We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Newport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Newport to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Newport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Goat Island, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newton MA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

I was here for conference. Meeting room was average. Room service and front desk staff were very helpful and warm. Although the room was small and had slightly awkward layout, all needed components were available in room.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Guest!

It was a pleasure hosting you at the Hyatt Regency Newport Hotel & Spa. We receive great reviews from our conference attendees and certainly appreciate this! Glad to hear you had a pleasant stay; please come back again!


Keith C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    294
    169
    85
    43
See reviews for
212
360
22
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brecksville, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed on my last visit and would stay there again. I was able to upgrade to a water view room and it was absolutely wonderful. The rooms were clean and fresh. The beds were very comfortable. I did not have any noise from the hallway or above me. There are seating outside that overlooks the ocean. There are also out door fire places in the evening. It was a beautiful stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear tripAdvisor Guest~

We love reading reviews like this and cannot thank you enough for taking the time to share your wonderful stay with other readers!

Please come again! It would be our pleasure to have you as our guest.


Keith C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Valley, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Room was quiet and had a great view. Comfortable king sized bed. We took the shuttle into town with no issues whatsoever. Had the nice buffet breakfast in the hotel also. the view from the deck of the bridge was awesome. the Bar served nice sandwiches and drink were reasonable.The fire place near the bar was a nice place to sit and chat with friends and the atmosphere was great. The conseraire was most helpful too.

Room Tip: seems like there wasn't a bad view from our travel party of 45 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear tripAdvisor Guest~

Thank you for your recent posting following your visit to the Hyatt Regency Newport Hotel & Spa.

Autumn in Newport is absolutely beautiful and you picked a great month to visit. Our sunsets from the deck are unsurpassed and it sounds like you did take advantage of our outdoor deck. Our indoor fireplace is a great gathering spot for our guests; glad you enjoyed it.

Thank you again for your compliments and please come back again soon!

Keith C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Newport is a breathtaking quaint town and very popular with tourists. Deals are hard to find so hotels are on the expensive side. This hotel is quite large and it varies from section to section as there are multiple buildings so you might get a good room or a bad room. The room I had was very nice and had views of the water. Would I return? Probably not.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Guest~

Thank you for your recent review on this travel site. September is still quite busy in Newport and rates still quite high. October is also a wonderful month to visit and as you can read from other postings on this site that our October visitors were quite pleased with the rates as deals are plentiful during this month.

We would love to have you return so please check out our website for deals, especially off season!


Keith C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Hosted an event at the Hyatt and the hotel staff and overall experience was incredible. Delicious food, beautiful views, attentive staff, clean, first class all the way! Steven James in sales and catering is creative and his attention to detail is above and beyond!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear tripAdvisor Guest~

Many thanks for your recent posting and compliments towards our Senior Catering Manager, Steven James. He is truly a pro at what he does and guests rave about his service and attention to detail.

It is our goal to go above and beyond and apparently we did so for your event, thanks again!

Keith C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wethersfield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We have stayed here before and asked for a room with a view of the bridge and got it. Room was quiet and had a great view. Comfortable king sized bed. We took the shuttle twice into town with no issues whatsoever. Had the nice buffet breakfast in the hotel also. The hotel did have some areas that could use some touch up paint but we did not spend a lot of time in the hallways. The staff during our stay was helpful and pleasant. I would return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear tripAdvisor Guest~

Thank you for being a return guest! I was so pleased to learn that you received the room you requested. If occupancy permits, we do our best to honor all requests, especially from repeat clients. Thank you for the feedback on the paint in the hallways. During the winter months we work hard at spiffing up all areas for the upcoming season. This is the time that our maintenance staff works full speed ahead!

Thank you again for the great posting.

Keith C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

No stranger to Hyatt, this property is another where they seem to be trying to cover for the fact that the rooms (in the tower for me) are far too small by getting "creative" with bathroom doors. Second time recently (San Francisco was the last) where the bathroom door is a slider instead of a real door. Large gaps, noisy to open, make a not-very-private private space. This one also had frosted windows into the main bedroom (really!), which meant if you didn't want to wake up the room with light in the middle of the night... well you get the idea. Whatever designer came up with this should be fired and forced to live in this cramped space with their closest friends for a couple weeks. Also, not at all close to the center of the action in town. Shuttle bus only ran on 1/2 hour intervals, and was often late. Plenty of hotels closer to the center of town.

Very expensive, very poor value. Typical absurd breakfast prices. Look for a different place.

Room Tip: Ask about the bathroom door - the "view" rooms aren't worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Guest~

Thank you for your recent posting following your stay at the Hyatt Regency Newport Hotel & Spa. I was sorry to learn that you felt our rooms were smaller than average. Because of the configuration of our hotel, our rooms vary in size, some being smaller than others. With regards to the slider door in the bathroom, this was done by our design team to maximize space. Not all of the guestrooms have this sliding door so guests can keep this in mind when booking rooms in the future. With regards to our hotel shuttle to the downtown area, we only have one shuttle in operation which is why we schedule it on the half hour to give the driver enough time to reach the downtown location and return back to the hotel. On very busy traffic days, the van may be delayed. On a great weather day, guests love walking over the causeway into the downtown area as it is only .6 miles.

Your feedback is very well taken and we thank you for sharing your experience on this travel site.

Regards,

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Newport

Address: 1 Goat Island, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Newport
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#6 Business Hotel in Newport
#6 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#7 Family Hotel in Newport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Newport 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An island retreat, surrounded by water views, just minutes to downtown Newport. 257 elegantly appointed guestrooms. Activities Department, indoor pool and only outdoor hotel pool in Newport, fitness center, full service Stillwater Spa. Van shuttle and seasonal water taxi to heart of Newport. Year round waterfront dining, seasonal restaurant and lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Newport Hotel Newport
Newport Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Newport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.