We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest staff I've ever encountered!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Newport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Newport to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Newport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Goat Island, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersBronze level
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Friendliest staff I've ever encountered!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Great room, location and amenities, but by far the staff is the most accommodating, friendly and professional I've ever encountered. From food service to AV to maintenance to front desk to conference management, A+ all around.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Guest~
It was such a pleasure to learn how happy you were with your room and we are thrilled that our staff was accommodating, friendly and professional! We post these responses for our employees and we cannot thank you enough for taking the time to recognize them in your posting.
Please come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    294
    169
    85
    43
See reviews for
212
360
22
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Spent four days the week of Sept. 15th for our anniversary and loved it so much are returning in December for my birthday celebration!! Goat Island is a great location with fabulous sunsets and great views of the harbor. Splurge for a bay-side room in Captains Quarters with a balcony for the best views. The balcony could have used a facelift however just being outside watching the sunset offset any cosmetic blemishes. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable like you would expect at a Hyatt. Breakfast was delicious and we looked forward to it every morning. Go for the breakfast buffet!
Front desk staff Melissa, Jennah and Paulina were great with any questions we had and efficient with checking in and out. Christopher Green runs a great operation and really helpful in making our stay special. Trudy the concierge was also very knowledgeable knowing the best restaurants in town and in getting us reservations. In addition Jay the bartender is a great local guy and very informative. Looking forward to seeing the resort during the holidays,

Room Tip: Splurge for bay view Captains Quarters with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Guest:
Thank you for your outstanding review following your anniversary visit to our hotel. We absolutely love when our guests write such glowing compliments and take the time to single out employees. On behalf of the staff of management of the Hyatt Hotel, thank you again. It was such a pleasure to host you for this special occasion and we look forward to your return!

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, NE
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt Newport, RI in July 2013 on a business/pleasure trip. What a location! It doesn't get much better than this. Sitting just off shore at Newport harbor on Goat Island. Hotel is very guest friendly. Excellent facilities. Rooms clean and comfortable. Staff was excellent and most accommodating. New restaurant/bar located right on the shore. (Pineapples on the Bay) Great place to watch the sun set with a glass of champagne. Sun going down and the lights of Newport Bridge coming to life. Beautiful! Just a short walk to downtown Newport with shops, bars, restaurants and great historical sightseeing. Definitely a great place and location to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Guest:

Thank you for your recent posting following your business/pleasure trip to our hotel. Our staff loves reading these compliments and we work very hard at making our hotel very “guest friendly”. Pineapples is a great place to watch the sunset with a glass of champagne and indeed many of our guests take advantage of this premium location, it is very special!

We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed here during the off-season in early November. We paid in the low 100's for a club quarters room (without a view). I try to rate items according to their overall value.

Pros
* Location and Views (even though my room didn't have a view)
* Room Quality (for the price)
* Convenient Parking
* WiFi in Rooms

(note: a resort fee is charged which covers the cost of the parking and WiFi)


Cons
* TV Programming:
- No DVD player
- No way to hook up your own video source to TV (I was told they use closed circuit programming so every room is the same)
- Fuzzy, blurry reception (on certain channels)
- Poor selection of channels (lounge and fitness room has additional channels that individuals rooms do not have. I was told I could sit in the lounge and watch any program I wanted.)
* Loud mini-fridge (for a light sleeper)
- I am a light sleeper and the mini fridge was making noises on and off during the night. My wife didn't notice the noises at all.
* Door to bathroom is frosted glass...hard to use the bathroom at night without annoying others in the room because of the light.

Other
* Shower was only mediocre.


I stayed at another Hyatt in San Diego earlier in the year. I only paid about $40 more a night, but the hotel quality was much nicer than the Newport Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Guest:

Thank you for your recent posting following your stay at the Hyatt Regency Newport Hotel & Spa. We appreciate your candidness and fairness in listing the pros and cons of your stay. With regards to the cons of your stay, we are working on upgrading our TV system which should correct many of the issues you experienced. I am sorry about the loud mini fridge in your room. Our staff would have been happy to remove and replace this one upon request, no problem. Finally, the frosted glass in the bathroom. Because of the configuration of our rooms, we attempted to maximize space by using these sliding doors. During our next renovation we will address this design issue.

