weekend (July 12th). The Hotel was packed. We had many events planned during the weekend that included receptions and luncheons at the hotel. The food was absolutely fabulous. The staff was courteous and always helpful. The rooms were very clean. The views from the hotel room were great. the hotel was very kid friendly. We definitely enjoyed the pools and the evening kids movies on the lawn.

Room Tip: I thought that the Ocean view rooms were great. They are the furthest from the reception desk but a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We recently stayed here for a wedding and found the location conveniently located to the shops and restaurants on the main drag. We were able to walk to everywhere we needed to be and yet when we didn't need to be anywhere, we were able to enjoy an island pretty much all to ourselves. The outdoor pool is also a great place to sit, have a drink, and watch the sailboats go by. The rest of the hotel is pretty much what you would expect from a quality national chain. But you are primarily paying for the location. And it delivers.

Room Tip: The rooms in the lower building are larger than the one's closer to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This pains me to write this review because I have had wonderful experiences at Hyatt hotels in the past, and even after my stay in Newport. Our room at check-in was unlike anything I have ever experienced. Long black hair everywhere–in the toilet, on the floor, hanging off the nightstand knob. As I was on the phone with the front desk expressing my dismay, I glanced over at a 3-inch meatball on the floor. The bellhop was still in the room and he picked it up and threw it away for us. There was a cigarette and empty water bottle on the patio. Even the phone was grimy and dusty. There was also a peanut and lint on the carpet and flaking plaster on the tile floor. The room had clearly not been vacuumed. The housekeeping supervisor was sent up and re-cleaned the room herself. She was mortified at the condition of the room and apologized over and over again. We were offered a room change, but once we were satisfied with the room’s cleanliness, we opted to stay put. We were told we would receive a discount on our rate, and a bottle of wine and cheese tray were delivered to us. After our room was serviced on the second day, another long black hair was stuck on the frosted glass bathroom door. The upside is that the hotel grounds are lovely. In short, did the staff do everything in their power to remedy our situation? Absolutely. They handled it professionally and with class. Would I stay here again? Maybe, but only if I’m assured that my room isn’t serviced by the maid with the long black hair who cleans room 519 and doesn’t notice peanuts, hair and meatballs. Also, check your bill when you leave. We were not given the promised discount (I had to remind them), and we were also charged for a breakfast which was free with our package.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stayed her for the weekend, during the Jamestown 1/2 Marathon. Nice size hotel with an excellent staff. Everyone was exceptional!! Weather was excellent so I was able to enjoy dinner, wine and a beautiful sunset aon the deck at the Five33 Lounge. Just a few steps away was Pineapples on the bay restaurant, down by the pool. Food was outstanding and the usual Hotel price. I was able to walk to the historic Downtown area, just over the small bridge. You can also take a shuttle to the visitors center and save a few steps. Would love to come back here soon!

The room was nice, contemporary and had an awesome view. Have to say that blankets must not be washed as frequently as I had hoped as there were stains on them as well as one of the pillows, but the sheets were clean!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Kisco, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is a terrific resort for a romantic or family fun weekend with enough amenities to please everybody! Since it is on an island, there is a jitney to bring guests dockside for great shopping and dining if you don't want to eat at the hotel. However, the hotel food options are excellent as well. There is a salt water swimming pool and efficient staff everywhere to make your stay a delight!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We just got back from spending four nights over the 4th of July! It was perfect! Ms Whitney Pierce was our kids favorite! She was awesom! Ms Ashley, Ms Amanda, Mr Joey, Ms Sydney were all awesome with the kids! The location can't be beat and activities were perfect for the kids! Worth every penny and can't wait to be back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Newport

Address: 1 Goat Island, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Newport
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#6 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#8 Business Hotel in Newport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Newport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An island retreat, surrounded by water views, just minutes to downtown Newport. 257 elegantly appointed guestrooms. Activities Department, indoor pool and only outdoor hotel pool in Newport, fitness center, full service Stillwater Spa. Van shuttle and seasonal water taxi to heart of Newport. Year round waterfront dining, seasonal restaurant and lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Newport Hotel Newport
Newport Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Newport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.