We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views and pet friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Newport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Newport to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Newport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Goat Island, Newport, RI 02840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersBronze level
Nanuet, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and pet friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Went for a quick getaway and was very pleased with the accomodations. We stayed in a pet room which was pleasantly very nice and clean with a beautiful view of the pool. The lounge area was great where we were able have a light dinner and cocktails. There was a also a lot of space for the dog to run in the back of the property. It is a 12 minute walk over the bridge into town and we also took the shuttle one night which was very convenient. The breakfast buffet was also very good and the staff was very accomodating and pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Guest~

Thank you for your complimentary posting following your stay at the Hyatt Regency Newport Hotel & Spa. We are a pet friendly hotel and do have a designated area for pet owners to walk their dogs. Your additional comments concerning our breakfast buffet and staff are also appreciated; thank you again for taking the time to submit this posting.

Regards,

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    312
    183
    87
    46
See reviews for
224
387
22
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here to celebrate a important birthday location is absolutely gorgeous the staff was very helpful and helped me celebrate my birthday Newport is a great place to visit we had such an interesting time visiting the mansions I would strongly recommend this hotel to anybody

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
It was such a pleasure to host you on your birthday and we so appreciate the time you have taken to complement our staff; thank you! Our hotel is a great place to celebrate special occasions and I hope you come back to celebrate many more!

Regards,

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We booked the Hyatt last minute and got a great deal. We called the hotel that afternoon and they said they were sold out. However booking.com said they had a room for $169 and it was available that night. We booked it and everythign went through fine. It is usually very expensive so we jumped at a chance to stay at this place. It is on Goat Island so you will need to drive or take the shuttle into town. The hotel room was exceptionally large and right on the water with a view of the bridge (I believe we were top floor of the lighthouse section.) The bed was comfortable and the room clean, so we have nothing to complain about. The pool is right next to the water and have views of the Newport Bridge. Honestly you can not beat that. We ate at the Pinapple restaurant next to the pool and it was ok...expensive and just ok. Average food and good drinks...everything I would expect from a poolside restaurant. If we can get this deal again, I will definitely try this place again. After reading the other reviews, we stayed here on September 3, 2013 and our room was definitely updated and had a flat screen tv.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Guest~

What a pleasure to read that your stay as a result of a booking.com reservation was nothing but a positive experience! It sounds like your room location was in the Lighthouse Section which has a terrific view of the outdoor pool and Newport Bridge.

Thank you for your positive feedback and please visit with us again soon.

Regards,

Keith Chouinard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend. Extremely disappointed in the room, dirty, small, layers of dust on everything. Don't know when the table on the balcony last saw a cleaning. Hair on the sheets. Also in this day and age what hotel doesn't have flat screen tvs with cable tv stations. Where in America do you still get just 20 channels?

Granted the location was wonderful and the view beautiful but would never stay there again. Does not live up to the Hyatt standard.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Guest~

Please accept my apologies that your recent stay did not meet your expectations. Our housekeeping staff normally does an outstanding job in servicing our guestrooms. You can see from numerous other positing on this site that our housekeeping staff has received positive reviews and I am sorry we fell short in your case. We currently do not have HD at our hotel and it is a major undertaking to change the infrastructure in the hotel to have this installed but will be done in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments.

Regards,

Keith Chouinard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syosset, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have always enjoyed our stay at Hyatt Regency except this one. Great property with great location, we stayed in the double bed waterview room on the first floor . The room was not very nice, noisy plumbing and hallways. There was nothing grand about the 2 grand double beds as mentioned on the web site as they were regular fullsize beds ,very uncomfortable and uncovered box springs with ripped fabric. However, the breakfast buffet was excellent with great service, really enjoyed the complementary morning Yoga on the deck.and the Sunset view was awesome. Shuttle service to downtown was very convenient . Too pricey lodging.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Guest”

Thank you for your compliments concerning the breakfast buffet and your comments on the morning Yoga class on the deck. Our guests love the complimentary Yoga and these classes are very well received!

I am sorry that we fell short with regards to your guestroom. As these postings are anonymous, I am unable to track down the room you were in but hopefully you mentioned your concerns to someone upon checkout.

It was a pleasure hosting you and please look at our rates in the fall as they are quite affordable and a wonderful time of the year to visit Newport.

Regards,

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Great place to stay, awesome views, super friendly staff, super clean rooms. Nice overall experience, too bad the restaurant charges too much for food! But quick trip across causeway and lots of cheaper places to eat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Guest~

I appreciate your compliments towards our friendly staff, awesome views and super clean rooms; this is greatly appreciated! Your comments indicating our restaurant was a bit pricey have been noted. Our prices are comparable to the other major hotels in Newport but your point that there are many options in town for dining is very true, there are restaurants for all budgets!

Thank you again for taking the time to post on this site, it is appreciated!

Regards,

Keith Chouinard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

One of the nicest hotels in Newport area. Restaurants are very good. Rooms are spacious and clean. Leave car there and take taxi's around town, but be careful about return times. I love Newport and was very happy with this property. I would stay here again (not my first time here at this hotel). The right room gets you a nice view of the harbor and the bay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Newport, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Guest~

What a wonderful review! Thank you for taking the time to post your compliments on TripAdvisor and most of all thank you for being a return customer, we appreciate it!

Regards,

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hyatt Regency Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Newport

Address: 1 Goat Island, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Spa Hotel in Newport
#6 Luxury Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Newport 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An island retreat, surrounded by water views, just minutes to downtown Newport. 257 elegantly appointed guestrooms. Activities Department, indoor pool and only outdoor hotel pool in Newport, fitness center, full service Stillwater Spa. Van shuttle and seasonal water taxi to heart of Newport. Year round waterfront dining, seasonal restaurant and lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Otel, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Newport Hotel Newport
Newport Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Newport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.