Your comments are appreciated! Thank you and hope you return in the near future!

Keith Chouinard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylors
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Was there for a Navy Returning Warrior Workshop weekend as a presenter.

PROS: Great facility, beautiful views (one window saw a lighthouse, other corner window saw the bridge in the bay), staff was so helpful to make the retreat for our returning warriors a success, food was superb, service outstanding. They provide 2 free water bottles daily in the room.

CONS: Three MINOR things: 1) Some recent liquid stickiness between the desk and glass on top of it in several places, so not just a fluke. Should be checked more regularly, as this was near the edge and somewhat yuk. 2) They have a great (free) convenience system for forgotten or needed small items. They responded quickly but forgot a requested item. Had to call several hours later to remind them for the 2nd item. 3) The ironing board needs to be replaced / re-upholstered. It reminded me of a budget hotel item.

None of the cons are in any way a big deal. Relatively speaking, they were quite minor. I would DEFINITELY stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms face water (I believe), as the hotel is on a small island. Beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear tripAdvisor Guest:

It was our pleasure to host your group recent for the Navy Returning Warrior Workshop. We are so proud to host our Veterans and all of our staff members work very hard to make your weekend stay a most enjoyable one!

I am sorry for the housekeeping issues you mentioned and while they were minor, we should have inspected the rooms more carefully and we will be doing that, thank you for bringing this to our attention; it is appreciated.

Again, thank you for attending this workshop, it was a pleasure having you!

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The door staff is fantastic. They will go out of their way to help you with anything they can. The front desk people are friendly, but just going through the motions. Restaurant and lounge staff were very nice and accommodating. Room housekeeping was fair at best. We were using a suite upgrade and were very disappointed. Two level suite: only mirrors were in bathrooms and small one over desk. Not adequate for readying oneself when dressing other than causal attire. The coffee table in our sitting area should have been thrown in the trash. The tub length walk-in shower had a little shower head that provided very little water pressure. The edges of the carpet around the walls and furniture were very much in need of vacuuming. Throughout the entire suite there were only 2 pictures - one in the bathroom. Hospital rooms feel more warm and comfortable than this suite. Housekeeping service during our stay was poor. One Kyle think that suite accommodations would receive better attention than this. Hyatt can and does do better than this property. With so much else going for it such as location, their spa, superb lounge, .... Attention to detail is what is lacking.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Guest:

Thank you for your posting and sharing both the positive and negative comments. As these postings are anonymous I am unable to determine which room you occupied. I was disappointed to learn that you felt the suite was poorly appointed and was not cleaned properly. Our housekeepers take pride in the work they do and I am sorry that we fell short in this case. I do hope you shared this with the front desk agent at checkout. We follow up on all of these comments and take action where necessary.

It was a pleasure hosting you and hope you give us another chance in the near future.

Keith Chouinard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montego Bay
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Great location, amazing service ,, relaxing , great view , rooms comfortable. My stay was part of the Jamaica polo team competing in newport international series. We had time to relax by the pool and use the gym . They had transportation from hotel and back every 15 minutes so very convienient. To go to downtown Newport . Can also take a 15 minute walk to down town .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Guest:

Many thanks for your wonderful review! We greatly appreciate it. We are indeed the choice hotel for many guests who attend the Polo matches every summer. It is truly our pleasure to have hosted one of the polo teams. Many of our guests take advantage of our complimentary transportation to the downtown area as parking can be somewhat challenging during busy times.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments!

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Newport

Address: 1 Goat Island, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Newport
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#6 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#6 Business Hotel in Newport
#7 Family Hotel in Newport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Newport 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An island retreat, surrounded by water views, just minutes to downtown Newport. 257 elegantly appointed guestrooms. Activities Department, indoor pool and only outdoor hotel pool in Newport, fitness center, full service Stillwater Spa. Van shuttle and seasonal water taxi to heart of Newport. Year round waterfront dining, seasonal restaurant and lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Newport Hotel Newport
Newport Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Newport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.